We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very Nice hotel in a Great location, right by shopping and good restaurants! Breakfast is wonderful as is the staff and manager Rob!! Highly recommend this for your stay in Valpo!! Dont forget to go for a swim in their indoor pool and they also have a hot tub!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Beth,

It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us and I look forward to having you back. Thank you for the awesome compliments, it's always great to know that we made someone’s stay a memorable one.

Robert Bartley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 144 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Typical decor of all HI Expresses, breakfast, standard entrance. We are loyal to IHG hotels, and gold members. What I don't understand is why a suite in one hotel is completely different from a suite in another. We usually book suites if we're staying more than one night somewhere so we have room plus the fridge and microwave. So when we arrived to our "suite" we were a little taken aback. The pull out couch was across from the "sitting area"...if we had to pull it out there would be no room! In other suites we have a dining table plus living area plus the bed/desk area. And the only toiletries were shampoo and conditioner and bar soap. Others give lotion, mouthwash, and make up removal wipes. I just don't understand. Had to do laundry while there too. Only 1 washer and 1 dryer, so had a long wait because the dryer takes FOREVER (over an hour to get damp clothes that I ended up hanging to finish drying). One day we slept in and took our time getting going for the day (had to do laundry early in the morning). We were out by noon and came back to our room unattended by housekeeping. Not a big deal with 2 adults in a room, but I'm used to housekeeping coming back through after their initial round to check on rooms. The next day we were gone around 11am and housekeeping did come. Strange. Options are obviously limited in the area, so I'm sure we'll be staying again for future family visits.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanier918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a nice property. The people are nice and the rooms are certainly nice. I will most likely stay here again because I travel to the area several times a year. It would help, though, if breakfast were given a little bit more attention. These are, obviously, little things and are not deal breakers. Still, it would be nice to have a variety of jams to pick from and not just and not just grape. There was no fresh fruit or hard-cooked eggs. It seemed as if they might be waiting on a food shipment because the hostess refilled the empty half-and-half container but barely put in enough for 3 or 4 people to use. One huge THANK YOU goes to the decision to put bathmats in the bathroom for use in the shower. The water here is very soft and it would have been dicey to stand in the tub without something to reduce the slipperyness from the water. The price at $122 (prepaid) is higher than many places. Great location for Valparaiso University.

Room Tip: My room faced the back of the building and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for a night for homecoming. Hotel seemed busy, but no problems with noise or anything. Price was slightly higher than other hotels, but everything else was pretty much full, and we really wanted a king bed room. I would definitely choose this hotel again for future stays.

Pros:
- Brand new, clean building
- Breakfast was good
- Beds very comfortable

Cons:
- None to speak of

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechieTravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I wish I could say that our experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Valparaiso was enjoyable but needless to say it wasn’t. This was our first time staying at the Holiday Inn and we were hoping that our experience would lead us to using this hotel again for our future family trips.

We had made reservations for September 1, 2012 through September 2, 2012 over the phone in which we gave our Master Card to hold the room. When we arrived on September 1st we spoke to a lady with the name of Tory on her name tag but when she answered the phone she answered the phone Victoria. We gave her our Visa card to charge the room to instead of our Master Card. We specifically advised her that the Visa card had to be the card used and not the Master Card. She assured us that everything would be handled accordingly and we would have no problems.

The next morning we woke up to a piece of paper underneath our door indicating that our Master Card had been charged the $134.39. This was not the card that we had specified to use. We went downstairs and again met with Tory/Victoria and explained the problem. She advised that she would need a few minutes to correct the mistake, so we went for breakfast and came back. When we came back she advised that she had not made our situation better but made it worse. At first we thought she was joking around but she wasn’t. She indicated that she had charged over $400.00 to our Visa Card instead of just voiding out the previous transaction and only charging $134.39 to our Visa Card. She again assured us that this mistake would be corrected that night when her nightly auditor came in so that we wouldn’t be charged the $403.17 to our Visa Card as well as having the $134.39 removed from our Master Card. We of course believed she would take care of everything and the next morning we wouldn’t have any surprises on our accounts.

Well the next day I reviewed our Visa account information and sure enough $403.17 was charged to our Visa account. See this is a problem because this is our bank card and we pay our bills from this account. Any outstanding checks that have been issued would not clear because now due to this mistake on her behalf we are negative in our account. Not to mention anything that we have to purchase during the week we will not be able to do because there is no money. There was also $134.39 charged to our Master Card which puts us at a total of $537.56 for a room that was only supposed to be $134.39.

We called the hotel and again spoke with Tory/Victoria and explained the situation. She indicated that she had corrected the information and everything should have been ok. We explained that it wasn’t ok since I was looking at our bank account online with a negative balance. She then transferred the phone to her manager, Alex Perez. We explained everything to him and he again stated that everything was taken care of. We explained that is not the case because again we have no money in our account. He then advised me that it could take 7-10 business days to receive our refund. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. I asked, “so you’re telling me that the money that you mistakenly took from our account we won’t have back 7-10 days from now?” He stated yes and that there was nothing more he could do. I explained to him that there has to be a way for us to get our money back today or tomorrow. He stated that he doesn’t make the policy of the banks. I asked what about our Master Card charge of $134.39, he stated that would take 7-10 days as well. I again explained to him that we need that money for food purchases during the week for our 1 year old and whatever checks we’ve already issued. All he said was even if he gave us cash that our bank would still be charged. We don’t want cash; all we want is for this to be rectified sooner than 7-10 days. Frustrated we ended the conversation with Mr. Perez and had to find a solution to our problem elsewhere.

We had to contact family members embarrassingly asking for money to cover bills and whatever else we needed during the next 7-10 days until we received our refund due to the mistake of your employee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Ray A,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went there for a night away from home, and we got what we were looking for - a relaxing evening/night. Aleshia Dempsey was a fantastic receptionist, providing the sort of friendly, efficient welcome anyone would hope for. The room was clean, everything worked well. It takes a lot for me to give a 5/5 rating, but the hotel is pretty cool to me. We would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ude E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pros----nice clean and newer hotel in good location with easy access to major roads ( but stoplight at road going into and out of hotel area gets congested and backed up), quiet, good brkfst, nice pool/spa/exercise area, staff very pleasant and helpful

Cons----rm had broken refrigerator and malfunctioning AC both of which the front desk was prompt to try and remedy. Brought up replacement refrig, worked on AC but still didn't work well, room got hot in middle of night.

Room Tip: Top floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfdomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso

Address: 1251 Silhavy Rd, Valparaiso, IN 46383-9578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: $118 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Valparaiso, Indiana. Conveniently located a half-mile from Valparaiso University, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Valparaiso provides easy access to a number of local businesses and exciting attractions. Ideally situated just minutes from downtown Valparaiso, this hotel is in close proximity to some of the city's finest shops and cafes. Travelers of all ages can enjoy an afternoon sunbathing at Lake Michigan in Indiana Dunes State Park, indulging in treats at the Albanese Nut and Candy Outlet, riding the waves at Deep River Waterpark or exploring the Brauer Museum of Art. Business guests can appreciate that corporate offices such as Urschel Laboratories, Emerson Power Transmission and Computer Services Inc. are less than one mile from our Valparaiso, Indiana accommodations. The Porter County Expo Center and various acclaimed golf courses are less than three miles away. Our Valparaiso, IN hotel is also proud to provide a 24-hour business center. During your visit, feel free to take advantage of the hotel's free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. A refreshing indoor pool and hot tub, a well-equipped fitness center and on-site laundry services are also available. Take advantage of our exceptional Valparaiso, IN hotel deals and rates as you start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Holiday Inn Valparaiso
Valparaiso Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing