We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in town”
Review of J. Ford's Black Angus - MOVED

J. Ford's Black Angus
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The best in town”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Went here with some locals, they said it was pretty much the best eating establishment in town, they were right!

We had drinks at the bar and ate appetizers, everything was great, loved the steak dish.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank slamminsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe City, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Around.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I love steaks. And I love steakhouses. Independents and good chains like Morton's and Ruth's Chris, I love them all. I believe this steakhouse has the best steak of any independent steakhouse in the state. Their NY strip is outstanding. Their Black-n-Boursin beef tips appetizer is also first rate. As far as rankings go, this place is far better than the Italian place ranked just above it. And I want to cry when I see that Texas Roadhouse is ranked just behind it. I've not gotten my schedule to coincide with Harry and Bud's, so I can't say how Black Angus compares with it. At any rate, Black Angus and Stables are my two favorite Terre Haute restaurants. Black Angus has the better NY strip- but the scene is better at Stables- live dinner music, outstanding bar, livelier setting. If you want a quieter evening, Black Angus is the choice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelEdwards77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Wa.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go for the butternut squash bisque.....but, relish every morsel of everything else on the menu”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to J. Ford's for my brother Richard's birthday. They printed out a menu that said Happy Birthday Richard on it.....That was for starters...then, came the food.....it was so decadent, so good and the service was just perfect. Nothing, however, in my humble opinion could compare to that butternut squash bisque. It made you want to close your eyes and sit in silence just to behold such a beautiful experience for your mouth! Love this place

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peanutTacoma_Wa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, Sc
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is a "find". Exceptional Steak and accompaniments,the strip was perfect! Owners on site and visible project the service attitude that permeates the whole experience. Such a wine selection is rare, especially in such an intimate setting.
In 35 years of travel this is one of a handful that deserves remembering and accolades. Thank you, Jeff and Kelley.
Phil R.
Myrtle Beach, SC

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Loved this place. It is small and intimate. Excellent service and excellent food.we will definitely be back when we come to town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Ford's Black Angus also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing