We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY HERE.”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Terre Haute for business purposes. They offered a "deal" on their suite if you paid in advance. I did. I regret it. The hotel is filled with ISU overflow students and that's where this place must earn it's dough, from ISU. It's not the students that was the problem. I was paying for hotel services and received dormitory services. They did not clean the room on a daily basis, only weekly (or that's what I imagine since I certainly never saw a cleaning person in my room). If you wished for clean linen you had to get it yourself. The linen itself was not even teri cloth, but a poor quality hospital-like smallish cloth. There was not even a complimentary apple or doughnut to be had in the morning, let alone a continental breakfast these prices demanded in the least. Again I was paying hotel service prices and felt I had been put in a youth hostelry. It gets one star from me because it was within walking distance of my work. There' a Hilton Garden Inn across the street. Check that out before attempting anything here. As a dorm it's ok, as a hotel, it sucks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
I am very sorry that the brand standards and policies of Candlewood Suites were not clearly communicated to you. We are an extended stay hotel, and as such, rooms are scheduled for a weekly cleaning. We offer full kitchens, free laundry, and reduced prices to ensure the satisfaction of our guests and I sincerely regret the lack of communication that resulted in your displeasure. I would love the opportunity to apologize personally and hope that you will contact me so that we can resolve the situation to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    52
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
84
55
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I recently stayed at the Candlewood Suites and was very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious. The location was excellent - right downtown, within walking distance to restaurants and bars. Parking is free right behind the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgertraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a great hotel. With a child in college in Terre Haute and living 9 hours away, we are there several times a year. The location is great--in the middle of downtown with a neat little coffee shop nearby and a block away from the downtown farmer's market in the summer. I love the old building--and in the back lobby they have a desk with articles about the hotel from years gone by when it was a newspaper building. The employees are very pleasant and the rooms are comfortable. This is always our first choice when in Terre Haute!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senglish0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

If there is a happening place in Terre Haute, then this hotel is right in the middle of it. Square in the middle of downtown makes for a much better stay than the hotels that are out on the highway. Authentic non-chain cuisine restaurants, coffee shops, and bars all within a short walking distance. Free washer and dryer available. The old renovated bank building made the hotel much more fun and unique. Staff was excellent, especially the front dest folks. If Terre Haute is your destination, this place is the best available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephDaGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I had to bring my daughter to orientation at Indiana State so we stayed here at Candlewood so that we could take advantage of the University's discounted rates.

I arrived at 2 PM and I was EXTREMELY grateful there was a room ready as I had driven 12 hours from MD. The staff was friendly. I think the clerk forgot there was a CVS and a Dollar General 3 blocks behind the hotel before she directed me 6 blocks down Wabash Street to the Walgreens.

That aside, the room was very clean, the beds were extremely comfortable and the whole room felt like a home away from home. It was extremely convenient to the school. There was, what I thought was adequate parking behind the building.
The room was equipped with coffee maker, 2-burner stove-top, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, DVD player, and flat screen TV. They also will provide you with a toaster oven if you ask at the desk. They also have movies you can watch. It's not a vast library of movies, but they're FREE and you don't have to leave the hotel. (There's no Redbox at the CVS but there's one at that Walgreens). The towels were extra large and plush - just a little rough. I wish they had used more fabric softener.

Overall, I really like the hotel. There's a pizza place next door, a couple of pubs/dive bars, and a bowling alley all within a few block radius of the hotel. They're not flashy places, but they're there.

TIP: If you are doing work, call ahead and make sure the printer is working. Otherwise, you may have to go across the street to the Hilton Garden Inn. I think Terre Haute is a black hole for printers.

The pros greatly outweigh the few cons with this hotel. I defintely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2011

You wouldn't generally put these two together but the title couldn't be more accurate. This property was an old newspaper printing press. They flawlessly renovated the establishment into the hotel it is today. The architecture it intricate and classical. The rooms are large and unique.

The staff was incredibly attentive to my families needs. I used the workout room which was very large and housed every piece of equipment I needed.

The location is right in the heart of downtown terre haute, close to shops and dining!

I can't wait to come back to Terre Haute and stay at the Candlewood suites!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olive9586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

This hotel is new however it has an old charm since it is located in a renovated bank building. As a result it still has the old building charm but with very modern amenities. I stayed there for a night in Decemeber and i was given an upgrade to a suite. The room had a full kitchen with a dining table that could seat 8 people, a separate very large living room and a nice size bedroom. It is right in the middle of downtown, so as others have stated, everything is withing walking distance. I higly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docr775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 18 in Terre Haute
693 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 18 in Terre Haute
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 18 in Terre Haute
586 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
#6 of 18 in Terre Haute
206 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
#8 of 18 in Terre Haute
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Property: Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Address: 721 Wabash Ave, Terre Haute, IN 47807-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Terre Haute, Indiana Candlewood Suites Hotel Our downtown Terre Haute extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites, is conveniently located in west Indiana near major highways such as I-70, US Highways 40, 41 and 150. The hotel is situated six miles from Terre Haute International Airport (HUF). While staying at our all suites hotel in Terre Haute, leisure travelers can enjoy many attractions close to our hotel. Terre Haute offers many art collections and museums, including the Sheldon Swope Art Museum, the Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store and the nearby Community Theatre. For a day of fun for the entire family, visit Bogey's Family Fun Center, Deming Park or Inland Aquatics. Other Terre Haute attractions include Fore Seasons Golf Complex and Hulman Links Golf Course. This extended stay hotel in Terre Haute offers business travelers a convenient location near local businesses and corporations. Clabber Girl, Union Hospital, Bemis, Novelis, AET Films and Indiana State University are all within 15 miles of our Terre Haute accommodations. Our Terre Haute hotel offers many premium amenities that give the feeling of home, including complimentary, high-speed Internet access, an on-site convenience store, a business center, fitness center and free laundry services. End your search for the perfect extended stay hotel in Terre Haute and book your reservations with us today at the Candlewood Suites in downtown Terre Haute, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing