We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly bad value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

First of all, Palomino is not the idyllic beauty spot described by many a travel guide. It is at best a long stretch of dirtyish characterless beach with some bric-a-brac developments peppered with backpackers learning to surf or go tubing. The sea is too rough to swim in and that leaves little to do except read another John Grisham novel or space out on a hammock. In our estimation there are much nicer places in the world (and in Columbia) than Palomino. Why this has earned "a hidden unspoilt gem" accolade is beyond me .

Dreamer Hostel is fine if you're a twenty something backpacker who's happy with a dorm and idling the days with your mates and some club Columbias. The hostel even has a pool (albeit insect infested) which gives it an edge over other places.

But if you're a little older and opting for a private room, then this place is a giant rip off, of mega proportions. For COP 130,000 in low season you get a concrete mattress, no hot water, no air con, an ineffective fan, and sheets that feel unwashed and used a trillion times. The price doesn't even include a breakfast. If private rooms were at half the price at Dreamer, there wouldn't be much room for criticism. But in Santa Marta you can get a room with Apple TV and clean sheets for a few pesos more. This place even boasted internet but in fact has connection that proved next to useless.

Dreamer doesn't even command National Park credentials, so there should be no premium on what was a truly overpriced, uncomfortable nights sleep in a lacklustre location. We came with high hopes and left the next day after a sleepless night and equally bad food.

We've travelled Columbia and stayed in a good mix of places. This was the first place that truly disappointed us. So if you've been to a few beaches before and have a few expectations then don't believe the hype and give Dreamer a miss or even skip Palamino altogether!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chilliconcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

we do regret to hear that your time spent with us were not up to your expectations. However, we are very grateful that you have shared your opinion with us.

The beach in Palomino is, in my opinion and not just mine, truly beautiful, of course we are in the jungle and the beach is virgin, I understand than not everyone like it and prefer busier places like Rodadero or Taganga but I think are just different opcions.
Please note that the hotel is new and matrees meet very good standards and that our prices are 55.000 pesos per person during the regular season and cheaper than this during the low season, the price you mention is requested during other times of the year.

We strive daily to improve our service and do our best to satisfy the needs and requests of our guests and we hope that your next stay with us will be a better one.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

With my best wishes,

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 398 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place looks like paradise all grass huts and a 1 minute walk to the beach. There is no shared kitchen. The dorms were COP 29,000 or COp 25,000 if you stayed more than one night, definitely more expensive than the rest of Colombia. I saw cheaper options down the beach, but Dreamer is one of the first that you come to. It is very relaxed, and even when 3/4 full did not feel too busy. The pool is a nice option. The stereo in the bar area was broken and they were just blasting tv dubbed in spanish instead which took away from the relaxed vibe in the bar area. The dorm had anice bathroom, large lockers, and fans.

Room Tip: All the rooms are away from the bar area and seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

After 5 days partying in Taganga I was in need of some R&R - great location near beautiful beach, only hostel with any wifi in area, and a great pool. Rooms were good - comfortable beds, good showers. Not much in way of a kitchen but food in restaurant was good especially the pizzas!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rakingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are so thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have had such a positive experience during your trip.

We look forward to welcoming you shortly to our property.

Best regards,

Fulvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I lived in Colombia for 3 years, and discovered Palomino right at the beginning. It is beautiful and unlike any other place I have ever been. Every time I went back I stayed somewhere new, never really finding THE PLACE. Thanks to the Dreamer and its wonderful staff for making it happen! The place is beautiful, peaceful, and has a great restaurant. I went with 2 friends and a dog and they were super nice and accommodating. Steps from the beach, nice palapa-style construction and a relaxing little pool right in the middle. Plus it is much quieter than other hostels so is great for couples or families too. BUT it still has a bar area for those who are interested in the mojitos. I went with friends, but will definitely go back with my husband. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention... all this AND it is much cheaper than many of the less interesting places in Palomino.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are closer to the bar, and private rooms farther away. People who ask for private rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayP809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank RenskeMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank veraching22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank ellian220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palomino hotels
0.5 mi away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Mandala
Hotel Playa Mandala
#2 of 4 in Palomino
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Sirena Eco Hotel
La Sirena Eco Hotel
#3 of 4 in Palomino
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hukumeizi
Hotel Hukumeizi
#4 of 4 in Palomino
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tiki Hut Hostel Palomino
0.1 mi away
Finca Escondida
Finca Escondida
#7 of 57 in Palomino
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach

Address: Playa Donaires S.N., Palomino 40007, Colombia
Location: Colombia > La Guajira Department > Palomino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Palomino
Price Range: $20 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing