We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old times”
Review of Indiana Theatre

Indiana Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This iconic Terre Haute landmark opened on January 28, 1922, and occupies a special place in American theatre architecture design. The Theatre was built by Terre Haute resident T.W. Barhydt to be a lasting gift to the city of Terre Haute and it was designed by America’s preeminent designer John Eberson to be his first prototype “Atmospheric Theatre” which became his signature style that is recognized to be the gold standard of American theatre design. Throughout its rich history, the Theatre has hosted a wide range of events that have included vaudeville, cinema, performing arts and community celebrations of all types. Through restoration efforts which began in May 2013, the Indiana Theatre’s heritage has been preserved and the Indiana has been reborn as a 1,600 seat full service event center which can host a wide range of community gatherings that include live entertainment, performing arts, cinema, wedding events, and fundraisers. While visiting our proud and historic city, we encourage you to visit this downtown treasure which has served as a vault for Terre Haute memories since 1922.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old times”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I haven't been here sence I was a kid and went to the movies so the date is wrong but that's all it would let me go back. My dad would take us to the movies once a month when we was kids, I always thought the place looked like a castle inside it was really cool I thought

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank italiankitty1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Indiana Theatre has always been a very beautiful place. Growing up I use to go to the movies there. It is a must see. We just went to see Chonda Pieace a christian comedian 11/24/13.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rns52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is incredible, If you don't have an event planned there get yourself invited to one that is or move yours. Better than I every remember it. If you have memories from the past or just want to see fantastic venue that has been around for almost 100 years, you have to go. From Laurel and Hardy and vaudeville acts right on thruough to the movies of the day, this has been THE spot in Terre Haute for entertainment. Its recent renovation is fantastic. Gently preserving the fine artwork and detail while cleverly bringing this place back to todays needs. Simply AWESOME

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Just being inside this beautiful place will bring a smile on your face as well as make you feel like you're in the 1940's. The owner a have never changed a thing except for what needed updated. This is a must see!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great place to visit in Terre Haute. It will take you back to the old opra days and you just can feel the building come to life. There is so much beautiful art work to see in this downtown building! This is a must see!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Indiana Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing