We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to ISU and Moderately Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient to ISU and Moderately Priced”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our second stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute. I made use of the exercise room, the small indoor pool, the whirlpool, and the business center computer...none were off-the-charts-exceptional, but all were adequate and clean. Our room included two beds, a nice closet, a work desk, a comfortable lounge chair and a window overlooking Wabash Ave. The small refrigerator and microwave were convenient when it came time to watch the 2012 Final Four basketball games. Free coffee in the morning near the 1st floor elevator lobby is a nice touch...and the coffee is good.

If you are visiting ISU, the center portion of the campus is less than a 10 minute walk. The Children's Museum http://http://www.thchildrensmuseum.com/ is directly across the street. Several eating places are within easy reach along Wabash Ave.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on the 2nd floor (where we stayed) face Wabash Avenue...the odd numbered rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
I wanted to personally thank you for sharing your positive experience about our hotel! We value your feedback and strive to provide the best customer service to all our guersts!

Sincerely,
Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    158
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
236
97
27
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn, Terre Haute, on our way to St. Louis. We were so pleased with the location and parking. We decided to walk several blocks before dinner and the area is nice. Dinner at the Hilton Garden Inn restaurant was great. Our bed was so comfortable and we slept very well. We look forward to stopping in again on our next trip through! We were especially pleased with the service given to us by Andrea at the front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors away from the elevator are usually more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilutz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
"Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference."
Winston Churchill

Thank you for the GREAT review!

Sincerely,
Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a really nice downtown hotel... with free parking, a real plus. Everyone was friendly and the bed was exceptionally good -- I always take my own pillow so I can't rate the hotel pillows, but there was a good selection. I was disappointed in the breakfast... basically a Hampton Inn style breakfast bar in the dining room for $10, but they do offer to prepare special order waffles, omelets, etc. I am tired of buffets and they seem to be getting more popular -- less work with less staff. The hotel itself is a very pleasant experience -- I will go back if I ever get to Terre Haute again... but I will find a downtown cafe for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanythW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
From the Entire Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute House-THANK YOU! We greatly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul mn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our family stayed here fo 2 nights. The front desk staff was nice and friendly. Breakfast was yummy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St_paulMnGeetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
From the Entire Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute House-THANK YOU! We greatly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights on business. Typical HGI quality, with an excellent staff. Very helpful waitress at the lounge; made 3 restaurant recommendations that were perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRapFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
From the Entire Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute House-THANK YOU! We greatly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellettsville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed here for a concert at the Hulman Center and it was PERFECT! It was right across the street and the rooms were great. Very nice hotel. The only thing I would change is to add a free breakfast. The breakfast was a lot like a regular hotel serves but they charged $10 per person for it. That was disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jendoe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
From the Entire Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute House-THANK YOU! We greatly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Claus, Indiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We got to the hotel around 12:30 pm and our room was ready for us, so we went ahead and dropped our luggage. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly. We then walked to the ISU Basketball Stadium (Hulman Center) for the ISU basketball game.

On our way back into the hotel later that evening (New Years Eve), we wanted to check out the pool and hot tub. There was a note on the door that said pool closed until Jan 1st but please enjoy the spa. We asked the front desk attendant if it was still closed and she told us yes and the spa was closed too. This front desk person was not very friendly at all! She acted like she wasnt very happy to work, probably because it was New Years Eve and being 18-22 years old, I am sure she had better things to do. When we went back down, I asked a different front desk worker about the pool situation, she said the pool and spa were closed, but a maintenance worker heard our question and said, "you guys can use the spa like the sign says" and kind of rolled his eyes at the girls working the front desk. We did get to use the spa. I wish there would have been a notice on the Hilton website about the pool not being open, but oh well.

Other than the pool situation, everything was wonderful. The location was excellent being close to the basketball stadium, bars, ISU campus, and lots of little restaurants on Wabash Ave. We also thought the breakfast was excellent in the morning. I believe it was 9.95 a person, but is extremely excellent. The waiters were awesome and the friendly cooks make whatever you want and as much as you want! Great breakfast!!!! The rooms were spacious and very well kept.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in the Terre Haute area!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
From the Entire Staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute House-THANK YOU! We greatly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
#2 of 18 in Terre Haute
257 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 18 in Terre Haute
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
#6 of 18 in Terre Haute
152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 18 in Terre Haute
373 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
#9 of 18 in Terre Haute
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Address: 750 Wabash Ave, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
#2 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute hotel is located in downtown Terre Haute, Indiana, close to Indiana State University, Rose Hulman Institute of Technology and St. Mary of the Woods. Enjoy a cooked-to-order hot breakfast, adjustable bed and complimentary high-speed internet access. Feel at home in your room that includes a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. Melt away the day's stress in the indoor pool, or work on your exercise program in our 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute
Hilton Terre Haute
Terre Haute Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing