We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night on the road” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Bella Vista, AR
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good night on the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Convenient location as we passed through mid-America. We checked in late (almost 10 pm) and were welcomed by an efficient, pleasant desk clerk. Comfortable beds, the usual amenities but no fridge/microwave in the room, which I think should be standard at this price. Breakfast was fine, typical Holiday Inn Express fare (which is better than most other chains and one of the main reasons we pick HIE's), although we ate toward the end of the serving time and the buffet offerings were running low. Easy access from the highway but (not their fault) limited dining options at this outskirts exit (Subway, McDonald's, Sonic). Very quiet rooms, no hallway noise even though the hotel was full. All in all a good place to stop.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soxgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you had a good night on the road! We hope next time you travel through the area you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    53
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
103
40
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while on business in Terre Haute and it was perfect. The people at the desk were very friendly, the beds were big and comfy, and the rooms were spacious. Hotel is fairly quiet and very clean. The breakfast in the morning has an assortment of food from pancakes, to eggs, to biscuits and gravy and all tasted great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurfette33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We appreciate your comments about the hotel and are pleased to know you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here while visiting family on our way back from Chicago. We arrived very late, and the man at the desk offered my 5 year old daughter a chocolate milk which was very appreciated. We found everything to be nice and clean. All of the staff we encountered were friendly, especially those manning the breakfast area. Breakfast was pretty good too, and I liked that they had milk cartons instead of some mystery carafe of milk. Next time we go to Terre Haute we will try to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We take pride in being friendly and helpful to everyone that walks through the door. It's good to hear all your positive feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

First time staying at this hotel with my family. We only stayed for one night. We found the rooms clean and the bed very comfortable. We had a slight problem with our reservations but the issue was quickly resolved my the front desk clerk. Breakfast was average but free. My only complaint is the extremely small towels by the pool for guests. We enjoyed our stay though and will definately stay at this hotel again if we are in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us! I will make note of our pool towels and we will see about finding a larger option.

We are delighted that we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a great place in Terre Haute, Indiana! The new Holiday Inn Express is clean, beautifully decorated, has a great staff and best of all is pet-friendly. Once or twice a year I visit friends in Terre Haute and will not be staying anywhere else. Good job, Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMM714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I really enjoy when I receive a review such as yours to share with our team! They enjoy hearing that their efforts have not gone unnoticed and take pride in providing exceptional guest service!

We are delighted that we will be your preferred hotel when traveling in the area and cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, OH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is new, bright and welcoming. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and well appointed. Te breakfast was good with a nice variety. Would stay here again if in town or passing through Terre Haute.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdtop41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us! We are overjoyed that you enjoyed your time here, and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. We travel with 2 small dogs and are very thankful for pet friendly hotels. The location of the hotel is very good and there is lots of area around the hotel to walk the dogs. The staff were very friendly and professional. The suite was very nice with a small kitchen area, a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom. The TV and wifi were excellent. Breakfast included very tasty coffee and a good choice of hot and cold selections. We were in Terre Haute for graduation at St. Mary of the Woods College and were there from Friday till Monday. Everything was terrific except that on the Friday night there was no hot water to shower and on Saturday morning there was no water at all to shower. Not good when you are getting ready to attend a Baccalaureate Service at 10 am at the College. We were not given any warning that the water would be turned off and when we called the front desk we were told that the water was turned off to repair the hot water system. It is understandable that these things happen but it would have been nice to get a reduced rate or a free night to make up for the inconvenience. Other than this incident it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you have pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pheteach20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It is true that we are a pet-friendly hotel - we welcome pets as guests, and hope to treat them with the same consideration as we would their families!

I understand that we had a hot water issue during your stay; I want to apologize tremendously for this bother. Unfortunately, this was a situation of Murphy's Law. Our staff did everything they could to get the hot water back up in a timely manner; however, sometimes these things are out of any control of the hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with the exception of this snafu. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
#2 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
#9 of 18 in Terre Haute
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Terre Haute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
Address: 2645 S Joe Fox St, Terre Haute, IN 47803-9318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new favorite Terre Haute Indiana hotel. With easy access to Interstate 70 and minutes from downtown Terre Haute, savvy travelers know the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute hotel’s location is ideal. This vibrant community boasts several fine universities just a short drive from the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute hotel is the newest addition to the Terre Haute region. Minutes from Rose Hulman University, downtown Terre Haute, Interstate 70, U.S. 40 and U.S. 41, the hotel is located within minutes of shopping, major restaurants and entertainment. Don't forget to pack your imagination for a trip to the Children's Museum located within ten minutes of the hotel in downtown Terre Haute, Indiana. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute hotel enjoy the area’s plethora of attractions including the Terre Haute Children’s Museum, Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store, Indiana State University, and Rose Hulman University of Technology. Many major companies are nearby including Sony, Bemis, UPS, Kellogg’s, Regional Hospital, and Union Hospital. Just use the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to check email and stay in touch with family and friends. Grab one of our signature cinnamon rolls at the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar before heading out for the day. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute hotel is in the center of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing