We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice downtown hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a career fair at nearby Indiana State University. Arrived late, had no problems checking in, and used none of the facilities. Room was nice size, with nice furnishings. Very tall ceilings as it's an old building, which made the room feel even bigger. Had two double beds, and I really prefer queens, but I was solo, so no worries. The lack of breakfast is kind of a pain, and the only coffee was the coffee maker in the room. I never use those as you have no idea whether it is clean or not. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illiniwek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Candlewood Suites, Terre Haute. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of this property with its unique historical structure. The property was originally built 1912, and was renovated and converted to a hotel in 2008. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 284 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is directly across from the Hilton Garden Inn where I prefer to stay but Candlewood was half the price......knowing the experience I had I should have paid the extra $100. Candlewood is a clean/nice hotel. Check in was easy. Quick and friendly staff. However, the noise in the hallways didnt quit until around 3:30 AM!!!

Needless to say I could have stayed on ISU campus in my college students dorm and probably had slept better or the same.

Candlewood has leased out some of there rooms to the ISU campus to due over crowding......so we had the late night party goer's up and down the halls giggling, talking and drinking.

You can try this location if you wish....just maybe ask for a floor NOT occupied by college kids.

I didnt see a restaurant or even a place to have a drink to watch football.....oh well Hilton next time.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a floor not occupied by resident college students.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabinfever2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

I'm terribly sorry for the incovenience during you stay. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention, we have made adjustments to ensure every guest has a great stay at the Candlewood. The Candlewood Suites of Terre Haute does not act as overflow housing for any School or University at this time. Again I'm terribly sorry for the problem you experienced during your stay and thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things even better at the Candlewood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We in town and had booked a room at the hotel to use as a hospitality suite for our employees and customers in conjunction with a nearby Bluesfest. During early afternoon of the event I was notified that due to mechanical issues our room would not be available. We were offered another room and the use of their conference room which worked out better than we had planned. Emily handled the whole situation in a very pleasant and professional manner.

Although we have not stayed there we have several travelers a year through here and we route them all to Candlewood and they come away impressed. Now I can see why. Candlewood has done a fantastic job with the old Tribune Building and the hospitality is above and beyond. A great place to park the car and stay in downtown Terre Haute as there is a lot to do and nothing is much more than a five minute walk. Candlewood and great Hoosier hsopitality are right in the middle.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south east might be a little more quiet and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I do apologize for the initial inconvenience, but I'm happy to hear Emily rose to the occasion. We pride ourselves in doing whatever it takes to meet the needs of Guests. Our Historic Building and Central location is a win win for anyone visiting Terre Haute and I'm very happy you were able to enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Rooms were nice and clean and staff was courteous and helpful. General manager is down to earth and willing to help out in anyway to make your stay more enjoyable. Staff cleans your room once a week which I prefer rather then dealing with them daily. Lot of college kids here, but none were ever loud enough to hear in our room.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your Review, we strive to make make every guests experience as good as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is easily the best hotel in town. Between the location, cleanliness, customer service, and getting to know the new manager......I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. I recommend staying here. I have just about everyone I know that travels this area about my experience and I am even trying to make this our businesses place to stay while any of us are in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bault23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for spreading the word about our property. We pride ourselves in being a home away from home for business travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Incredibly clean rooms, the cookouts with Jessi and Tonya were a lot of fun and they made our stay very enjoyable. Will be back again for business. Jessi was very hospitable and my stay was perfect. Will be back anAytime in town on business for primecoat. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSnow475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. So glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay, hope you trip went just as well. Currently there are over 300 Candlewood Suites in the US, so hopefully you'll find one along the way on your next trip. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been staying here for months and the fun atmosphere made the stay worth every penny. Tanya and Jessie made the weekly cookouts fun our rooms were always well maintained. We have more work in the area and this is where we will stay. Tanya and Jessie and all their staff really took care of everybody. I give this place 5 stars in my book and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flxnuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us. We really enjoy the weekly cookouts too - it is such fun to meet wonderful guests such as yourself. We are so pleased that you were happy with your accomodations and that you will be coming back. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 19 in Terre Haute
737 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#2 of 19 in Terre Haute
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
#9 of 19 in Terre Haute
32 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Terre Haute
2.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
#6 of 19 in Terre Haute
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Address: 721 Wabash Ave, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
#1 Best Value Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range: $93 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Terre Haute, Indiana Candlewood Suites Hotel Our downtown Terre Haute extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites, is conveniently located in west Indiana near major highways such as I-70, US Highways 40, 41 and 150. The hotel is situated six miles from Terre Haute International Airport (HUF). While staying at our all suites hotel in Terre Haute, leisure travelers can enjoy many attractions close to our hotel. Terre Haute offers many art collections and museums, including the Sheldon Swope Art Museum, the Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store and the nearby Community Theatre. For a day of fun for the entire family, visit Bogey's Family Fun Center, Deming Park or Inland Aquatics. Other Terre Haute attractions include Fore Seasons Golf Complex and Hulman Links Golf Course. This extended stay hotel in Terre Haute offers business travelers a convenient location near local businesses and corporations. Clabber Girl, Union Hospital, Bemis, Novelis, AET Films and Indiana State University are all within 15 miles of our Terre Haute accommodations. Our Terre Haute hotel offers many premium amenities that give the feeling of home, including complimentary, high-speed Internet access, an on-site convenience store, a business center, fitness center and free laundry services. End your search for the perfect extended stay hotel in Terre Haute and book your reservations with us today at the Candlewood Suites in downtown Terre Haute, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing