We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Derek and all his staff were great. The breakfast was good but there never seemed to be an attendant there. I like this brand but we are fairly new to it. This is the 2nd one we stayed at in a week and we will do so again as our vacation continues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Rory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dr. Rory O,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. Hopefully, we will see you again when you come through Valparaiso! I am also glad to hear you enjoy the brand as a whole; Country Inn and Suites by Carlson are great hotels!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    48
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
127
27
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed last week and had 3 sleeping room. Our stay was wonderful. The staff was amazing and so helpful. Breakfast was really good and the hotel is clean! I slept like a baby :")

Thank you to a very wonderful staff! Great job!!!

Room Tip: This is a great hotel for a business traveler also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
TimChicago_IL,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property! Our Serta mattresses are very comfortable and easy to get a great night sleep. Hopefully, we will see you again when you come through Valparaiso!

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a family trip heading out west. The rooms were comfortable, but, in need of some updating and cleaning. The carpet in our room was heavily stained. The exhaust fan (belts/bearings?) in the pool area were very loud and kept squeeling continuously. The breakfast was average. They provided porcelin plates/coffee mugs and metal flatware rather than paper and plastic that you normally would see. My only complaint about breakfast was they ran out of coffee and when I brought this to the attendants attention, she said she would make more when she got time. As a coffee drinker, I have to have coffee in the morning and was pretty disappointed that they would run out in the first place, but, then not get it made immediately. I ended up having to go out and buy coffee. I paid $159.94 plus 5,000 points for this two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploringMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had a pleasant stay in this property (mid-week). The location is great with easy access to major roads and to Valparaiso University. The room was spacious and well-appointed with a large closet, iron and ironing board. The bed was comfortable with good pillows. Breakfast was lackluster but sufficient. The main plus was the very nice employees. Each person I encountered went out of his/her way to be sure that my stay was enjoyable. They helped to make it so.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Movinup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattnooga, tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I am staying at Country Inn & Suites in Valparaiso, In. I am on assignment and this place has made it very pleasent. Rooms have a great layout, very nice housekeeping and wounderful management. Place is close to all the amenties and the staff is very helpful in the hotel and out with local info ie. resturants, cleaners, grocerys (for the little refirdge in the room), gas stations, indoor pool and hot tub my wife enjoyed. They have done what it takes to make me confortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for a college reunion weekend. The hotel is new and clean, but man is it noisy! It seemed like a cheaply built house with no noise insulation between rooms and between the floors. We could hear people walking above us, walking in the hallway, talking in rooms near us, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vengajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Moved to this hotel from the Country Inn & Suites in Portage, which was borderline filthy. By contrast, this hotel was very clean and the staff was courteous and responsive. The hotel is very convenient to many restaurants and merchants and, of course, across the street from Valparaiso University. Room decor is typical and of typical quality for this type of hotel, and outside of a broken door handle on the swimming pool room (which had a temporary handle in place), the property appeared to be very well maintained. Bedding comfort was good for this class of hotel. We were staying during an off-peak time, which meant that room selection was good and breakfasts were not crowded. Since the staff--including the general manager, Vinny--knew that we had changed hotels, they inquired daily to ensure that we were happy with our stay at their property.

However, I share a previous reviewer's comment about Internet connectivity. Our final evening there, it appeared that we had sporadic to no Internet connectivity for a few hours;. The front desk rebooted the equipment, but ultimately blamed Comcast, and my own troubleshooting work appeared to support their conclusion. I discovered that connectivity was in fact good, but domain name resolution with the supplied Comcast servers was failing; altering the DNS server configuration in my computer with known good servers restored my own connectivity, but I suspect that a majority of the hotel's users would not have uncovered this problem. This problem appeared to be entirely out of the hands of hotel management, but nevertheless very frustrating for hotel guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGoodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
Address: 2020 Laporte Ave, Valparaiso, IN 46383-5932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Valparaiso hotels at the Valparaiso Country Inn & Suites. Located conveniently near Valparaiso University and Valparaiso's historic downtown area, our hotel is the perfect place to stay for college visits, business, and leisure trips. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast with a variety of healthy and hearty options, including waffles, bagels, muffins, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and juices. Relax in our whirlpool, enjoy an invigorating workout in our Fitness Center, and stay connected to loved ones and business obligations with complimentary high-speed Internet access. Book your reservation today, and in no time, you'll be saying "I Love This Country." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Valparaiso
Valparaiso Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing