We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but No Frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel while attending the Covered Bridge Festival. It was very modern, clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very large and comfortable and the location downtown Terre Haute was superb for walking to nearby restaurants, bars and shopping. While the price was equivalent to others in the area, we did find it "no frills" -- no housekeeping, no comp breakfast, minimal toiletries. We actually did not mind as we are pretty low maintenance ourselves. They did offer a "cupboard" where you could buy snacky type foods for a minimal price and did have complimentary coffee. Our only complaint was the noise level from the train traffic through the night. The train tracks were only a short distance away and the trains blew their whistles for several minutes approaching and departing the downtown area. This noise might be minimized by requesting an interior or west side room. Unfortunately we sacrificed a good night's sleep for a nice view of downtown. It was nice to have a great bed tho!!!

Room Tip: Request an interior room to minimize train and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Linda A,

Thank you for your review. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We have sent you a private message to with additional information.

Regards,

Brenda Johnson
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 281 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a baseball tournament-this hotel was a great value and close to campus fields. Front desk staff was very helpful and plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby. Only negative was no pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy12973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Amy,
Thanks for sharing your experience, we are happy to hear you had a great stay. We hope to see you again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

First of all the staff at the hotel was awesome. Zach, Matt (thanks for hooking up my lap top) and Emily are great at there jobs, but they are also good people. That is a hard combination to find. They were always there to help no matter what you might need or just to say hello or good morning. Thanks guys. Much appreciated. The hotel was updated, clean from top to bottom. The location was great, easily accessible to restaurants, shopping ect... Working out of town is not always a very pleasurable experience and then there is the Candlewood Suites in Terra Haute. If your working, visiting or just passing thru this is the place to stay. Thanks again for everything. I wish you all nothing but the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we strive to treat all of our guest like family and make them feel at home as best we kind. We hope to see you agian if your ever in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I must say Emily at the front desk was unbelievable and so was zack he took my Ipad an got me on the wifi for A stupid customer like my self everyone was just so helpful I don't find thjis any more any where We stayed there from 7/25to8/6 and even the mant/ reaipair man know me I was just thrilled the whole way and Emily front desk started our relationship on the phone days before we arrived and set the tone for the whole time spent there she went above and beyond several times because we seemed to have problems with door cards all the time and even this could not stop our feeling that the staff most zack and Emily were so helpful should be recognized some how we have family there so yes we WILL Return thanks for a great stay 117 room #

Room Tip: 117 was close to the door we had the dog and it was handicap as one of us is disabled and this worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for Sharing your experience. We have a great location, a great facility, but our people are definitely the difference! We so happy you had a good experience and we hope to see you again if your ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here July 24-25 '13, then in Reading Pennsylvania July 29-30 '13 I thought it was just one of those cheap priced cheap looking hotel. But when we arrived, we were so surprise to see huge rooms with fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, amazing staff!! My husband and I was so pleased with Candlewood Suites that this will be our place to stay from now on, on our future travels, 2 thumbs up Candlewood!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LReth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience, our guests reviews are the fuel that drives our staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently met friends here for a weekend. None of us had ever been to Terre Haute before. Candlewood Suites is in a beautiful historic building - the rooms are updated, clean, comfortable and lovely in every way. The staff was superb! There are a number of cute little shops close by (a great yarn store, a shoe store having a sale!) as well as a choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. We toured the Clabber Girl museum (about 2 blocks away) and had an incredible lunch at the Bake Shop there. Highly recommend! We had a great time - thanks Candlewood Suites Terre Haute!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Downtown Terre Haute. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I recently was in Terre Haute for an unexpected stay and ended up choosing the Candlewood Suites on a whim. I travel all over the world and one thing I have come to believe is that the people make the place. My mind was not changed by my recent stay. It was an esthetically pleasing place, yet it seemed like my treatment overshadowed everything else. They wet able to accommodate all of my needs without seminar to be one bit hassled or annoyed. I had a few issues with my credit card, luckily Emily one of the workers, was patient and knowledgable enough to help me through m problem. For this treatment I figured the least I could was share my experience with this post.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmoss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank for sharing your experience, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#2 of 19 in Terre Haute
638 reviews
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 19 in Terre Haute
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Terre Haute
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
#9 of 19 in Terre Haute
28 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Terre Haute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Address: 721 Wabash Ave, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range: $93 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Terre Haute, Indiana Candlewood Suites Hotel Our downtown Terre Haute extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites, is conveniently located in west Indiana near major highways such as I-70, US Highways 40, 41 and 150. The hotel is situated six miles from Terre Haute International Airport (HUF). While staying at our all suites hotel in Terre Haute, leisure travelers can enjoy many attractions close to our hotel. Terre Haute offers many art collections and museums, including the Sheldon Swope Art Museum, the Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store and the nearby Community Theatre. For a day of fun for the entire family, visit Bogey's Family Fun Center, Deming Park or Inland Aquatics. Other Terre Haute attractions include Fore Seasons Golf Complex and Hulman Links Golf Course. This extended stay hotel in Terre Haute offers business travelers a convenient location near local businesses and corporations. Clabber Girl, Union Hospital, Bemis, Novelis, AET Films and Indiana State University are all within 15 miles of our Terre Haute accommodations. Our Terre Haute hotel offers many premium amenities that give the feeling of home, including complimentary, high-speed Internet access, an on-site convenience store, a business center, fitness center and free laundry services. End your search for the perfect extended stay hotel in Terre Haute and book your reservations with us today at the Candlewood Suites in downtown Terre Haute, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing