We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already booked our next stay!”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent a Saturday night here for our 17th wedding anniversary celebration and couldn't have been more pleased. The property is beautiful. The view from our room was gorgeous. And, though it was a little chilly outside, inside was so warm & inviting. The food was delicious. Every staff member we met was friendly, professional, and seemed genuinely engaged in their jobs. We didn't book early enough to take advantage of one of the packages offered but hope not to make that mistake next time! The room was sparkling clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable. But, we were most amazed by how quiet and peaceful it was. The hotel was full but we felt very secluded in our room.

Room Tip: Book a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankie2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We're all so very glad that you had a wonderful time here at the Oakwood Resort. You've stated that you had already booked your next stay with us. When might that be? We could help you schedule a package or even set up an appointment for you at our salon JThree. Please give us a call and we will do our best to make your next stay even more memorable at the Oakwood Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 284 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Even though my husband and I (and dog) were only there for two days--it was fantastic and memorable. The staff (Emily and Steve to highlight) were amazing as was the entire staff. The resort was beautiful, food was excellent, setting superb and the food was fantastic.
We have a large white german shepherd and the resort is pet friendly--dogs of any size! Pono loved it and the staff loved him and spoiled him with attention. We didn't want to leave...well done!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are new! But, if you have a dog--we were in #120--which was beautiful, a bit of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We're glad to hear that you had a wonderful time! Emily and Steve were both flattered by your wonderful comments. We all loved Pono and hope that you all can visit again soon so we can spoil him with even more attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Beautiful view of lake and the ice fishermen.....Very clean room......Pleasant management. Would come here again. Quite peaceful and quiet. Do be sure to request a lake view room. Makes all the difference.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We're glad that you got to enjoy life on Lake Wawasee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Held a conference here for 180 college students for the whole weekend, a conference we hold twice a year for my organization. All attendees agreed this had been the best venue our conference had been held at ever. Space and rooms was beyond expectations, food had been the best of all our conferences, staff was more helpful than imagined; overall, simply an incredible conference experience.

Room Tip: You may want to ask about the type of room first, they are each very unique and there's a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Maryam,

We're glad you had a wonderful experience with us! We loved having your College stay with us and hope to see you all next year! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your experience with us be the best!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Came across this hotel via Groupon. Newly remodeled, this hotel has fine finishes with a luxurious feel but without the high prices (at least in February). Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room helped us to shake away our winter blues. Check-in was quick and friendly. This hotel is perfect for couples. The restaurant was nice but we choose to eat in the bar. The service was a little slow but they offer the same menu as the restaurant and they had live music. our meal was very good and reasonably priced. The lobby has an old grand hotel feel to. I plan to return again in the fall to see how it looks with out the snow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

David,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad to hear that you had a great experience with us here at the Oakwood Resort. We do our best to give the greatest experience for our guests. We apologize for the slight wait that you had with your food service, and hope that you have an even better experience with us the next time you come to visit.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

First off this is a Beautiful place even with snow on the ground. This isn't a Hotel or a Inn this is Home. The young lady who checked us in was very friendly and that really goes for all staff. Housekeeping always made it a pint to say hi. Now about this stunning room and view. I promise you its beautiful. I can say it is relaxing and very clean the entire place was spotless. Now onto the AMAZING Food WOW!!!! They Have the best Waldorf Salad ever must try. I really just cant say how Amazing this resort is and if its anything like this now I can not wait to see it in the summer. Even if it is a last minute trip take it!!! NO Hotel will beat this I promise you, fabulous kids can play in the game room and you can enjoy yourself down stairs with out worry. Family fun or a last minute honey moon. 10 stars all across the board..

Room Tip: Any room you get will be stunning but you can upgrade to a suite we was in 241 and it has a amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review!

We're glad to hear that your experience with us went above and beyond expectation. I'll be sure to pass along your experience with our food to our restaurant staff. We can't wait to have you back with us in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at the resort over Valentine's weekend, just to get away. We found a Groupon for the first visit, and after staying, decided we would definitely return - Groupon or not. The drive to Syracuse from Chicago was short, and made for a quick getaway weekend. The resort building itself is so charming, and the rooms are cozy and beautifully decorated, and very clean. We stayed in a room with a view of the lake - absolutely gorgeous. The grounds were beautiful, even covered in snow. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and I'm happy to say that we didn't have any issues at all during our stay. We will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the tiny extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review! We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday weekend, and happy to see you return!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.9 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
217 reviews
19.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
12.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Warsaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
132 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Warsaw
Hampton Inn Warsaw
#1 of 5 in Warsaw
299 reviews
19.8 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 702 E Lake View Rd, Syracuse, IN 46567-8414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: $107 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy 27 acres of pure relaxation on Indiana's largest natural lake. Here at Oakwood Resort we have something for everyone. Use us for your dream wedding, company conference, family reunion, or just a weekend away. Choose from our eighty elegant inn rooms, eight spacious cabins, or ten vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing