We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Stables Steakhouse

Stables Steakhouse
Ranked #10 of 226 Restaurants in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good but pricy. I enjoy going to events here like wedding receptions and parties. The upstairs is very nice for it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    28
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The service was very good, we were a large party and the server did a great job of managing all of us. The halibut was excellent and the giant serving of bread pudding was delicious. I took part of it back to my hotel for breakfast the next morning. First time visitor and hopefully I'll get back there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced for poor food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

For the price of the food, one would expect excellent service and wonderful food. Based on my 2 visits here, this has not been the case. The service and atmosphere are OK. In my opinion, the food is not worth the cost. The steak was ok, however the mashed potatoes were extremely dry. The salad was also disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Abayles511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Great Service - Great Steaks”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just imagine calling your favorite restaurant on a Saturday night for reservations at the last minute AND asking for a specific table. The response...I don't like to say 'No." Stables consistently delivers on service as well as offering great food. They were at capacity since many high school seniors were there with their pre-prom dates. Yes, it is that kind of place for very, very special memorable nights. Families. couples, business diners enjoy this restaurant.

The spinach salad is incredible as are the steaks. I haven't tried their other main-course offerings, but our daughter loves the shrimp pasta and creme brulee. The artichoke and spinach appetizer is also very good.

The reason for the name is that the building used to house the horses which were used to pull the beer wagons. Terre Haute used to brew Champaign Velvet beer.

If you are looking for a special place to celebrate or just have an fantastic meal, Stables is always our choice. Just be prepared to pay for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwjwjwjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All in all a cool place”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you enjoy history at all you'll have a pleasant time here. The steak is great, the service good. A bit pricey, but if you want to combine antiquing with a good dinner, this is a great choice--there's an antique mall very close.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Stables Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing