We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of BISTRO 157 - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
BISTRO 157
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Transit: V Line Downtown Valparaiso
Description: Located in historic downtown Valparaiso, Bistro 157 serves an internationally influenced eclectic menu in an upscale, but casually "hip" ambiance. Chef Nicole trained in France 5 years and brings to your table gourmet cuisine paired with wines from a Wine Spectator Award Winning list.
Porter, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A little pricey, a little stark, this restaurant does not have any ambiance. The chairs were not comfortable and the lighting was to high.

Helpful?
Thank lyhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A REAL TREAT!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The sushi appetizer is top rate when available! Their specialty is their version of Schnitzel. As often as I go there, I still keep ordering it. It is that good even with all the other offerings!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CANJTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really Great Food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A friend recently took me to Bistro 157 for lunch and it was pricey but the food was definitely worth every penny. I had the Escargot Persillade with Garlic Toasts to start. I had not had them fixed like this before but they were absolutely delicious. You want to soak up the last vestiges of the sauce. We then had the Quiche du Jour (a bacon, cheese concoction) and it simply melted in your mouth. The best quiche I've ever had. The service was excellent the atmosphere comfortable; we were never made to feel rushed. The only drawback, they are not open for lunch on the weekend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best fish and chips!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I love the fish and chips dish at 157 bistro. The cole slaw has a dressing of malt vineger which makes the crusted fish so good. The combination of these flavors will make you crave the fish and chips. The restaurant is cute with a large selection of sofisticated wines to try. It doesnt have to be a Friday to have fish and chips. The thing about the chips is that they are actually boiled potatoes, so the calories are lower then if you had french fries.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst experience at a restaurant, ever”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Worst experience at a restaurant, ever. My wife and I decided to go to Valpo for the first time for dinner.

We walked in early evening, asked for a table for 2, and the host said, "All these tables are reserved. We only have bar seating." I kindly asked how long of a wait it would be for a table, and his answer was, "A long time."

A long time!? What the heck kind of answer is "A long time"!? Speechless and totally appalled, we immediately walked out. Even worse, there were only 3-4 tables occupied out of about 15-20. As we walked out, we realized there was seating outside, but they failed to even offer outside seating.

Yeah, we're never going back. We went to Bon Femme Cafe across the street, they seated us immediately, enjoyed great food, and was treated kindly and graciously. You're better off going there, don't even bother with Bistro 157.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BISTRO 157 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing