We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bon Femme Cafe - CLOSED

Bon Femme Cafe
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette
Description: Elegance in a casual setting with warm and friendly service. One of Valparaiso premier restaurants
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Had a great time we were very happy with the tasty food and very good service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomanddebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    9
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“another downtown Valpo fine dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

For a birthday celebration in January, Bon Femme was an excellent choice.The food was delicious and arrived hot, a rarity. My grouper, one of the house specials, arrived beautifully sauteed in butter accompanied by the waiter's recommendation, garlic mashed potatoes--perhaps not the most inspired side but right with the fish. My spouse's bouillabaisse was absolutely outstanding with lobster, shrimp, scallops, and Prince Edward Island mussels among other delicacies in a nicely flavored broth to sop up with bread. Our waiter, Russell, was spot on when he and the bartender consulted about the wine to choose with our dinners, a nicely priced Chilean unoaked chardonnay. Though the restaurant was very busy on a Friday night, we never felt that we were being hurried along to free the table; indeed, we lingered undisturbed over the last of the wine.

Bon Femme occupies the late lamented Claytons, the first fine dining restaurant in downtown Valparaiso. The decor has changed: sheer swags drape the former cloud filled ceiling. The colors are subdued, the banquettes and chairs are comfortable, and abstract art in deep colors adorns the walls. The pottery French provincial roosters perched on dividers strike an odd note--probably a nod to this ungrammatically named French-themed restaurant: bonne femme is "good wife" referring to homey cuisine. Just inside the entrance is a handsome bar with several high tables.

Delicious food, excellent service from Russell, a cozy atmosphere--who could ask for more to celebrate.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hurdlehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice quiet, cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Bon Femme has a nice menu, offering appetizers, entrees, sandwiches and the "classic" Bon Femme crepes & quiche. There are classy looking material billows from the ceiling that make a cozy and quiet atmosphere. You can actually have a conversation without yelling .. loved it! In the nice weather, they have outdoor dining.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ztheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
157 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were in Valparaiso, Indiana, on business and thought we would stop someplace for a drink and maybe an appetizer. We punched up our Tom Tom for a restaurant suggestion. It told us that Bistro 157 was nearby and we were intrigued by the name. When we got there it looked like it was closed down, but across the street there was Bon Femme Cafe. We thought same genre, let's give it a try.
Our server was very nice, Moneesa, not sure of the spelling, but she goes by "Mo." We loved the atmosphere, a little French and a little American, with a little Indiana thrown in for flavor. The walls had nice mirrors, reproductions of French advertisements of liquors, and some framed pictures of chateaus. Cloth napkins, always a good first impression. We found to our delight that Monday is one half off a bottle of wine. C'est une bonne! My wife was inspired to order for the both of us. Remember, we just wanted some appetizers. First Baked Brie en Croute, Brie wrapped in a puff pastry with a warm Cider reduction. It was very good. This was followed by Lobster Egg Rolls, with veggies and peanut filling with a Thai Chili, that was even better. Then we topped it off with Escargot baked with roasted garlic, Tarragon, and Clarified Butter with French Baguette. The wine was Three Vineyards, Row Eleven, a California Pinot Noir. Everything was quite good and just enough for a late afternoon nosh. Total bill without tip was $57.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RexGermanorium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
239 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Sometimes good, sometimes not.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I wasn't quite sure how to rate Bon Femme as a whole. We have eaten here several times, and sometimes our food is great and sometimes it is just average. We have had excellent grouper and so-so grouper. This is the way it goes. Their specialties are usually good, the crepes and quiches, but everything else is hit or miss. Our service is typically not-so-good. We have had very slow service almost every time we have eaten here, sometimes having to remind the wait staff for bread or drinks. Desserts are usually great. So, I guess I would recommend for a special occasion or business meal if you are not in a hurry. Full service bar has nice selection and atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cubfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Femme Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing