We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than I expected and in my own back yard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Songbird Prairie Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portage, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much more than I expected and in my own back yard”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I had no idea what to expect; having stayed in many B and B's in Europe; this was a slice of heaven. My room; the Purple finch suite was charming and cozy. It was a wonderful respite during the holiday week and breakfast was truly a gourmet treat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
88
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

When you stay you can expect: Perfect relaxation after soaking in a whirlpool bathtub and stepping out on to a WARM tile floor, Romancing by the fireplace in your room, every need being taken care of by Barb and Efrain, Beautiful and Delicious Gourmet Three Course Breakfasts while listening and watching birds in the four season room, Beautiful decor and perfectly clean rooms, and a memorable and delightful experience with someone you love!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and go for the Robin Suite, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherbeth224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This B&B was not our tastes. There were just too many rules starting with having to sign a waiver for damages, a first for us in the hundreds of B&Bs we have stayed at. The owner kept saying that this is just like a hotel and that is how we felt - Martha Stewart's hotel, where you were afraid to touch anything. We know these are just our personal opinions, but we prefer a more relaxed environment. Everything seemed so contrived, with bird calls being piped in rather than just opening up windows and listening to nature. One thing that was strange is when we arrived they did not show us how to use basic things in the room, such as cable TV, fireplace, and switching from regular to handheld shower. Every B&B we stay at this is standard. We called them and Efrain was very friendly, while Barbara seemed a tad bossy. Another thing is we had a two for one coupon and she said it was for one continental breakfast and one full breakfast. This is another first; I guess that is another rule. We didn’t see this rule anywhere written, but then there are so many rules it is hard to read them all I am not a lawyer. The breakfast was average we have had better breakfasts throughout Canada and the U.S. It seemed like there were more garnishes than actual food. The dessert was unique, though. We had a fruit ice cream in fruit shells. It was nice that we were upgraded to a better room, but then again our original room was a first floor room that was rented to an elderly couple that needed it, so they did make money on that room. We received the info on this in an email. I don’t always read my email so I think it would have been more personal to call us. My wife has a bad back and may have preferred the first floor room, but we understood if an elderly couple has greater needs. All in all is was not for us, so we left a day early as we were not enjoying ourselves. If you would enjoy staying in a hotel run personally by Martha Stewart with various flowers and herbs in every dish served, this is your perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

If u make this your 1St experience with B&B then all other will pale in comparison. It will be like going from 4 season to a motel 8. This place is fantastic. Like Martha Steward on steriods, but in a good way!!! Every need and detail beautifully done without being stuffy and pretentious. Better than the photos. Better than described. Cuisine superb, rooms amazing, amenities just right. Hostess beautiful people. Going back ASAP!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panther8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our hostess, Barbara was warm & welcoming. Our room was tastefully decorated. The breakfast was scrumptuous with so much attention to detail. A very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Everything was so perfect during our stay! Warm, relaxing, pampering, welcoming....
The 3-course gourmet breakfasts were amazing, the room was exquisite - from the beautifully decorated rooms, the cleanliness and comfort, the jacuzzi and fireplace in each room, the plush robes, the oversized Italian luxurious towels, to the chocolate truffles left at our bedside and the beautiful tranquil wooded surroundings - every detail was thought of to ensure we were taken care of in the most special way. We loved our visit to Songbird Prairie Bed and Breakfast and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyHouse2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed at this lovely b&b for two days. The room was wonderful and nicely decorated. We were on the first floor and we had no problem with any noise being on the ground level. The breakfast was delicious and very filling. The innkeeper even allowed us to use a coupon at the gift shop that is there. The home was very inviting and made you feel very comfortable. Our highlight was at breakfast to see the very small hummingbirds come to the feeders and you could hear their hum. The innkeeper was very knowledgeable about the variety of birds, the grounds were nice as we were eating breakfast deer were outside of our eating area. The tea and afternoon treats were a nice touch also. This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaagape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
7.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
10.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
7.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songbird Prairie Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songbird Prairie Bed & Breakfast

Property: Songbird Prairie Bed & Breakfast
Address: 174 North 600 West, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Songbird Prairie Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Songbird Prairie Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing