We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who woulda thought”
Review of Umi Grill

Umi Grill
Ranked #7 of 226 Restaurants in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Who woulda thought”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Some of the best sushi we have had is cut in Terre Haute, IN. Being from Massachusetts, we are certain that the best sushi is found near the ocean. Wrong! Umi Grill rivals the best on either coast. Their bento boxes are good, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    19
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“4 Star quality just 1 mile from I-70”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We just wanted a quick dinner as we travelled along I-70. We passed the usual suspects and were ready to turn around when we found Umi Grill. What a pleasant surprise. On this Fri night we had great service, food, atmosphere and value. I loved my healthy and flavorful ceviche and my husband's tempura and Udon noodles were also excellent. Hope to return soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moonstream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Indiana - hands down!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The sushi chefs take great pride in ordering ENTIRE fish and cutting it themselves. The staff, each of the 6 times we've been there in the past year, has been best of any restaurant we've been. They take great pride in explaining what tastes are in the rolls and if you aren't familiar with some of them, they will happily help find you one you are sure to be happy with. The prices are extremely reasonable and EVERY time we've been, we can't stop talking about the great food from start to finish! Don't miss Umi Grill!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJodiIndianaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a great dinner on a Friday night with friends. Restaurant was busy, but the service was great. Good variety of rolls on the menu, tasted great. Definitely will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kenan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Crab/lobster cakes are wonderful! Bento box with salmon is great, and a good value. Will definitely go back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uzait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Umi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing