We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“why would we ever leave?”
other travelers have booked this property
That's the real deal!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
That's the real deal!
Cas Abou fly over-your's is the closest property to top-ten Cas Abou beach!  Free daily admission! Embrace your inner rainbow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
That's the real deal!
Cas Abou fly over-your's is the closest property to top-ten Cas Abou beach!  Free daily admission!
Embrace your inner rainbow
Your champagne is waaaiiitiing!
Your beach chairs and cooler are just behind that white door!  Hit the beach!
Super comfortable and adjustable teak lounges...
Just a few steps directly into the sea!
Rocking chair by the sea!  Perfecto!
Incredible comfort goes with incredible views!
Shaded dining and day bed
A place for everything and everything in it's place.  Mi casa, su casa!  Make yourself at home!
Driftwood and Traffic
Full kitchen with all the amenities
Efficient, comfortable and the best views and breezes!   COUPLES ONLY!
2m x 2m bed, AC, stained glass, plenty of storage, screened windows and incredible views!  PRIVATE
Everything in it's place, including the fun art work!
Full indoor bathroom plus an additional outdoor shower
Wanted to get more green plants up on the deck, goes perfect together!
3am getting ready for moonset...Unbelievable!!!
Whale spout in front of Ba-ooo!
Good morning, Trupial!  Wait until you hear their song...
A special visitor..Sea Eagle!
Cottage kayaks available  and, yep, it's that blue...where are you?
Cas Abou Beach - the cottage is right around that rock!  1 min drive or 20 min snorkel to Cas Abou!
The biiiig  pool and biiiig sky!  (Photoshop?  Not a chance.)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sint Willibrordus, Curacao

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jeff b
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“why would we ever leave?”
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We generally don't gush about a place or experience but this little place hits it out of the park on so many levels.
The large seaside deck and covered porch provide spectacular views , privacy and front row seats for glorious sunsets. We did explore the island but found that we really enjoyed just being there and soaking in the peaceful setting.
Don, Angie and if you are fortunate enough to meet their friends (an extended family of expats as we saw them) are a very helpful, interesting and genuine group of people.
Don has made the effort to assemble a very detailed and accurate visitor's guide about beaches, activities and restaurants to be enjoyed. If it is in his guide then it can be taken as gospel .
Hint; Bring water shoes. There are a few rocks to navigate getting into the water but once in amazingly clear water for snorkelling.
If you have mobility issues then , because the steps down to the waters edge are a bit steep , we wouldn't suggest this place for you.
If you are honeymooners or seeking refuge from being a parent for a week then get here as fast as you can.

We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the view from the deck and the private peaceful setting
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2016
"Water shoes" have made it to the top of the to-briing list, THANKS! I actually have a guy on schedule to redo those stairs as well...We all had a nice time meeting you both and enjoyed the grilling and conversation a lot. It's real special to have the rare opportunity to bring new friends and island friends together! The photo you sent with all that snow??? Yep, you'll be back....but don't know if that GREAT salt pool will be in place, need some time for that one! STAY WARM! Don and Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Han Byul...
New York City, New York
1 review
“A dreamy honeymoon & chill vacation, all in one trip!”
Reviewed January 28, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What a quaint island, Curacao is. It has an amazing range of local/fun/one-of-a-kind vibes as you drive through the island. We came on our 1-week honeymoon trip and could not have asked for a better mixture of all things we enjoyed. Here's a breakdown of what we loved the most. The right amount of beach, snorkel, city, scenery, fancy, and local.

[The Cottage]
I fell in love even before I got here because of the view from Casa Ba-ooo. You go to sleep hearing the waves and you wake up to birds chirping at your deck. Coming from NYC, you don't get that experience very often, so it was a treat indeed. We mixed in some cooking into our food planning. Make sure to take advantage of the grill! Make your own dinner and cocktails, and there's a romantic dinner with a view during sunset. Love!

[The Beach]
There are a lot of beaches. Our favorites were Lagun, Daaibooi and Cas Abao (right by the cottage, a plus!). Lagun is a cute little nook with a body of water and their mojito was on point. DaaiBooi has awesome fries and chicken. Cas Abao had the best breeze and vibe. The bar here got a little crowded when we were there so bringing our own cooler with drinks was key!

[The Sailboat Tour]
My husband and I went on the sunset tour with Captain Dirk. This was once-in-a-lifetime experience for me. You sit on the deck as he cruises around the west end of the island and watch the sun go down. Perfect breeze combined with delicious snacks he prepares...what more can I ask?

[The Massage]
We got the couples Massage from Anouk and her business partner Aldrick. They come to the cottage so you can hear the waves as your body is in pure relaxation mode. I highly recommend to take advantage of this experience!

[Nature Walks]
Angie provides a list of choices to take in the natural beauty of Curacao. We went on the Flamingo Walk and it was amazing to see how different the scenery was between in-land and beach-side. If you're lucky enough to have Don come with you, he'll make sure that you leave with some historic knowledge of the island. :)

Last but certainly not the least... the Concierge!
Don and Angie will make your trip a truly memorable one by totally customizing their recommendations to your preference and taste. They are top quality people, filled with love, ready to help you so you can have the time of your life on the island. So when in doubt, ask them!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the property and the view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2016
Dear New York City!
It's soooo much fun watching people from NYC chill down and really enjoy the best of what a tropical island can offer. You guys did a great job balancing your explorations with the deep chill that Casa Ba-ooo brings out in people. Massages on the terrace - check. Private sunset sail charter - done. Morning nature walks with flamingos, herons, eagles and sea glass - boom. Next up for your anniversary....private chef service with the best views on the island...my treat! Please come back soon, loved sharing the island with you both! Don and Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James E
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My wife and I were looking for a secluded paradise to get away from the busy day to day of city life and we couldn't have been happier with Don's little beachfront cottage!

If you are looking to disconnect and just enjoy the beautiful island weather and sights then this is the perfect spot for you! There is wifi strong enough to stream some netflix before heading to sleep but you're better off sitting on the beautiful deck and staring at the stars while listening to the waves crash anyway!

Don and Angie are going to give you a packet with a TON of information and suggestions on places to visit and places to eat. TRUST IN THE PACKET!!! You won't be sorry as they have built it completely from their own personal experiences and couldn't have been more on point with their suggestions and comments.

We were even lucky enough to spend a few hours with Don checking out the north side of the island that you would NEVER find on your own and the sights we saw were absolutely out of this world! Getting his perspective as a long time island resident was one of our favorite parts of the trip. You can tell his love of living on the little island is seconded only to his love of watching vacationers enjoying the same.

We had an incredible time!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2015
PA is in the house! Thanks J&M for your review, it's very appreciated and goes a long way toward helping other guests get an idea of what's in store for them! We work hard to exceed expectations and it's always a fun process to be ambassadors to our little piece of paradise. Enjoy a great Christmas and hope to see you again for another run through the back roads! Don
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flimflam2...
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent waterfront cottage with great snorkeling out the back door”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I just returned from 6 fantastic nights at Casa Ba-ooo. The cottage is on waterfront property in a gated residential community very close to Cas Abou beach in the Banda Abou region (northern half) of Curacao. We considered several resorts on the southern half of the island where the majority of tourists stay, and also another gated community in the vicinity (Coral Estates), but I have to say we made the right decision with Casa Ba-ooo. We were very happy with this cottage and it's location in the relaxed, less crowded, and friendly region of Banda Abou. The cottage consists of an enclosed bedroom/bathroom/kitchen with an attached covered porch and uncovered deck. The main cottage is separated from the covered porch with a multi-panel sliding glass door that can be fully opened during the day to let the breezes in and retracted during the night to cool the place off with AC. The covered porch gives you the outside experience without sacrificing privacy. There is a shower in the bathroom, but there is also an outdoor shower under the deck. The kitchen has a gas stove, refrigerator, microwave, and large toaster oven with some counter space and plenty of cabinets. There is ample closet and drawer space in the bedroom as well. The cottage is essentially fully stocked, so we didn't need to get many things except groceries on our first day. The best parts about the cottage are it's location on the water with wonderful views and the great snorkeling just behind. We snorkeled every day, at the cottage and other locations, and we found the snorkeling at the cottage to be the best we encountered. The other factor that should not go unmentioned is the great service provided by Don and his Seaside Curacao team. From the initial contact about availability to stopping by on our last day at the property, Don and Angie made our vacation a great experience. We had two small issues come up during our stay, and they were handled immediately. Top notch service. I would definitely return and not think of staying anywhere else. You will not be disappointed. There are many great reviews here, so I'll just offer the following comments and tips:
-The cottage is close to many great beaches (Cas Abou, Porto Marie, Daaibooi, etc)
-The cottage is close to many good restaurants
-The cottage is close to a laundry facility, small grocery store, and gas station
-If the small grocery store doesn't have what you need, there is a huge, easy to find grocery store with good meats and produce about 20-25 minutes away
-Wi-fi was great, not a single issue
-Locking safe provided
-The Seaside Curacao team will give recommendations and organize excursions for you
-Bring a cheap pair of flip flops to walk around in because the property has crushed coral walkways that might be hard on your feet
-Take advantage of the rental car option
-Probably not for the elderly because there a lot of steps behind the cottage leading down to the water
-There are beach chairs, towels, mats, and a cooler on the porch so you can take with you when visiting other beaches
-There was extra snorkel gear at the cottage for your use (we used the fins, but brought our own masks and snorkel)
-Talk to Don and Angie. They are accessible, easy to get along with, and have a lot of knowledge about the island
-A very detailed information packet was emailed to us before our arrival. It was very helpful and appreciated; we referred to it many times
-You can hire a private chef to prepare a meal for you at the cottage
-You can setup a massage at the cottage. We booked Anouk and Aldrick at 7:00 pm on the deck under the stars with the sound of the ocean in the background. Very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waterfront location with great snorkeling
Liked least: Mattress was a little on the firm side, but not a big issue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
VA is welcome back anytime! It was nice to be able to share some stories with you both. I really appreciated well traveled folks who take the time to offer comments for future guests. The Team and I try really hard to make folks welcome and deliver the real-deal Curacao experience...blue-blue water, superlative nature, privacy, tranquility, comfortable spaces and access to the best part of the island! Thanks very much, it was a pleasure meeting you both, safe travels going forward!! Don and the Seaside Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whatnow12...
whatnow123
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If I could sum up our experience at Don's seaside villa in one word, it would be paradise. Just looking at the pictures again as I write this review makes me wonder what the hell I'm doing on the east coast working in corporate.

If you want to drive ~1-2 minutes to one of the best beaches in the world you can do that. If you want to walk ~1-2 minutes to a private secluded beach where you can propose (like I did) you can do that to. If you're super lazy when you go on vacation like me and want to walk about 10 seconds you can just go down the steps to the ocean that's right in your backyard.

Honestly, Don is probably one of the most laid back, coolest guys out there. Restaurant recommendation, check. Need to explore the island? He'll tell you about more places than you can visit in a week (which means you should probably stay longer). Need anything at all? His response time is second to none (and that's coming from a guy working for an international conglomerate). I can't wait to get back with more friends and family to show them what we were so fortunate to experience.

To sum it all up, don't cheat yourself out of the best vacation of your life by not booking this. There is literally nothing more you could ask for.

Hope to see you soon Don.

Zach & Gina

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean being 2 steps away
Liked least: That I couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Our FIRST marriage proposal! YES! We've done the birthdays, the honeymoons, anniversaries and the long over-due holidays....but I have to say that hearing about the proposal was a new high for us. We were so glad that we could share in it! Very special! Nothing more to say than congratulations! Loved seeing those smiles...will try to keep the waters a little more gentle for your next kayak trip! Come back and fall in love all over again! Don and a very happy Seaside Team - Ba-ooo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manfred W
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
“Third year in a row; still stunning!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

And again...what brilliant new descriptions can I really add to all the high praise given in the raving reviews of this very special studio at Cas Abou? Well, none. So I'll just write down what we tell family and friends in Holland when trying to explain why we love this place so much.

The studio is small but well equipped, very clean and nicely decorated. But that isn't why we want to come back here each time; it's the location!

The big terrace of the studio - where we spend a great deal of our time - is right at a beautiful azure blue bay. And every day mother nature surprises us here with small presents. It could be a troupial waking us up early in the morning singing "La Cucaracha". Or a manta ray gracefully passing by. A pod of dolphins hunting right in front of us. A glittering emerald hummingbird hoovering around our heads. Of course, the grand finale - the golden/orange/purple sunset! And, as a 'encore', when its pitch dark a school of bioluminescent creatures can turn the water into a star-spangled sea.
That's why this is our perfect holiday spot!

At Cas Abou we have access to the internet, but we don't need it for entertainment. Just put some crumbs of toast on the wooden sculptures on the terrace and the show can begin; within minutes around ten different kinds of birds will present itself. We watch this spectacle in the morning while having breakfast or in the early evening with a chilled wine or a nice cold beer

Don Newton, the owner of the place, and his partner Brigitte are doing their utmost at making us feel welcome and at home. Don is an enthusiastic host and (justly) very proud of this studio and of the island. He is always giving useful tips about what places you should visit, what things to do or where to eat.

And there are a lot of things you can do on Curacao: explore all the small beaches, rent a kayak at Cas Abou Beach, climb mount Christoffel or go snorkeling (just in front of the cottage) or diving. Visit Willemstad- for shopping, but also for the Kura Hulanda and the colorful architecture of Scharloo and Pietermaai. Or check out Mambo Beach - and realise again why you chose tranquil Cas Abou as the spot for your holiday!
And as for dining out; in Band Abou we love the new Williwood and, our all time favourite, Triopenotti.

Don & Brigitte, thanks for sharing this wonderful place with us and hope to see you again sometime at "our" Cas Abou!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
Dear Family (that's what you are now!),
We appreciate the way you both really enjoy the cottage and Banda Abou, it is a very special spot! Hopefully next time I can take you on some more hidden gems of our part of Curacao...there's always something new to explore and discover. Looking very forward to welcoming you back home! Don and the Seaside Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanneine...
Jasper, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wake up to the song of the troupials, go to sleep to the sound of the waves, in between be as active or as relaxed as you want to be. The choice is yours. This little house sits on the edge of a very laid back neighborhood and has everything you need to make it your own personal retreat. From the large deck you can nature watch in comfort. From it I saw over 30 species of land, sea and air creatures including: the manta, a large dolphin pod, sea turtle, pelicans, iguanas, hummingbirds, geckos, saffron finches, trupials...I could go on and on. This doesn't include the mass amounts of underwater life you will see while snorkeling. No need to travel to one of the many amazing, close by, beaches, it's all right there in front of you.

If you want an extra treat add a massage by Anouk. She has amazing hands. An open air massage on the deck of your amazing cottage - how relaxing is that??

Let's talk a little more about the snorkeling for a minute. Get in the water right in front of the cottage - boom, you are seeing all kinds of fish. Snorkel to the left a very short distance and you have large boulders that provide great viewing. Snorkel straight out and you are quickly where the shelf begins to drop off; the fish get larger but the water is so incredibly clear that visibility is not an issue. Go to the right from the cottage, following the path the manta likes to take, to the other side of the neighborhood and you will find yourself in an alternate universe of elk horn coral where you will see an unbelievable array of sea life. When you are done, snorkel back to the cottage and get out. Go up a few stairs and rinse yourself and your gear off in the outdoor shower...a few more,steps and you are on the deck, drying off under the sun, enjoying the trade winds and drinking a beer while reflecting on your luck in finding this amazing place.

Don takes great care to ensure the cottage has all the features you need to feel at home. His attention to detail in decor and landscaping is incredible. The outdoor shower alone is a work of art. Don provides an array of outdoor seating locations and furniture - arrange them to suit your needs! He is also a great source of information whether you want to live like a local or take in all the tourism the island has to offer. Ask him questions and listen to his recommendations. You will not be sorry.

We will be back...oh yes, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Casual comfort of the cottage and wildlife viewing
Liked least: One week was not enough
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Hi J&M! M, Congrats on the first time massage! Who-hoo! Anouk is pure magic! What fun it was to enjoy some time chatting and sharing some explorations with you both! Nice to share those cold beers, too! It's always real fun for me to stop by to see how the guests are doing and it turns out to be...absolutely...nothing! What's on the schedule today? Nothing. Where are you going? No place, we are staying here. I love that! That's the best way to a pure holiday. You don't need to go anywhere when you are at Casa Ba-ooo! Loved hearing your nature updates and that you saw both the manta and the dolphin pods! Amazing! Next time you have to see the flamingos, sea eagles and the wild pigs. That's our neighborhood mascot! All the best and looking very forward to bouncing down some back roads with you! Great that you tried out so many local spots for eats! Don and the Seaside Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing