We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet place to spend the night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
near Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place to spend the night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

We've been visiting prospective colleges with our teen, and were looking for a place to stay near Valparaiso University. The admissions people gave us names of several area hotels, and we did some on-line searching to verify their amenities. This Hampton Inn was the only one that mentioned having free internet access, as well as a complementary warm breakfast in the morning. There were also a refrigerator and microwave in the room, and their pricing was comparable to the others, so we decided to book our stay.

The hotel property is set off the main road, and we made a wrong turn trying to get to it, but the plus side of their location is that the hotel was very quiet at night.

We arrived around 5:00 p.m., and after checking in, discovered that they were serving complementary nachos and beverages, including soda, beer and wine. Apples and bananas were also set out. The hotel is located near a major shopping center with many different restaurants close by, for full meal selections.

Their swimming pool said it was open until 11:00 p.m, with "adults only" from 10:00 -11:00p.m. Unfortunately, it was a bit cool for our liking, while the hot tub was too warm, and there didn't appear any way to check or adjust the temperatures. The fitness room had a pair of treadmills and an exercise bicycle, along with a TV. There were ample clean towels available.

The biggest "negative" to our stay was discovering that the tub spigot/shower sprayer knob in our bathroom was broken. I was initially caught "off guard" with a cold blast spraying down from the fixed shower head on the wall. After warning the rest of my family to adjust the water temperature while standing outside of the tub, before they took their showers, it was fine.

The warm breakfast on the day we stayed did not have eggs, as we had hoped, but provide french toast sticks and sausage patties. There were other "continental breakfast" choices, including cold cereals, muffins/rolls, yogurt, etc. Upon returning to our room, we noticed the maid's carts had bags of microwave popcorn, which we had NOT found in our room previously. It was a simple oversight, we assume. Overall, our short stay was pleasant, and if we came through the town again, we would still consider returning to their hotel.

  • Liked — Complementary foods/snacks were available at various times
  • Disliked — Our bathroom had a broken tub/shower control
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sellbuy1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    99
    20
    15
    4
See reviews for
154
54
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

We attended Family Weekend at Valparaiso University. This hotel was wonderful. HOT breakfast was included. Choice of egg, bacon and cheese biscuit, pastries, cereal, juice, coffee, fruit, etc. Very clean. Pool was nice. Very comfortable bed. Short distance to University. Will definitely stay here again. Staff very friendly.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Elevator was a bit slow
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paavoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn. I really appreciated, since we were traveling with a small child, the fact that every room includes a fridge and microwave. The beds were extremely comfortable - especially the duvet. The crib provided for our child - an evenflo pack-n-play - was nice and looked relatively new. The decor of the room was pleasant and stylish. We also appreciated several nice touches - that the "sitting chair" in the room was a recliner, the curved shower bar that made the shower seem bigger, the availability of wi-fi. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located near Valparaiso U. and several shopping areas and major roads.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerinva801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2005

For the price and class, this hotel was well above average. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean and well serviced.

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Strongbow Inn next door. So all of our guests stayed at the Hampton (litterally 20 feet away).

We were very particular about the service and accomodations since it was our wedding. We were not dissapointed. The staff was overwhelmingly accomodating.

The hotel has a great continental breakfast in the lobby in the morning. It also has a great lobby, well equipted meeting room, indoor pool, spa, and small fitness center.

In addition to standard rooms, they have suites.

Granted, this is not a four or five star hotel, but we were very very pleased with the quality and service of this hotel -- and so were our guests.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arcunnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
14.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Address: 1451 Silhavy, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Valparaiso
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Hampton Inn Valparaiso
Valparaiso Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing