We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very rude and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Staff was very rude and not accomidating the hotel itseld seemed run down. Very disappointed as I have stayed at many Hamptons in the past and have always been very happy with them. Will never stay at this one again

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta B, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow us to first thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor. We are very disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction with your accommodation and lack of service. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, we clearly fell short of that goal in this instance and for that we sincerely apologize. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Terre Haute
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 597 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

There was hair in the sink and my bathtub would not drain, i expected some form of retribution and was offered none even thou I had to have maintenance come up and fix the problem at close to 11p.m. Front desk was apologetic but management was plain rude.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta B, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Barry G,

Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced and lack of recovery. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, we clearly fell short of that goal in this instance and for that we sincerely apologize. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor and hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We checked into this hotel for my niece's wedding. They would not honor the rate they promised and made us wait 2 hours to check in. Then, they told another guest in the wedding party to vacate the room just 1 day into their 2 day stay. No something you want to deal with on the morning of a wedding. The hotel was clean, but the staff completely clueless.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta B, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear James D,

Congratulations to your niece on her special day and thank you all for choosing our hotel. On behalf of the staff and management, please accept our apologies for any inconveniences we may have caused your family. I agree that you should not have to deal with such issues on a wedding morning. Once again we are sorry for the worries we have caused you. Wishing you and family happy holidays

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The room and amenities were up to Hampton Standards. Nice pool. The staff was very helpful. The location just off I-70 in the midst of restaurants, drug store, urgent medical care, etc. is ideal for the traveler. It is convenient to downtown, a little far from Rose-Hulman IT.
The breakfast lady was unusually cordial and helpful. The food was mediocre: below-par English muffin, really poor scrambled eggs (homogenized, then cooked into solid pellets), good sausage.

Room Tip: On west side, away from highway 41.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta B, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Fred B,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your accommodations and the service we provided. Happy Holidays

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Good hotel. Clean. Fair price. Convenient to highway. Restaurants nearby. Rooms facing front road can be noisy from trucks j-braking. Drug stores nearby. Complementary reakfast is well above average. .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta B, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Brad M,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your stay and hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were here one night. Upon entering the room we immediately noticed that the bedskirt was halfway off one of the beds and resting on the floor. There was trash on the bathroom floor. Upon pulling down the sheets, we found out that one of the beds had not been changed - there were hairs in the bed. Reported problems. They brought up clean sheets. No fridge or microwave in room. Reported problems again in the morning upon checkout. Were told we would hear from the manager. We have not heard from them yet and will be contacting them soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta B, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Karen L,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had at our hotel. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, we clearly fell short of our goal in this instance, for that we are truly sorry. We hope to have the opportunity better serve you in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our 2-night stay at this Inn was very nice. There was a mix-up in our reservation, my error, but they made it right. Breakfast was very good with a varied menu each day. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room clean and bed comfortable. I was especially impressed with the bathroom facility. It is within easy on/off access of the Interstate. It was priced a bit higher than I prefer to pay, but I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unlfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta B, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear UNLFAN,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and for recommending our hotel. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with your accommodations and services. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
#2 of 18 in Terre Haute
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 18 in Terre Haute
401 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 18 in Terre Haute
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
#8 of 18 in Terre Haute
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
#9 of 18 in Terre Haute
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Terre Haute

Address: 3325 U.S. 41 South, Terre Haute, IN 47802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
#5 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range: $96 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Terre Haute is one of the hotels in Terre Haute, Indiana that offers all the special touches to provide you with a great vacation at even better value. Close to I-70 and Hwy 41 South, this hotel is conveniently situated near Indiana State, Rose-Hulman and Saint Mary College. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, an indoor heated pool, 24-hour business facility, fitness center, and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute
Terre Haute Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing