We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and old-fashioned”
Review of Strongbow Inn - CLOSED

Strongbow Inn
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Refined Comfort Food.We are closed on Monday. Restaurant hours are Tuesday- Sunday 11am to 9pm and Sunday we are open for Brunch from 10am to 2pm. Bow Bar hours: Tuesday -Saturday 11am to 11pm. Featuring live music every Friday from 8pm to 11pm in the Bow Bar.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced and old-fashioned”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The prices are ridiculous for menur items that focus on turkey. It looks like a gathering of senior citizens when you walk into the place. This restaurant has obviously seen better days from a decorating standpoint. I can't imagine anyone young going here unless it was to take their grandma -- and hopefully she would pick up the tab!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemarie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    32
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gary, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You you like dry and favorless food, go to Strongbow's.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Very big disappointement. I went here for thanksgiving one year and tried a little bit of everything. I will not go back.
I was also informed by an employee that the owners would rather throw away the left overs from their buffets then give it to the homeless. Sad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant slipping”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have been a customer of the stongbow inn for 20 years. My wife and I drive 30 miles out of our way about twice a month so that we can dine at the inn. Unfortunately, we have found that standards appear to slipping. My wife loves coffee - she loved the inn's coffee; however, recently they changed brands of coffee to one that is bitter and buirnt tasting. It doesn't even smell good. I am a tea drinker - before when i asked for hot tea I was given a selection of Bigelow teas but now I am just given a tea bag for Gordon Food Service, a discount supplier. In terms of service - I ordered hot tea that arrived without a teaspoon to stir it on my last 3 visits. We were given rolls with butter but no butter knife as we received before.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferkins3264128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegance”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a nice, quiet elegant restaurant with good service, and a pretty good menu. I would like to see it expanded. Nice place to go on a date, or entertain good friends.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynnepix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remington, Indiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Long time there-getting better with age”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Strongbow Inn started and still specializes in turkey, but have a well-rounded, excellent menu, at mid-range prices. We have eaten there several times in the last month as we went to Valpo for business, and are fully satisfied.

Special thanks to all of the friendly staff, who obviously have been trained to serve well, and do an excellent job.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countryman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strongbow Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing