We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Motel, Decent prices, Outstanding Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Valparaiso, Indiana the first night of our six week retirement vacation. The motel is clean and decently priced. When we asked for directions before we went to dinner, the desk manager went out of her way to provide us with directions, even printing a map without our even asking. She is a true gem in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIValpoGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your comment and thank you for staying with us during your vacation. We strive to exceed expectations and value all feedback. We do hope that you enjoyed your vacation! Happy Retirement!

Angie Summar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived at this hotel before check-in time but were accommodated and upgraded to a king suite for mo extra charge since there was no king available yet. The room decor was what I might call funky eclectic and very enjoyable. The staff members with whom we dealt we're all exceptionally friendly and helpful. When we had a specific dinner destination, the girl at the front desk printed out a map for us. Breakfast was adequate--the usual cereal, bagels, yoghurt and fruit. Since we were up and on the road early, this was just what we needed. My only concern is that the water for tea seemed not quite up to par. All in all, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

On a recent stay at this hotel we were welcomed with a very speedy check in. Every staff person we met during our three-day stay greeted us with a broad smile and a courteous manner. The crew kept all common areas tidy & clean throughout the day. A casual request never seemed to be an imposition for this amicable team. This can be attributed to an on task general manager, Angie Summer, that has evidently taken great measures to train & execute a well-balanced & conscientious staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geejay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This past weekend we stayed at the Fairfield, after there was a mix up with our reservations at another hotel. The hotel was clean, and we were taken very good care of. The staff was very helpful. Yes the hotel is older but is taken care of.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollybry50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a recent business trip to the Valpo area. This hotel is located at US 30 and 49 and was easy to find. The hotel has an older dated feel and is probably in need of a remodel. The staff, however were excellent and there was welcoming Lemonade, ice water, popcorn and cookies in the lobby. The suite I was provided was extremely affordable and this property is located close to the Indiana Dunes State Park. For the price I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMarlinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This location felt tired when I approached. The Id sign at the road seemed faded, the height indicators on the drive-thru covering were worn. But when I stepped inside it was pleasant, there appeared to be a small electric fire going in the fireplace, there was a popcorn machine with popcorn and there were two beverage dispensers flanking the counter with ice water and lemonade
Lisa was assisting another customer. She verified her information and handed her a key to a first floor room; giving general directions, but never stating her room number. She did the same with me. The access to the elevator passes an indoor pool. I did not use it, but it appeared to be well maintained and clean. There were a few ceiling tiles in the first floor hall that had some rust stains but this area was generally clean and was also where the ice machine was located.
The room seemed to have just a linger smell of smoke when I entered, but it disappeared and I did not notice it again. The room seemed older, but it was clean in all areas visible. Even in the corners of the carpet and near the furniture. Nothing was fancy, but it was all maintained. The light fixtures, shower curtain and other items around the bathroom appeared to be new or very recently replaced. The refrigerator and microwave were both clean and worked properly. The bed was not ultra-firm but I got a good night's rest and there were about six pillows to choose from, so it was easy to find a good one.
The folio was slipped under the door. When I stopped at the desk to drop my key there were three employees, the night auditor was getting ready to leave and the morning desk person and breakfast person were speaking together. When I approached they all made eye contact and offered a greeting and the morning desk person wished me a good day.
The breakfast area is split into a coffee area and the rest is tucked around the corner behind the fireplace. The signage showed Jimmy Dean sandwiches, but I did not see any. There was yogurt and sealed cups of grapefruit sections, hard boiled eggs, juice and cereal. There was also a waffle maker. Not an extensive breakfast, but acceptable.
I dislike paying $100 a night with tax, but it was the least expensive option in the area and I needed to be here. I would return here and hope to figure out a AAA or other rate to reduce the cost some.

Room Tip: The location is not very large, it has an elevator. If you don't want to be near the pool or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We didn't have a reservation, but they had a room and took good care of us just the same. The room was clean and comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SchneiderVision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Valparaiso, IN
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
15 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Address: 2101 Morthland Dr, Valparaiso, IN 46383-5970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: $108 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Valparaiso offers convenient amenities and an ideal location off US-30 and US-49 to make it one of the top hotels in Valparaiso, IN. This ideal location is nearby Valparaiso University, Downtown Valparaiso, and Deep River Water Park. Business travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the Porter County Expo Center and Porter Health Systems. Guests staying at this Valparaiso, IN hotel enjoy spacious guest rooms that are highlighted by free WiFi, HD TVs, and in-room mini-fridges and microwaves. Start your day of right at the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind after a long day on the road at the indoor pool. Choose the Fairfield Inn Valparaiso and enjoy the unbeatable service and amenities that make this one of the top Valparaiso hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Valparaiso
Fairfield Valparaiso
Valparaiso Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing