We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room by the lobby is not a good thing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were doing a college visit of Valparaiso on Saturday, so spent Friday night at the Hampton Inn. Staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions. Everything would have been fine if the a/c unit would actually function as I believe it was designed. I tried to set the fan so it would stay on all night to provide some background noise as we were very close to the lobby. Unfortunately it only functioned in the auto mode which meant it would kick on with the air conditioning. A group of people came in around 1:30 a.m. and decided to stay in the lobby talking in what was probably reasonable conversational levels. Unfortunately, we were so close to the lobby that it woke us. Discussed with the clerk in the morning and I think her goal was for me to just leave her alone. We would probably stay here again but I will never stay in room 105!

Room Tip: Whatever you do stay away from rooms 104 or 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the air conditioning not working in your room. I've worked with our maintenance team to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We also apologize for the noise caused by the other guests in the lobby and that it disrupted your sleep. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 397 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Usually we stay at another hotel when we're in Valpo once a year, but had to switch here at last minute due to other hotel being very overcrowded, loud, no parking etc.
I was expecting little service & poor quality since it was a Hampton & I have had bad experiences with other Hampton Inn's.
The service was exceptional. The place was very clean! Looks redone -not old or out of date like the other Valpo hotel we stayed at previously. Price was very reasonable. Plus they had free breakfast. I was impressed.
Liked that bathroom had lots of sink counter space & was a decent size.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Unfortunately all hotels in Valparaiso are so overpriced, but this hotel definitely has the extra perks to make it more worth it. Hot breakfast was outstanding with oatmeal, eggs, french toast, sausage, juices, cereals, etc and the breakfast area is very nice as well. Inviting rooms and comfortable beds.Bathroom was nice as well. Staff were not overly friendly, but overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed 1 night here. As others have said, a very nice hotel for this price range. I always try to stay at Hampton Inns because their linens are so fresh...between each guest, they change the duvet on the comforter and it makes all the difference. No grotty comforters that hundreds have people have used between washes Plus, all the linens are white so you know for sure they're clean. This was a nice place. Quiet and clean. With the bed bug epidemic in Chicago I've been paranoid, but no signs of any whatsoever here. Breakfast was pretty good although I can't ever get that excited about eggs that you know came from a powdered substance. There was also oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, etc. It's rare when I'm a little sad to leave a hotel room but this was an occasion. The beds and linens were comfy! Air conditioning ice cold which was so nice in 100 degree heat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunLvr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice place with a friendly staff. Nice lobby and breakfast area. Stayed here for a college visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilsayit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had the king bed suite with whirlpool, desk and sofa for our wedding night. The room was very spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was average, with the usual continental breakfast fare (good options, though). There was a mix-up with our group booking, but that was due to a particular associate, and not the hotel in general (the mentioned associate, in fact, left the position before completing our booking). The amenities are good, the linens clean, pool of average size and in good repair. The decor is nice, and the breakfast area has large windows that look out to the parking lot. It is within walking distance of VU, if you have about 20 minutes to get there. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

just stayed over night for a family visit. Was very impressed even though we were not there very long. Did get a Hilton Honor member upgrade to room 200. Very nice with two good sized beds and a living room & pull out couch. Very clean, modern and new. The pool looked large as well as the area surrounding the pool. The comp breakfast was your typical, nothing special but did the job. The lobby where the breakfast was looks brand new. Again very modern look and new furniture. The workout room was the only negative, very small and limited. Overall very nice stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njd003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso

Address: 1451 Silhavy, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: $97 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso Hotel Valparaiso
Hampton Inn And Suites Valparaiso
Hampton Inn Valparaiso
Valparaiso Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing