We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ in town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rick's Smokehouse

Rick's Smokehouse
Ranked #18 of 222 Restaurants in Terre Haute
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

In town may be a little modest. I like their BBQ better than most places I've been! Great atmosphere and fantastic food. A little on the pricey side but they use fresh ingredients.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dwanellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    60
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
drnurseth
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Basic Barbeque”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

For done home barbeque this is in an OK place. I do like the things on the wall. Service is fairly fast, but seating in high demand hours is sometimes limited. One goes through a "cafeteria line and then food is delivered to the table." I do like the chicken.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drnurseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Rick's is a great place for BBQ. Whether you like pork, beef, or other meats, Rick is a smoker and a joker. The service and staff are great and the sides are as good as the entrees. If you like taters, make sure you try the tater casserole. And check out the historic items from old Terre Haute in the back rooms.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyinSOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch and the food was very good! The atmosphere was good, the place was clean, and staff friendly. The BBQ was excellent (we all had pulled pork) and I recommend the hashbrown casserole -- it was very good. I definitely would recommend Rick's and will go again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing is that special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Went there with my family and was anticipating some great smoked BBQ meat. What I got was average meat that had a good smoke taste but not as "fall off the bone" as what I was expecting. The sides were fantastic, but too small of portions. I felt that it was over priced for what I got!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PresidentPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Rick's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing