We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!”

The Pier & Back Porch
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mirroring the Oakwood Resort's relaxing, lake-life ambiance with a casual-elegance, The Pier is a stylish choice for a business breakfast or lunch, a romantic dinner or an evening of out with friends. The Pier is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with creative daily specialties offered to compliment the full menu. Private parties are welcome, although some restrictions may apply based on party size.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“WOW!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

An excellent restaurant/bar on Lake Wawasee. The beauty and atmosphere are updated and tasteful throughout the hotel and dining areas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    12
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good start, but room for improvement!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Ate here while we stayed at the resort. Saturday buffet breakfast was just so-so. Items in chafing dishes were not hot, barely warm. Service was slow. Ate a late lunch in the bar area. We had beers and split a flatbread pizza. Pizza was tasty, but again only warm. (At least I didn't have to worry about burning my mouth on the cheese!). Had a late dinner in the bar. I ordered the garlic shrimp appetizer and Cesar salad; husband ordered burger and spinach salad. This time food temp was good. Bar was packed with locals as resort had minimal patrons. Two man band played music from '70s & '80s. Waiter/bartender, Teddie, was GREAT!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara C, General Manager at The Pier & Back Porch, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hello,
My name is Tara Clancy and I am the new General Manager of The Pier at Oakwood Resort. I want to apologize for your recent trip to the restaurant. I understand that when you come out to eat, you want hot food. Not warm, hot! I want to assure you that we are working hard to make improvements so that our guests can come to The Pier and make it their favorite place to eat, drink, relax, and be with friends! I would like to invite you back in to experience our new menu and our newly trained staff. If you ever have any issues or concerns moving forward, please do not hesitate to ask for me. I would love to meet you face to face! Thank you for your feedback and I hope you enjoy yourself on the lake this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at thePier & Back Porch at Oakwood”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had reservations. There was one other party in the room and we had to wait
at least 10 min for the table. They brought water to the table and some of the glasses didn't have ice. When the waitress came and gave the specials she gave us time to choose. we all ordered . She came back out after awhile and told the people that ordered a pasta dish that was supposed to have angel hair pasta that they didn't have it and would pene pasta be ok. Since we were the first to order that dish it seemed strange that the special for the day did not have the correct pasta. We ordered salads which took quite awhile to get and then after the salads were served it was just a short while when the main dishes were served not giving us time for the salad to be eaten. The iced tea was instant tea just made by the glass. This was our first experience at this restaurant and were not impressed with the whole experience. The food however did taste good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Indiana
2 reviews
“Excellent service and food!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Have eaten at the restaurant several times now and very impressed with the food and service. The service when they first opened was a little sketchy the first time we went there but has quickly improved. And very excited to learn the acoustics issue is soon to be addressed.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharona1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not eat at the restaurant-its a waste of money.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ate at the restaurant on 10/4 for dinner. The host had a bad attitude, she was flat out rude. We were sat at a nice table by the bar. The windows were lovely. It was extememly hot. I should not sweat while sitting down INSIDE. The flies and nats were horrific. A nice young man brought us water but it had no ice. Our server was Cierra. She greeted us properly, told us about the specials, and when asked about the menu quickly responded with a great detailed response. She recommended the Oyster Bay Chardonnay which had great flavor. The salads were not chilled like a salad should be served. The entrées were terrible. Over cooked, greasy walleye. Pasta was way to heavy. Burgers were dry and had no flavor. Also, that lemon seasoning on the fries were terrible. We did not order desert. After eating there we understand why we were one of 6 tables at 730pm on a Friday night. We also noticed that not once did we see a manager throughout dinner service.

Overall, service was good, food was terrible, they were over staffed, poor (if any) management and we will not be back until we hear of tremendous improvements.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier & Back Porch also viewed

 

Been to The Pier & Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing