We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a trip I look forward to!”

Huber's Orchard & Winery
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Starlight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Huber's Orchard and Winery located in beautiful Starlight, IN features a Winery & Distillery, Farmer's Market, Family Farm Park, Starlight Cafe, Bakery, Ice Cream & Cheese Shop, and MORE!
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a trip I look forward to!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We go to Huber's every October (sometimes in Sept. since our company picnic happens there occasionally.) I love the pumpkin patch, the farmer's market and bakery, and basically the whole atmosphere. During the weekends in October, they usually have live music, hot apple cider, pumpkin donuts, caramel apples, and all the seasonal veggies and fruits. We always make it a point to go to the apple orchard, as well as the pumpkin patch. Nothing beats the hot apple and pumpkin breads either! Usually, my husband takes the kids off to the other attractions for kids (see their website) while I take a little trip into the winery. We love the strawberry and blackberry wines! We buy a couple of bottles to have on hand to celebrate our anniversary or to give as gifts. The food is awesome at the restaurant as well. My kids are already excited about this year's trip!

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank CrystalH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    59
    10
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great unexpected stop. Next time it will be a planned stop!”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

As we were in the area about to head home, this final, unplanned stop proved to make use of our time in the area. The farms have so many options and will be sure to please all crowds; young children with the tractor rides; friends at the winery; and the one that is a true crowd pleaser, the ice cream shop! Prices are mostly affordable with a few select items having true attraction prices. If i am ever in the area again I will be sure to stop or make a quick detour for some fresh produce and maybe a glass of wine with friends on the outdoor patio.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank tboyce32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Visit regularly. There are so many great activities.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We used to visit Huber Farms in Starlight Indiana at least twice a year when we lived closer. There are so many fun activities and it’s such a great location for pick-your-own whether it be pumpkins, strawberries, or whatever is in season!

A day at the farm is simple. On one trip recently we went to the winery first. Though we opted out of the tour, it is nice knowing a tour is an option. We had some samples of wine, purchased some bottled keepsakes. After our drive into the country, it was time to eat, and what better place than Joe Huber Family Restaurant! If you want fresh from the farm, ladies and gentlemen, THIS is the place to eat! Delicious! After getting a very full belly, there was no better time for exercise in the strawberry fields! We rode the hay ride to the strawberry field and picked to out heart's delight! There were plenty of families there and also lots of couples. Once we were finished, we rode the hay ride back to the Farmer's Market where we picked up some more fresh items, including corn on the cob, fresh baked bread, and rhubarb to make strawberry rhubarb pie later.

We brought home so many great items to remind us of such a spectacular trip! I highly recommend Huber Farms for couples and families.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
Thank TourLocalLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Usually come here once or twice a year. A great family fun place! You could easily stay entertained for 4 or 5 hours and there is something there for everyone- wine and cheese for the adults, ice cream and Carmel apples for the kids. Petting zoo, play area, large slide that kids love. Apple/pumpkin picking during season and the best place for a home cooked meal of fried chicken, dumplings, mashed potatoes, and fried biscuits with apple butter .

Helpful?
Thank indyxray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family Farm equals Family Fun!”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Want to get away from the big city? Forget the hassle of city life for awhile and visit the Huber's farm in Starlight, IN. There you will enjoy picking your own fruits and vegetables, visiting the farm animal pets, feeding the ducks at the pond, and shopping for gifts, crafts, and home-made pastries and breads. Every time I visit Huber's I buy a gallon of their apple juice. Made from the apples grown on the farm, it is delicious! Huber's is a great place to take the family.

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyFan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huber's Orchard & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Huber's Orchard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing