We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown Terre Haute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a beautiful new hotel in downtown Terre Haute located near the bar/night life scene and local restaurants. Each time we have stayed at this hotel, it's only been for a night, but we have had no complaints. The price per night is great and it is in a good location. I also love that it is in a historic building and has incorporated some elements of the buildings past.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Abayles511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. Guest reviews are the fuel that makes the Candlewood Team work. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 276 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had a one night stay here so I could attend my sister's college graduation. It is a one block walk to Indiana State University's Hulman Center. The front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms all have kitchens in them with full sized refrigerators to boot! The rooms are larger than most hotel rooms and the beds were very comfortable. Since it is located in the heart of downtown Terre Haute there are decent selections of pubs, coffee shops, restaurants, etc. within walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel if you have children because of the kitchens within the rooms (fed kids = happy parents) and the convenience of the Terre Haute Children's Museum right next door.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your opinion matters to us greatly and guest reviews are the fuel that makes our team strive to be even better. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed at hand down top 3. The front desk staff where very nice. The parking lot was clean and well lit. The hotel itself was well kept and super clean. My room was SPOTLESS!! Out of all the hotels I have stayed in this one is in the top 2 of clean rooms. The room itself was very large, the wifi worked great, and the room has a full kitchenette. As another reviewer said eating options at night in the downtown area are very limited so if your coming in at night you might want to grab something before arrival. The hotel has a pantry that was stocked with snacks that you can purchase. The owner and manager should be proud of this place. I wish all hotels and motels where this well kept.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, I will definitely be passing the message to my housekeeping staff. They strive to be the best around and our guest reviews are very important to them. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good comfortable stay. If you arrive late and on a Sunday evening you might want to drive somewhere to eat, downtown location on a Sunday evening had few options to walk & eat; but would not stop me from booking here in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor rooms away from elevator. Rooms are oddly numbered had to look for my room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for the review, guest feedback is very important to us. We hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife joined me on a business trip. We enjoyed the hotel and the surrounding community so much we extended our stay for one additional day. The front desk staff were profesisonal and friendly, and provided many great ideas for places to eat and other entertainment.

Room Tip: If you want a view of any type then ask for a room on the North or South face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, guest reviews are the fuel that keeps our staff striving to be the best we can. So glad you had an opportuntiy to unwind and enjoy Downtown Terre Haute. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent the weekend here while visiting our son at Rose Hulman. The rooms were HUGE and very clean. This historic building had 10-12 foot ceilings in the rooms. Very cool! The front desk staff was excellent, especially Emily. They made us feel welcome and treated the hotel as though it was their own. The only negative we had during our stay was that our room faced Wabash Ave. There was a party at a nearby bar and we could hear people coming and going through most of the night. Next time we will request a room near the rear of the building to avoid this. Overall, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank You for kind review, we take pride in being a "home away from home" to our RHIT parents. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family of five stayed at the Candlewood in downtown Terre Haute. We had the option of cooking in or visting any of the downtown restaurants. We were pleasantly suprised at the history of the hotel. The staff (from the housekeeper to managment) treated us as their personal guests. Overall great experience at the Candlewood. We will stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing what we feel is one the best things about Downtown Terre Haute. Our Guest's feedback is very important to us! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 19 in Terre Haute
712 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 19 in Terre Haute
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 19 in Terre Haute
402 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Terre Haute
2.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
#6 of 19 in Terre Haute
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Address: 721 Wabash Ave, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range: $95 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Terre Haute, Indiana Candlewood Suites Hotel Our downtown Terre Haute extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites, is conveniently located in west Indiana near major highways such as I-70, US Highways 40, 41 and 150. The hotel is situated six miles from Terre Haute International Airport (HUF). While staying at our all suites hotel in Terre Haute, leisure travelers can enjoy many attractions close to our hotel. Terre Haute offers many art collections and museums, including the Sheldon Swope Art Museum, the Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store and the nearby Community Theatre. For a day of fun for the entire family, visit Bogey's Family Fun Center, Deming Park or Inland Aquatics. Other Terre Haute attractions include Fore Seasons Golf Complex and Hulman Links Golf Course. This extended stay hotel in Terre Haute offers business travelers a convenient location near local businesses and corporations. Clabber Girl, Union Hospital, Bemis, Novelis, AET Films and Indiana State University are all within 15 miles of our Terre Haute accommodations. Our Terre Haute hotel offers many premium amenities that give the feeling of home, including complimentary, high-speed Internet access, an on-site convenience store, a business center, fitness center and free laundry services. End your search for the perfect extended stay hotel in Terre Haute and book your reservations with us today at the Candlewood Suites in downtown Terre Haute, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing