We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option for Terre Haute, a Little Rough on the Edges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Option for Terre Haute, a Little Rough on the Edges”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently for a business trip and overall had a great experience, but there were a few irksome items I encountered due to the hotel being "completely full" as the front desk kept reminding me.

Parking: the parking lot is small, and the desk actually advised me "don't drive anywhere tonight if you want to park in the lot later." They did let me know I could be reimbursed for parking at the Hilton across the street, but it was a little odd.

Cupboard Options: During my stay, the cupboard room where they keep food and drinks for purchase was running low on most items. I saw a sign for a "brown bag breakfast" deal, but none of the items listed were available! Pretty disappointing.

Late Check Out: I'm a rewards member, so the night before I let the front desk know my meeting the next day would be running till 12:30 and was there any chance of a 2 PM late checkout. Unfortunately I was turned down due to, once again, the hotel being full. So I had to pack up my luggage and leave it in my car during my meeting.

Overall, these issues were really not a big deal and entirely due to being "completely full" but it did affect my experience enough that I would be interested in trying the Hilton across the street on my next stay, even if the rate is a little higher.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KatintheHat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize that we could not accommodate the late check out, unfortunately your stay was during a high demand period and a late check for you would have affected guests checking in that night. I do think the parking situation was miscommunicated, there is a parking garage directly behind our sister property that we will pay for parking for guests if our lot is full. We did struggle with inventory in our Cupboard during bad weather periods and I want to apologize for the lack of inventory. Thank for your comments I have shared all of your feedback with our team so we can make the appropriate adjustments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    48
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
53
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We found this little gem after driving 18 hours non-stop. It's like a boutique hotel, and the kitchenette was really convenient to make a late-night dinner for our kids. The room was clean and spacious, and plenty of room for our family. We plan on stopping here on our way back home in a few days, and exploring more of Terre Haute.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Very glad to hear your family had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see again soon when your passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old bridge
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located by ISU, shops and stores. The parking lot was full but parking on street wasn't too bad. The walls are thin so you hear the other guests coming and going. Would also be nice if they had a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwoman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do want to apologize about the noise level and please be assured that we are addressing the situation. Candlewood Suites as a brand do not offer any type of a breakfast, however all of rooms have fully equipped kitchens and our Candlewood Cupboard is stocked with Breakfast items giving the ability to enjoy Breakfast in your Suite. We also have many Restaurants within walking distance that serve Breakfast daily. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It is rare that an accommodation can be the best part of a pleasure trip, but thats just what the Candlewoods Suites in Terre Haute Indiana was. The staff took care of my every need and the room was incredible. They treated me as a special guest, which I think all that were there felt the same. It's location is so much better that by the hubbub and confusion of the crowded interstate. It's downtown placement put me closer to all the places I wanted to visit and all the friends I came to see. It was just a few feet away from historic US-40 and US-41 intersection and a block away from the new Larry Bird statue at Indiana State University. It is next door to the childrens museum if you bring the kids along. If you have to be in Terre Haute for a few days, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Call directly to the hotel and be specific what you want and they will make it happen. Ask for the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel whether I'm in Terre Haute for business or pleasure. The rooms are always clean, the front desk helpful, and the location is great. While the hotel doesn't offer breakfast, Square Donuts is a short walk two blocks east. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pdsmith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Feedback from our guest's is very important to us. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A downtown hotel in a very friendly consumer environment. Walking to Indiana Sate games at the Hulman center or just visiting the area, you can park and not have to use your car till you leave. Only stayed for a night but could have stayed for a week.

Room Tip: Can use the pool and spa across the street at Hilton. Shared amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler35691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our Guests reviews are very important us. So glad you were able to enjoy downtown and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

First time visit to this remodeled building in downtown Terre Haute. Check in was easy, room was outstanding. Very clean room, nice amenities. All staff friendly and professional. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are usually quieter. Always make reservations directly with the facility, not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
2.3 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Terre Haute
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
#6 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Property: Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Address: 721 Wabash Ave, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Terre Haute, Indiana Candlewood Suites Hotel Our downtown Terre Haute extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites, is conveniently located in west Indiana near major highways such as I-70, US Highways 40, 41 and 150. The hotel is situated six miles from Terre Haute International Airport (HUF). While staying at our all suites hotel in Terre Haute, leisure travelers can enjoy many attractions close to our hotel. Terre Haute offers many art collections and museums, including the Sheldon Swope Art Museum, the Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store and the nearby Community Theatre. For a day of fun for the entire family, visit Bogey's Family Fun Center, Deming Park or Inland Aquatics. Other Terre Haute attractions include Fore Seasons Golf Complex and Hulman Links Golf Course. This extended stay hotel in Terre Haute offers business travelers a convenient location near local businesses and corporations. Clabber Girl, Union Hospital, Bemis, Novelis, AET Films and Indiana State University are all within 15 miles of our Terre Haute accommodations. Our Terre Haute hotel offers many premium amenities that give the feeling of home, including complimentary, high-speed Internet access, an on-site convenience store, a business center, fitness center and free laundry services. End your search for the perfect extended stay hotel in Terre Haute and book your reservations with us today at the Candlewood Suites in downtown Terre Haute, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Candlewood Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing