We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love palomino and love the hostel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

i will highly recommend this location as the hostel , the hostel itself is beautiful, the food is great, the private rooms are amazing, the bar is fun , the staff very friendly.
when you go to the beach u can actually relax, there is not people trying to sell you stuff every minute, the sunsets are amazing the perfect spot to relax. there are mosquitos and buggs around but is to spect, you are in the middle of nowhere... i will for sure recommend this place and come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuli m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 403 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

The beach in Palomino is wonderfully private, but I wasn't thrilled with The Dreamer. It was misrepresented on the website and by the staff at the Santa Marta location.

Do not come here expecting to cook. The visitor kitchen is a wood-burning stove that you have to start a fire in yourself to cook anything, and it is attached to a stone slab countertop and a sink. The outdoor countertop is covered in bugs, and there are no utensils. Any items needed to cook or prepare food must be borrowed from the staff working in The Dreamer's restaurant kitchen. It's obvious that cooking is discouraged and they want you to buy food and drinks from the restaurant.

The electricity in the common area/bar, the dorms, and even the restaurant kitchen kept going on and off during my two day stay, so the fan in the dorm would turn off in the middle of the night making it terribly hot, and the food I brought (that I couldn't cook) went bad in the refrigerator because it wasn't kept cold enough.

There were flies everywhere. The Dreamer isn't actually ON the beach so there was no breeze from the ocean to prevent them from buzzing around.

The facilities were clean, although everything was extremely sandy (obviously), so I gave my sheets a good shake every night before bed.

Also, quiet hours begin at midnight, but no staff member stayed after 11 o clock while I was there, so there was no one to quiet the people who had been hanging out drinking at The Dreamer's bar all day long. Bring earplugs.

Luckily, the beach is quiet and private if you walk a little bit in either direction, so you'll be able to lay a blanket out under a palm tree and sleep during the day. There are also other hostels along the beach, including a place nearby that rents hammocks in an open-air balcony overlooking the water.

My experience wasn't terrible, but if I ever went back to Palomino I would try and stay somewhere with a view of the ocean and a staff that is polite and helpful all the time, not just when the owner is around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErmMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We are sorry if you didnt like our hostel, every day we do our best to provide the best service to our costumers in a remote area like Palomino.

About the guest kitchen we are the only ones to offer this service on the beach but you have to cook on fire (no natural gas available in the area) utensils are kept in the restaurant so they are always clean and available all day (untill midnight) usualy people love to cook on fire as is more natural and the food that you can find around (mostly fish) is nicer this way.

The electricity is usualy fine (24/7) we did a big investment bringing this service to the beach (some hotel doesnt even have it) but please do not forget that Palomino is in a rural area and in Colombia the electricity companies doesnt have western standards...

For us allow a good sleep for our costumers is a must, we always have staff working at night to keep the hostel quite but I'll be requesting them to be unflexible from today.

Thanks again, please contact me personally next time you'll be in Palomino!

Thanks, Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We liked the hotel, the people are very friendly, the beach is very nice and not crowded (right next door to the hotel so the access is great) The pool is the only one in town, was nice and the water very refreshing on hot and humid days of this time of year.
The gardens around the hotel are beautiful and well maintained, food was nice and not expensive, service a bit slow, I'll definitely be going back the next time I visit Colombia!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtraveller80_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Traveller,

We are happy to see that you have had a unforgettable experience with us.
It is always a pleasure to see that we have satisfied our guest’s needs, and that they have enjoyed our facilities and service.

We are very grateful for your comments and will certainly pass them on to our team.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I hope that we will be welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

After booking another hotel in Palomino and running away from it, we found this little piece of paradise! The location is perfect, you have the best of everything, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The beach itself is virgin with thousand of palm trees like those seen in postcards and the food... oh my God! you really should order a pizza, Miguel, the owner is Italian so if you fancy good meals you should totally go there! All the staff treated us as we were family, helping us with everything we needed at any time. Our stay in this hostel was probably one of the best things of our holidays! The talks at the bar with some cocktails or the evening relaxing in the pool was my highlight!
The place is new and they work really hard to make everyone happy. We will return someday! Thank you very much for everything!
Dreamer is more than a hostel, it's a little home in paradise!

Room Tip: Malasia room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see that we have made your stay a memorable one. It is inspiring to see that we have made a difference, and that you are thinking of returning to the hostel.

We are truly thankful that you have taken the time to leave your observations and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in a near future.

Until then

Warm Regards,

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hostel is beautiful, my friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was a very chilled out experience. There's not much to do but lay by the pool or chill out in a hammock. The beach itself isn't too great but you don't get hassled which is nice. We ate at the hostel and was extremely impressed by the quality of food. (Although there was a long wait, however this to be expected when 20 people order their food at the same time)
staff were so friendly and very helpful and rooms were great. The bathroom was new and the shower had great pressure. Individual lockers are provided.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for writing such a glowing review of the hotel. We're delighted that you enjoyed it and we'll pass on your praise to our wonderful staff.

Best wishes,

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Their 24hour cancellation policy is actually a 36hour policy because you have to cancel 24hours before the start of the day, not 24hours before the check in would be. Mix that with completely inflexible service around that and they just come across as profit driven. This is the only hostel that applied such rigidity to the flex and flux of travelling and we were the third group to have this problem that day!!

Nice place with new rooms and the pool etc (but it needs a clean!), but walk a few hostels down the beach to the right to finca escondida for a much friendlier, cheaper and better stay here.

Also if you do the tubing, you can do it yourself in town for half the price of dreamer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review!

Sorry for the misunderstanding!
Like every hotel in the world we have rules that are made to provide a better service to our costumers and avoid any kind of unconfortable situations, we are committed to keep the rooms booked when requested by our costumer but we also have a cancellation policies and ask to be advised of any change of plans with some time (24hrs) so we can try to find accommodation to other costumer if they request it!
in your case the request was not made on time!

I realy hope you'll have a nice rest of the trip in Colombia and to see you in Palomino soon!

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

First of all, Palomino is not the idyllic beauty spot described by many a travel guide. It is at best a long stretch of dirtyish characterless beach with some bric-a-brac developments peppered with backpackers learning to surf or go tubing. The sea is too rough to swim in and that leaves little to do except read another John Grisham novel or space out on a hammock. In our estimation there are much nicer places in the world (and in Columbia) than Palomino. Why this has earned "a hidden unspoilt gem" accolade is beyond me .

Dreamer Hostel is fine if you're a twenty something backpacker who's happy with a dorm and idling the days with your mates and some club Columbias. The hostel even has a pool (albeit insect infested) which gives it an edge over other places.

But if you're a little older and opting for a private room, then this place is a giant rip off, of mega proportions. For COP 130,000 in low season you get a concrete mattress, no hot water, no air con, an ineffective fan, and sheets that feel unwashed and used a trillion times. The price doesn't even include a breakfast. If private rooms were at half the price at Dreamer, there wouldn't be much room for criticism. But in Santa Marta you can get a room with Apple TV and clean sheets for a few pesos more. This place even boasted internet but in fact has connection that proved next to useless.

Dreamer doesn't even command National Park credentials, so there should be no premium on what was a truly overpriced, uncomfortable nights sleep in a lacklustre location. We came with high hopes and left the next day after a sleepless night and equally bad food.

We've travelled Columbia and stayed in a good mix of places. This was the first place that truly disappointed us. So if you've been to a few beaches before and have a few expectations then don't believe the hype and give Dreamer a miss or even skip Palamino altogether!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chilliconcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

we do regret to hear that your time spent with us were not up to your expectations. However, we are very grateful that you have shared your opinion with us.

The beach in Palomino is, in my opinion and not just mine, truly beautiful, of course we are in the jungle and the beach is virgin, I understand than not everyone like it and prefer busier places like Rodadero or Taganga but I think are just different opcions.
Please note that the hotel is new and matrees meet very good standards and that our prices are 55.000 pesos per person during the regular season and cheaper than this during the low season, the price you mention is requested during other times of the year.

We strive daily to improve our service and do our best to satisfy the needs and requests of our guests and we hope that your next stay with us will be a better one.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

With my best wishes,

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palomino hotels
0.5 mi away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Mandala
Hotel Playa Mandala
#2 of 4 in Palomino
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hukumeizi
Hotel Hukumeizi
#4 of 4 in Palomino
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Sirena Eco Hotel
La Sirena Eco Hotel
#3 of 4 in Palomino
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tiki Hut Hostel Palomino
0.1 mi away
PrimaLuna Beach Hostel
PrimaLuna Beach Hostel
#2 of 59 in Palomino
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach

Address: Playa Donaires S.N., Palomino 40007, Colombia
Location: Colombia > La Guajira Department > Palomino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Palomino
Price Range: $37 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing