We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach...”
Review of Finca Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Escondida
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at the Finca Escondida in Palomino for 2 nights. We chose the option of the "small" tent for 40000 pesos. And the tent was definitely not small! It was very spacious and a good deal for privacy since private rooms in Palomino are very expensive.
The restaurant served good food at reasonable prices (not cheap but with regars to the location) and offers 2 for one cocktails at Happy Hour. The location couldnt be better as it is literally right on the beach.
One negative point is that the WiFi was not free and they seemed to charge a lot for the dorms and offer very little in comparison to other places nearby (such as the Tiki Hut or the Dreamer Hostel which looked like a holiday resort for backpackers)
I would recommend this place if youre looking for an affordable option to have some privacy but otherwise I would probably opt for one of the other hostels mentioned.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JuliaS123187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 199 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in a private room.

Although it was very basic facilities, it was very well done. My only complaint would be the bed. Not particularly comfortable, not sure I could have done more than 4 nights!

The staff were very friendly. The food was great.

It isn't necessary to take a moto taxi there you can easily walk. Will take about 10 minutes. It's well sign posted.

The beach was fantastic. No body there that will hassle you other than the odd person selling jewellery.

The dawn corus was deafening, but amazing to experience it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishTwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We haven't stayed at this hostel, but we want to recommend their restaurant. The restaurant is right at the beach and you can get delicious food like fresh fish with coconut rice, patagones (plantain), salad or prawns with rice or noodels in a delicious salsa sauce and so on. They have a great choice of different beers. It is a really nice atmosphere to fade away a wonderful sunny day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tiffi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Beachfront location, beautiful grounds, and very clean washrooms. We camped (in our own tent) at Finca Escondida for 3 nights, and were very happy. The beach is beautiful, although the water is a little rough and is not advisable for swimming, however frolicking in the waves proved to be safe enough. Watch out for the sand fleas, as we left covered in bites. If you are camping, try to pick a spot closer to the bathrooms and the restaurant, as the neighbour next door likes to keep their television and lights on until very late at night. Restaurant was a little pricey and the food a little disappointing. Town is a short walk away. Well-stocked bar with daily happy hour offerings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lildrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We found Finca Escondida via a web search. Not far from a small community of Palamino, there is a lot to like about this place. First of all, the location is very nice with a a beautiful beach nestled in coastal farmland. While the signs say that swimming is not safe, we found that general wading was OK and very pleasant.

We are camping in our own tent. The price for camping is reasonable, and the bathrooms and showers are acceptable - not bad for a beach place. The food and drinks at the restaurant are a little pricey but at the same time, Palamino is a small community with rustic roads, and it seems most things are carted down to the beach in a wheelbarrow. We generally ended up walking up to "town" for provisions since the prices are a little steep for us economy travellers. We did eat the fried fish dinner the first night. It was overcooked and not really worth the money for us. Breakfasts were OK but seemed to vary in portions. One day they seemed to double up on toast to make up for a lack of eggs.

In terms of camping, it was a little noisy but this seemed to mostly come from the neighbouring household. It is not terribly buggy here, but buggy enough to warrant, at least for us, long pants in the evening and some bug spray. There is no internet at Finca Escondida. If you do care, you might want to bring a local sim card. We are using a plan from Tigo and only got Edge network here - seems to be the case with Tigo on the coast of Colombia. Maybe try Claro.

The staff were so-so friendly and our experience with the other guests is that they generally like to stick to themselves but not unpleasant. All things said and done, we enjoyed our time at Finca Escondida due to its not-too-touristy walks to town, and lovely beach.

Room Tip: Tent: it might be best to put it fairly close to the washrooms. This might be counter-intuitive, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460adamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

When we called, all they had left was a tent, and after confirming that it had mattresses, we reserved it. The " mattress" such a thin little piece of foam that cardboard would have been more comfortable. When we signed in, they asked if we wanted them to hold it for the next night too. We said yes, thinking we would decide the next day if we wanted to stay. The policy here is greed. When we informed them the next am that we couldn't sleep and didn't want to stay the next night, we we told we had to pay half the next night anyway. We werent the only people who were casually lured into making a reservation and then told they had to pay when they wanted to cancel. Do yourself a favor and walk down the beach and check out several other options. We ended up at a beautiful place nearby, with a huge private room, bathroom, hammocks and lovely gardens for not much more than the tent.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank NaturalSoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location right on the beach. The staff were super accommodating and helpful. Don't have high expectations of the hammocks or lockers. Recommend getting a dorm or bringing a tent! The fish is unreal tasty and the crepes were a nice treat. The pasta is also delicious.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sundaybreakfastt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palomino hotels
0.4 mi away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hukumeizi
Hotel Hukumeizi
#4 of 4 in Palomino
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mandala
Hotel Playa Mandala
#2 of 4 in Palomino
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Sirena Eco Hotel
La Sirena Eco Hotel
#3 of 4 in Palomino
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tiki Hut Hostel Palomino
0.1 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Escondida

Address: Brigada N2, Playa de Palomino, Palomino 10000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > La Guajira Department > Palomino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Palomino
Price Range: $16 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Escondida is the ideal spot for beach lovers, surfers, and sports enthusiasts. It is directly on the 6km long sandy beach of Palomino - still one of the best kept secrets among travelers on Columbia's sunny Caribbean coastline.We have suites, rooms, dorms, hammocks, and a lovely space for camping. Additionally, we offer a great variety of food and cocktails at our restaurant - including savory crepes, refreshing salads, and delicious seafood.There are good waves for surfers and those still planning to learn. Chillandsurf's team offers surf lessons and surfboard rental at a reasonable price. And be sure to enjoy an afternoon on the beach playing frisbee or beach volleyball. If you are looking to slow down, shady, idyllic spots on the Finca grounds call for chilling, reading, or simply hanging out and letting the day pass by. Just lay back and relax between the palm trees, mango, orange, and lime groves on Finca Escondida and be lulled by the sounds of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Finca Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing