We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the train area, trails are ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taltree Arboretum and Gardens

Taltree Arboretum and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taltree Arboretum & Gardens is 501(c)3 non-profit dedicated to preserving the environment, educating the public, and conserving a natural space for guests to enjoy. Situated on a beautiful 330-acre oak preserve of formal gardens, and restored woodlands, wetlands, and prairie, Taltree hosts a variety of public classes, exhibits, and events. During visits, guests can explore approximately 6 miles of hiking trails and diverse landscapes, relax in the formal gardens, visit animals in the children's garden, enjoy the intricate Railway Garden, and more.
Lake Villa, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the train area, trails are ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We've been to many train museums and exhibits and this is one of the most impressive we've seen. It is immaculately maintained and designed with intense detail. We also walked many of the trails which were ok, but didn't seem noteworthy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLaRueIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaPorte
Level Contributor
156 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“WOW! Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Oh what fun this is. I took our four year old here and he loves trains to begin with so when he seen this his eyes got so big it was funny. There are seven trains running at once. You just keep looking and try to follow where they are going. There is a display of G-gauge trains and miniature buildings and real landscape. There is a canyon, coal mine, rock quarry, and more. The mini buildings are in different scenes and shows the civil war, prairie towns, farm towns, and so much more. Every train had something different, one was pulling circus cars with animals inside, one was a logging train, it was great. I took over a hundred pictures and noticed things when l download them on the computer, like 3 women having tea on a roof top terrace, and a women holding a baby coming out of the bakery. Bring a pair of binoculars if you really want to take time and study each building display. We came home and showed my husband the pictures and now we are going again because he wants to see this. There are also other areas you can explore away from the trains. Bluebird trail, goldfinch trail, Heron trail, owl trail, and an area with live chickens and coming soon is goats. Bring a lunch and make a half day of this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a nice garden oasis in an area full of houses. They have some very nice gardens and the highlight for us was the train area. They have several trains that run through different city settings. The mini plants are a great added attraction.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camper465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“wonderful place to visit something for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

this place has really come a long way! First started off small and not much here but now has really grown into a special place to visit! I love the train garden! and I'm not even a kid. I have be to many it it is alot better then the other that I have visited in Chicago area, and I understand they are going to make it even larger! So much detail really something to see for kids and adults!
also love the small trails around the park and have seen blue birds manay times in this park which is a special treat!They are usally around teh Lake area where the bird houses are. The rose garden is small but many pretty ones in in this garden.
the Wild flowers in spring are really something to see on teh trails. Visit ofen and differant times of teh year !
always something special to see!! FYI can use passes from other places to get in like the Mortan & chicago botantic garden family passes are accepted.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cold but enjoyable hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time ever hiking the trails. We walked several miles in 0 degree wind chills. Unexpectedly came across two captive trumpeter swans which we observed for some time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeAndJen60515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taltree Arboretum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Taltree Arboretum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing