We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Average Burger Joint”
Review of Burger Haus

Burger Haus
Ranked #9 of 159 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Burger Joint”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you are looking for a cheap burger this is NOT the place for you. If you are looking for a good burger, served hot with a variety of different toppings on an above average bun in a fun yet simple & clean environment with great service, then you have found the right place. Very nice atmosphere, didn't have stuff all over the walls like some of the chains do and didn't feel like a diner either; just rather clean & simple. The service was great from the person who seated you right on down the line. They have an assortment of burgers with all kinds of different toppings & flavors. This was my first time there so I started with their regular burger, it was very good. The brioche buns are a nice change, lettuce & tomatoes were fresh, burger was hot, what's not to like? I liked the way they serve their fries, in little individual fry baskets. I will definitely be back a few more times to try the other flavors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a small birthday party here, and absolutely loved the set up. One of the best hamburgers I have ever had. We will be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ntjones21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty lunch.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Friendly and casual restaurant. Daily specials written on chalkboard is always appreciated. Although the burgers seem a bit pricey ($9-$11), they are not only very good, but served on real dishes, not in a basket, come with either fries or a very tangy coleslaw, and a huge, soft bun. Any burger entree can be substituted with a black bean veggie burger that tastes excellent. The wait staff does not hover, a big plus, and we were allowed to sit and chat well after finishing our lunch. My only complaint was the background music was a bit loud. I will definitely go back to try another type of yummy burger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Read the recommendations and was not disappointed! Very nice place and clear cut menu - the name says it all. Will for sure be back next time around. Burgers were excellent, presentation of the food very nice and staff friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow! What a wonderful hamburger!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hamburgers here are so wonderful it is a shame to refer to them as hamburgers. They are so far above the usual hamburger. The deep fried pickle chips are amazing and have just a bit of spice to them. The service is top notch. The burgers average between 8-10 dollars but are definitely worth it. The meat is so fresh and you definitely taste the difference. If you are in the area, go here...if you are like me, you will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davcar1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Haus also viewed

 

Been to Burger Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing