We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Always a Great experience. Comfortable, Safe and Secure. Staff is well trained, courteous and helpful. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Located downtown Terre Haute, it is close to everything that you could need or want. But with the Restaurant, business center, pool and other amenities, you wouldn't have to leave the building if you didn't want to. Just Relax!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding our hotel! We appreciate hearing that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable, and within easy proximity to many of Terre Haute's best attractions. I will be sharing your comments with the members of our team. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    173
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
260
106
29
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I found ourselves in Terre Haute while travelling to Wisconsin. It was late when we arrived and were pleased to find this hotel was just a few blocks off of our route. The hotel property is located in the downtown area and we found it to be very clean and comfortable. Since it's located in the downtown area, I was worried about the parking. However, there was ample parking and the outside of the hotel was very clean and well lit. The front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating, and while we were too late to visit the hotel bar, the front desk recommended a very nice tavern located just arund the corner. Our room was very clean, very comfortable, and very quiet. We enjoyed our stay here and should we find ourselves in the Terre Haute area again in the future, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceLSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, it really means a lot to us when our guests write enthusiastically about us following their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We began by booking online, but when my husband reviewed the information before we left home he noticed that they confirmed an incorrect date. Therefore, he called the HGI to correct the info, & got a room. We considered ourselves fortunate as the very popular Covered Bridge Festival was at its height with many hotels having no availability or over-priced, and there were three weddings that brought in a slew of out-of-town guests.
Check-in was handled easily & efficiently. There was a line, but a second receptionist came out to keep things moving. Even though there were many people checking in, there were sufficient clothes dollies to pack with suitcases & hanging clothes. There were two elevators which was wonderful; not much wait time.
The hotel had an exercise room with the basic cardio, upper, core, & lower body equipment one would need, as well as a small pool, & hot tub. Pool towels were there. It had a dining area and adjoining bar with floor to ceiling windows that view the downtown Terre Haute area. They make a lovely pomegranate martini. A buffet breakfast was available for about $10 per person; although, we did not eat there, so I cannot comment on it. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, & apples were available throughout the day across from the reception desk. Although, on Sunday morning they ran out of coffee, & the receptionist seemed to be in need of guidance on how to replenish it.
Our room was on the 3rd floor (313). It was fresh, linens were clean, & the room was spacious. The closet doors were mirrored, there was an electric coffee pot with coffee / tea choices, microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, & Wi Fi access on the business desk. Our room had a love seat with a glass topped coffee table & a king bed that had a variety of pillow choices, plush duvet, & a heavenly mattress. I would like to know how they keep all those white linens clean. The bathroom had an adjustable stream shower head. It was a bit tall for me, but I'm short; fine for my husband. The light switch took a bit of getting used to, though; it is a toggle switch that takes a while to turn on. Kind've had to play with it. Also, it must be on a timer because after my husband showered, I did, & the lights turned off. Quite a surprise. Luckily, my husband was still in the room & could help me. There is a hair dryer, iron & ironing board in the room.
What I would change would be our room because:
_ it was next to the vending room, which had a loud closing door & was highly trafficked
_ it was on the back of the hotel, above the trash bin. The trucks were there in the wee hours of the morning. You get the picture.
_ add an extra suitcase bench. Just a nice touch.
It is a well-situated hotel if you want to walk the campus of Indiana State University, go to a game / event at Hulman Center, or visit the Children's Museum. The Coffee Grounds, Crossroads Cafe, & Cackleberries are within a short walk & are local favorites for breakfast / lunch. Try Wise Pies for delicious pizza. All owned by local people & are not franchises. "Hometown" good. A photo op is just across the street to the West of HGI where you can sit on a bench next to a bronze life-size statue of Max Ehrmann, author of the internationally acclaimed poem, "Desiderata." Look down & read excerpts from it in the walkway. Peace.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eledind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am very pleased to read that you recently stayed with us at Hilton Garden Inn on one of your return trips to Terre Haute and that you found your stay to be excellent. Thank you for your appraisal of our team and facilities. I am certainly happy to learn that you plan on returning. I look forward to welcoming back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I found our accommodations very welcoming. We had a long day of shopping at the festival, and was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the rooms were. We will return to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank angryinillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are excited to hear that you had a great stay. We hope you will return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent a couple of weeks here on business travel, and it's the best spot to stay in Terre Haute. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and the hotel offers all the amenities you would expect. The location is excellent - convenient to ISU and local activities. The full service breakfast is also excellent with numerous make-to-order items and a fully stocked buffet. The staff is friendly, however too often they weren't available - examples include several mornings where there was only one waiter seating and serving 5-7 tables for breakfast, several evenings where the bartender was delivering room service, and several occasions where there was only one person at the front desk when large groups were checking in or out.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and will continue to stay here in the future. Improvements to staffing would make all the difference!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Wabash Ave for optimum quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caholla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback during your recent stay. We are extremely pleased that your experience with us made you feel as though you were right at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great stay in Suite for our family weekend fall getaway. Staff very friendly, room well done and great location. Don't hesitate to stay here. Highly recommend Traverse Pie for any meal while you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute House for your recent stay in Terre Haute, Indiana. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanatah, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the hotel. Very busy weekend with the covered bridge fest going on. Room had a few sticky spots on the coffee table but overall a very nice hotel. Nice private parking area. Close to a bunch of places to eat and things to do.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dan22swoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and some of the many attractions within walking distance of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
#2 of 18 in Terre Haute
271 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 18 in Terre Haute
585 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 18 in Terre Haute
394 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
#6 of 18 in Terre Haute
158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Terre Haute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Address: 750 Wabash Ave, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
#2 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute hotel is located in downtown Terre Haute, Indiana, close to Indiana State University, Rose Hulman Institute of Technology and St. Mary of the Woods. Enjoy a cooked-to-order hot breakfast, adjustable bed and complimentary high-speed internet access. Feel at home in your room that includes a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. Melt away the day's stress in the indoor pool, or work on your exercise program in our 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute
Hilton Terre Haute
Terre Haute Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing