We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been staying here for months and the fun atmosphere made the stay worth every penny. Tanya and Jessie made the weekly cookouts fun our rooms were always well maintained. We have more work in the area and this is where we will stay. Tanya and Jessie and all their staff really took care of everybody. I give this place 5 stars in my book and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flxnuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us. We really enjoy the weekly cookouts too - it is such fun to meet wonderful guests such as yourself. We are so pleased that you were happy with your accomodations and that you will be coming back. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

The staff accommodated my family in two instances. 1) Kudos to Tonya Manbeck...I left my contact solution and Tonya Manbeck, Gen Mgr., was nice enough to go purchase me some at a nearby Walgreens and bring it to my room at 10 p.m. 2) Emily, Mallory at front desk & Sharon (housekeeping) helped my family to feel comfortable due to us having to change rooms the next day. They kept our luggage and took it to the new room and had the new room cleaned expedited. Thanks to all of you for a great weekend and family reunion.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I've stayed at Candlewoods (3) three times in the past six weeks, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT CARMEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. It was truly a pleasure to meet you and your family. The entire team thanks you for your kind words and we sincerely hope to see you at the next family reunion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have lived out of state for the last 24 years so I decided to stay downtown when planning a family vacation week with relatives.

The former Tribune Star building Candlewood Suits (conversion) helped preserve some of the downtown "look" and confirmed my choice. The hotel is well maintained with a great staff and central to local activities such as the "new" ISU bookstore and "Gerharts Bierstube".

Our day trips included Evansville and Bloomington as well as family activities south of town. The new eastern bypass (close to the hotel) and 241 connector saves a lot of time going North and South.

My son and his girlfriend drove up from Savannah,Ga and appreciated the pet policy and pet walking area provided by the hotel. Guests joined us from Indianapolis and Crawfordsville and local friends would gather at the Boo's Crossroads & Cafe for relaxed visiting.

My wife and I walked the downtown shops and peaked into the beautiful "Indiana Theater" remembering the shows we saw as kids there. I even got a haircut next door for about the cost of a gallon of gas here in "California".

Thanks to GM Tonya and her staff.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage try to get close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

It was a pleasure having your family (and their pets) with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed our historic building and wonderful downtown location. Your kind words about our staff mean so much - thank you! Guests like you truly make our job a joy - come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Candlewood Suites is in a great location north of town close to everything. The room was spotless and decorated nicely. You didn't feel like you needed to clean anything when you walked in and it was really quiet. I usually don't sleep well in hotels but slept like a rock. Staff was super friendly and helpful so the overall stay was superb.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. Out team takes great pride in providing clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service. Comments from valued guests, such as yourself, are the most important tool of reinforcement that our hard work is noticed and appreciated - thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Candlewood while in Terre Haute on business. I have nothing but great things to say about the hotel and its staff. Everyone was very knowledgeable and friendly. I had the pleasure of meeting the GM Tonya and after speaking with her I knew that she had a genuine concern for her customers to be completely satisfied with their stay. I will without a doubt be staying here everytime I come through Terre Haute and would reccommend anyone to do the same.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDB8604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband has been traveling to Terre Haute for overnight business trips lately, and last week we chose to stay at the Candlewood Suites; the week before we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn across the street (for $40 more). I can honestly say that there was NO DIFFERENCE in quality between the two hotels. The Candlewood has the advantage of having in suite kitchenettes, with a full size fridge, two burner stove, microwave and sink. As an added plus, on Tuesday evenings in the summer, there is a free cookout on the gazebo out back! The service from the front desk was top notch, the cookout a really nice social hour where we met Jesse and Tanya, (two incredible members of the Candlewood team who went out of their way to make sure we were completely satisfied) and the rooms very cozy. Overall, we had a great experience! We will definitely be staying there every trip from now on!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanandBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Downtown. Our team takes great pride in providing outstanding customer service and work hard to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Comments from our valued guests are the most important tool of reinforcement that the teams' efforts are noticed and appreciated. Jessi and I so enjoyed meeting you and your husband and look forward to your next visit. We will be cooking out every Tuesday during the summer - hope to see you there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This pleasant hotel is in an updated old building in a good location. Nice kitchenette. A few minor issues:
1. When arriving at night, desk clerk was unable to provide good directions to the hotel from the freeway. These should be written down for clerk to provide to guests.
2. Queen bed in room was weirdly placed, probably due to unusual shape of room Access to bed was from one side only. Not serious, but not convenient for a couple.
3. No breakfast provided. They offered a 10% discount at Hilton across the street, which has same owners. Why not provide a free breakfast across the street for guests?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful downtown location and the historic nature of our building. I apologize that a front desk attendant was not able to answer your question. Your suggestion regarding directions has been implemented and all future travelers thank you! As a brand standard, Candlewood Suites does not prepare a continental breakfast, but I hope that you were able to enjoy, in your spacious, fully equipped kitchen, the large selection of breakfast items from our Cupboard. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Terre Haute.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 19 in Terre Haute
721 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 19 in Terre Haute
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 19 in Terre Haute
403 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Terre Haute
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
#8 of 19 in Terre Haute
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Address: 721 Wabash Ave, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Terre Haute
#1 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range: $95 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Terre Haute, Indiana Candlewood Suites Hotel Our downtown Terre Haute extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites, is conveniently located in west Indiana near major highways such as I-70, US Highways 40, 41 and 150. The hotel is situated six miles from Terre Haute International Airport (HUF). While staying at our all suites hotel in Terre Haute, leisure travelers can enjoy many attractions close to our hotel. Terre Haute offers many art collections and museums, including the Sheldon Swope Art Museum, the Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store and the nearby Community Theatre. For a day of fun for the entire family, visit Bogey's Family Fun Center, Deming Park or Inland Aquatics. Other Terre Haute attractions include Fore Seasons Golf Complex and Hulman Links Golf Course. This extended stay hotel in Terre Haute offers business travelers a convenient location near local businesses and corporations. Clabber Girl, Union Hospital, Bemis, Novelis, AET Films and Indiana State University are all within 15 miles of our Terre Haute accommodations. Our Terre Haute hotel offers many premium amenities that give the feeling of home, including complimentary, high-speed Internet access, an on-site convenience store, a business center, fitness center and free laundry services. End your search for the perfect extended stay hotel in Terre Haute and book your reservations with us today at the Candlewood Suites in downtown Terre Haute, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing