We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent stay”
Review of Super 8 Valparaiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Valparaiso
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
North Olmsted
2 reviews
“decent stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

had non smoking room that smelled of smoke. Otherwise it was fine. Did not mention to staff so they had no opportunity to correct.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    78
    73
    48
    23
See reviews for
122
44
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel as it is the cheapest in the Valpo area and close to our kids. The rooms are clean and there is a microwave and fridge in the room as there weren't any on our previous stays. Would love it, however, if the pillows could be upgraded! Mattresses are okay but the pillows are small and hard. Have not tried the continental breakfast as it never looked as if there was much there

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was booked through the National Softball Association World Series activities contact and we were told this location had been recently remodeled/updated. We stayed here for 4 nights and were not happy. The rooms were small, dated, bedspreads & chairs were dirty/stained, carpets were old - wouldn't walk on them without shoes. Halls smelled like cigarette smoke. Breakfast was marginal at best - toaster waffles, bad coffee, 1 type of fruit - certainly not a "continental breakfast" by most hotel standards. Hotel staff was rude, creepy & disrespectful - certainly not customer service orientated - several with tattoos, mouth piercings and appeared unclean. The 1st night we stayed there was a drunken bum that slept on the picnic table in the back area of the hotel and to the best of our knowledge no police were called to get him removed. My husband travels for his job and when we checked in and got to the room we realized that we were over paying for this establishment. He went to the manager and asked for a price reduction and the manager's reply was "check out if you don't like it - I don't care". We were going to check out but our whole team was staying there and although none of us really liked this hotel we were kind of stuck since many of the other hotels that were reasonably priced were totally booked and if they were not booked they did not have 10+ rooms available so that we could all move to another hotel. This certainly has left a VERY bad impression and we certainly do not ever plan to stay at any other Super 8 again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valparaiso hotels

Maiden NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I looked up reviews on TripAdvisor as I always do, and to my surprise, the Super8 Valparaiso was an option. Super 8 usually does not make my options list..I look for reviews that say a hotel is clean, the staff is friendly ect, this ones reviews were the kind I look for so we took a chance..I am not sorry we did! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and roomy, there is even an indoor pool, the price was pretty unbeatable..Some reviews talk about the TVs, Breakfast, Ect...the coffee is hot 24 hours a day, the breakfast is continental, so ceral, fruit, juice..which for the price of the room works just fine! TVs are not big on our list of importance we don't travel to watch TV, but ours was nice and the channels were plentiful..we were very pleased with the hotel over our 2 day stay.. those looking for the things we do when traveling won't be sorry picking this hotel!

Room Tip: Tell the Desk what you are looking for, be reasonable with your expectations for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I wasn't expecting much when I booked this room in advance for 3-nights at the Super 8 website. The price with my AARP membership was $ 55 per night whereas the other hotels close to the city were at least twice if not three times more that price. I don't know when this hotel was built but it seemed relatively new, was extremely well maintained and the staff was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The room was modern, squeaky clean, had a microwave and frig and a window that opened. The bathroom/shower was modern, like new and immaculate. The only thing I found disconcerting was that the commode which was probably only 12" high compared to the usual 18" height and it startled me as I'm sure it would have anyone the first time sitting on it. The mattress support was adequate and I slept well. The rug in the good sized living area, although clean, had not been laid properly and wrinkles were obvious. This was the only fault I noticed, and it was purely aesthetic. The housekeeping staff (always underappreciated and rarely tipped) did a fantastic job. A firm believer in Karma, I left a $3 tip each morning; every little bit helps those who are struggling to make ends meet. Don't expect a hot continental breakfast at these prices. The coffee was adequate, and there were apples/oranges, but I am not a cold cereal/plastic wrapped pastry/waffle breakfast type.
Word of mouth is more important in my opinion than all the Ad Agencies combined. This Super 8 cannot be beat for value and cleanliness and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't be shy about asking the Desk Person if you can examine your room for adequacy before settl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager08982, Manager at Super 8 Valparaiso, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the time taken to post such a kind and honest review, we all appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
10.2 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Valparaiso

Property: Super 8 Valparaiso
Address: 3005 John Howell Dr, Valparaiso, IN 46383-1547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Valparaiso 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Super Eight Valparaiso
Valparaiso Super 8
Valparaiso Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing