We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building and terrific atmosphere”

Memorial Opera House
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Valparaiso
Attraction details
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
195 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and terrific atmosphere”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Once you walk in you are taken back in time. In the foyer are plaques and pictures, and newspaper clippings. Inside the Opera House looks much as it did years ago. It is a snug, friendly atmosphere and watching enything on the stage here is intimate and exciting. Love the architecture and the seating. The whole experience is a treasure and the building is a symbol of times past. Loved it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic, Needs Help; Good Memories”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The place is very old, and terribly underfunded for the infrastructure work it needs. However, I have very warm memories of seeing singer/songwriter Michael McDermott here......as well as a fun production of "Oklahoma." Sound quality is okay, and seating is old but okay. Staff is FANTASTIC: friendly, extremely helpful, warm, welcoming: what a difference from some Chicago venues. btw, history buffs: John Philip Sousa performed here!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ValpoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Pier, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Wonderful venue--saw a very well done community theater play there. Lovely restored opera house, lots of vintage charm and comfortable seats as well

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer IN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations...”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first time here and didn't really know what we were getting ourselves into. We had a blast. The theater is on the smaller size which also means there really isn't a bad seat in the house. The staff was excellent and very friendly. The performance was absolutely wonderful and well acted. They use more talent here and less digital. I prefer that. Seating wise it would help if we were taller because there is not a lot of angle in this theater but it wasn't bad. For the price its hard to beat. It you drove to chicago you would have just paid for your parking or sat in the last row. We enjoyed it and plan on coming back often.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jgflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Chicago, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very organized and beautiful cultural experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

An opportunity for us to go back in time to a place where digital technology wasn't necessary to create a lovely voice. Striking and memorable experience!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonnaPerdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Memorial Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing