We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hampton with a few problems” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Terre Haute

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Hampton with a few problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

From the cheerful greeting at the front desk (this time the clerk actually reached over to shake my hand) to the beeping waffle machine at breakfast time, this place -- the first hotel after you turn off the ramp from eastbound I-70 -- is unmistakably a Hampton Inn.

However, there are a few kinks as well. It's tall for a Hampton, at seven storeys, and it has an unusual and confusing floor plan. The location right by the Interstate makes it a bit difficult to turn left (towards downtown Terre Haute) out of the parking lot -- a nimble U-turn is required. And watch out for the automatic swinging doors at the front entrance, or they'll whack you in the face.

In my guest room itself, there weren't night-lights as I have typically seen them in other Hamptons. And I found the controls for the shower very difficult to operate. But in general, this hotel had the expected features and services, including typical Hampton cleanliness and modern fittings, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if I were coming back to Terre Haute.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connorysh, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
First we want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while staying at the Hampton Inn Terre Haute. It is only when guests share constructive feedback that we can improve and you certainly did that. We are addressing the night light's you pointed out.

Very happy you wouldn't hesitate to stay with us again. Hope it is very soon.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    138
    60
    38
    26
See reviews for
201
92
36
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed 5 days two weeks ago, staff was friendly and helpful whenever I talked to them, room was clean, I did not see one bug in my room the whole stay, no spiders. The breakfast was typical hotel fare, eggs, biscuits, cereal, waffles, bacon, sausage, home fried, hash browns, prepared a little differently each morning. I had no difficultly with parking, and it was close to everything I wanted to see and shop.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
275 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Easy to find hotel off of I-70 in Terre Haute with tons of restaurants - mostly chain and fast-food, but still good - all right around the hotel. The hotel is bigger than you think and comes with very nice staff. Breakfast typical - nothing outstanding.
Rooms - huge, quiet, but not soundproof as evident by loud neighbors at one point.
Would definitely stay here again if back in town for work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xiphoid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connorysh, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hampton Inn Terre Haute. So glad you'll come back and see us if your work takes you this way again. Try us out for a staycation and see all the leisure activities in the area.

Hope to see you soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We came for a Christmas visit. After arriving, we noticed my boys were catching a cold. My husband and sons had to stay at the hotel the 2 days we came to visit my sister. The staff was very helpful! They allowed us to have a later check-out, extra snacks for the boys, always bringing up fresh towels, and helped us to find an urgent care!
The breakfasts were very good (free after all) and the kind lady who takes care of the buffet is a keeper!
The beds are so relaxing!

Room Tip: Get the tourist brochure when you cross the state line, there is a $59 a night coupon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneydoneyourway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

First off I will start by saying I’m a huge fane and frequent visitor of the Hampton chain. I think Hampton did what they could to repurpose this hotel to their standards. The bed had fresh linens and it was nice and clean. However it was worn and like me…already shows her age a bit. The bathtub was starting to peel (I’ve included a photo) and the edges of the trim on doors and windows were painted over so many times it was beginning to crack. These are little things though and really didn’t take from the overall room. But it’s not a newer property and it shows. I was disappointed in the view from my bedroom window (photo). Who would want to stay in that for any period of time? The staff was nice enough and the breakfast was hearty. I don’t know if I’d stay there again on my next visit. I’d have to think about it.

Room Tip: Check the view becuase mine was not pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiBTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my daughter while attending the IHSAA State Championship game. The hotel was very clean and the front desk staff and housekeeping was very friendly and helpful. We were advised of the pool being closed and this was not a problem at all for us and didn't seem to be a problem with the other guests. If returning to the area I would most definitely stay at this hotel again. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connorysh, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Terre Haute, during your recent visit. We very much appreciate the feedback you provided to us as we pride ourselves in always trying to exceed our guest’s expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were not happy with the fact that the pool was closed. No one had shared this info with us before we got there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwalkernutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connorysh, Manager at Hampton Inn Terre Haute, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
We aplogize for the inconvenience you suffered. The pool closing was an emergency. We hope you return to us in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
#2 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
0.2 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
#8 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
#9 of 18 in Terre Haute
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Terre Haute

Property: Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Address: 3325 U.S. 41 South, Terre Haute, IN 47802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
#5 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Terre Haute is one of the hotels in Terre Haute, Indiana that offers all the special touches to provide you with a great vacation at even better value. Close to I-70 and Hwy 41 South, this hotel is conveniently situated near Indiana State, Rose-Hulman and Saint Mary College. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, an indoor heated pool, 24-hour business facility, fitness center, and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute
Terre Haute Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing