We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see”

Clabber Girl Museum
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buford, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was a rainy day of our camping trip, and we went to the Clabber Girl Museum because there wasn't a lot to do. As it turns out the rainy day was a blessing to get us to this marvelous museum. The museum tells the inspirational story of the Hulman family and how a German immigrant became a highly successful American. It tells the story of the growth of commerce in the midwest and of course how baking powder was invented. It tells of a simpler time in the US. And best of all - IT'S FREE!!. There is a café in the museum where got homemade soup and a sandwich - perfect for a rainy day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank princes110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    58
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Historical - tasteful & quality”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was fun. I wasn't sure what to expect. Nicely remodeled interior keeping the integrity of the original design. Bakery just okay - I only had the biscuits & gravy, even with a lot of pepper it lacked flavor. Life is too short to eat bad food. Lots of people eating their baked goods, I should've followed their lead but I didn't want anything sweet for breakfast. Museum tells the story of the Hulman family. Did you know they bought the Indianapolis Speedway in 1907 for pennies on the dollar? Bought some small cans clabber girl baking powder for my baking friends. Much fresher than in the store.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovemousakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
“Clabbers girl home of Rex coffee”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice place to go to learn some history of stuff in the past 100 years .it will only take 30 min. To go through you also can take cooking classes. Or grab some lunch or dinner there.the Rex coffee is a must to try.located by other attractions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“15 to 20 minutes will do”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you like looking at old, neat stuff from the last 80 to 100 years in rural America, visit this free museum. Afterward, hit the coffee shop for a cup of joe or just go to the coffee shop for a coffee and a breakfast on any given morning. It's right downtown and you can park at the curb. I visited on a chilly morning and warmed up looking at all of the clean, well organized historical pieces and photos, thankful for the labeling and explanatory signage. It's a brief, fun thing to do for free in Terre Haute.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beetcanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's a must see!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A really nice museum. We passed the place at first. There is a door right on the corner of 9th and Wabash– but we missed the sign over the door while driving. There is a dedicated parking lot across from the building on Wabash street. It’s a small museum, but contains a snapshot of a place in time. There are cans of old food with prices, war time ration info, a 1940’s kitchen, telephones, employee time clock, Prince Albert in a can, and more. There is something for everyone. Best of all, the museum is free, air conditioned, and well kept. Afterwards, we scones at the restaurant. . We went on late Saturday - the place closes at 3 and the scones were buy 1 get 2 free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtnest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clabber Girl Museum also viewed

 

Been to Clabber Girl Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing