We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Finca Escondida”
Review of Finca Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Escondida
Kelkheim (Taunus), Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant Finca Escondida”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We haven't stayed at this hostel, but we want to recommend their restaurant. The restaurant is right at the beach and you can get delicious food like fresh fish with coconut rice, patagones (plantain), salad or prawns with rice or noodels in a delicious salsa sauce and so on. They have a great choice of different beers. It is a really nice atmosphere to fade away a wonderful sunny day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    52
    30
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
75
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Beachfront location, beautiful grounds, and very clean washrooms. We camped (in our own tent) at Finca Escondida for 3 nights, and were very happy. The beach is beautiful, although the water is a little rough and is not advisable for swimming, however frolicking in the waves proved to be safe enough. Watch out for the sand fleas, as we left covered in bites. If you are camping, try to pick a spot closer to the bathrooms and the restaurant, as the neighbour next door likes to keep their television and lights on until very late at night. Restaurant was a little pricey and the food a little disappointing. Town is a short walk away. Well-stocked bar with daily happy hour offerings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lildrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We found Finca Escondida via a web search. Not far from a small community of Palamino, there is a lot to like about this place. First of all, the location is very nice with a a beautiful beach nestled in coastal farmland. While the signs say that swimming is not safe, we found that general wading was OK and very pleasant.

We are camping in our own tent. The price for camping is reasonable, and the bathrooms and showers are acceptable - not bad for a beach place. The food and drinks at the restaurant are a little pricey but at the same time, Palamino is a small community with rustic roads, and it seems most things are carted down to the beach in a wheelbarrow. We generally ended up walking up to "town" for provisions since the prices are a little steep for us economy travellers. We did eat the fried fish dinner the first night. It was overcooked and not really worth the money for us. Breakfasts were OK but seemed to vary in portions. One day they seemed to double up on toast to make up for a lack of eggs.

In terms of camping, it was a little noisy but this seemed to mostly come from the neighbouring household. It is not terribly buggy here, but buggy enough to warrant, at least for us, long pants in the evening and some bug spray. There is no internet at Finca Escondida. If you do care, you might want to bring a local sim card. We are using a plan from Tigo and only got Edge network here - seems to be the case with Tigo on the coast of Colombia. Maybe try Claro.

The staff were so-so friendly and our experience with the other guests is that they generally like to stick to themselves but not unpleasant. All things said and done, we enjoyed our time at Finca Escondida due to its not-too-touristy walks to town, and lovely beach.

Room Tip: Tent: it might be best to put it fairly close to the washrooms. This might be counter-intuitive, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

When we called, all they had left was a tent, and after confirming that it had mattresses, we reserved it. The " mattress" such a thin little piece of foam that cardboard would have been more comfortable. When we signed in, they asked if we wanted them to hold it for the next night too. We said yes, thinking we would decide the next day if we wanted to stay. The policy here is greed. When we informed them the next am that we couldn't sleep and didn't want to stay the next night, we we told we had to pay half the next night anyway. We werent the only people who were casually lured into making a reservation and then told they had to pay when they wanted to cancel. Do yourself a favor and walk down the beach and check out several other options. We ended up at a beautiful place nearby, with a huge private room, bathroom, hammocks and lovely gardens for not much more than the tent.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank NaturalSoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location right on the beach. The staff were super accommodating and helpful. Don't have high expectations of the hammocks or lockers. Recommend getting a dorm or bringing a tent! The fish is unreal tasty and the crepes were a nice treat. The pasta is also delicious.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundaybreakfastt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

During our trip along Colombia´s carribean coast, our stay at Palomino and Finca Escondida was absolutely one of the highlights! We stayed at their "suite", a very large room on the second floor in a wooden built house with private bathroom and a big balcony for a very reasonable price.

The finca is perfectly located right at the beach, the atmosphere is great, and the staff is wonderful; positive, relaxed, caring and very friendly!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Turned up late on a night where there was a power cut and torrential downpour. Good atmosphere and food in restaurant however rooms basic and dirty, my boyfriend appeared to have been bitten all over his back by something after sleeping in the bed (fortunately I used a sleeping bag liner). No light in bathroom and bins outside rooms never changed, just left overflowing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laumass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palomino hotels
0.4 mi away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mandala
Hotel Playa Mandala
#2 of 4 in Palomino
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hukumeizi
Hotel Hukumeizi
#4 of 4 in Palomino
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tiki Hut Hostel Palomino
0.1 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel On The Beach
2.1 mi away
Casalina Ecolodge
Casalina Ecolodge
#11 of 48 in Palomino
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Escondida

Property: Finca Escondida
Address: Brigada N2, Playa de Palomino, Palomino 10000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > La Guajira Department > Palomino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Palomino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Escondida is the ideal spot for beach lovers, surfers, and sports enthusiasts. It is directly on the 6km long sandy beach of Palomino - still one of the best kept secrets among travelers on Columbia's sunny Caribbean coastline.We have suites, rooms, dorms, hammocks, and a lovely space for camping. Additionally, we offer a great variety of food and cocktails at our restaurant - including savory crepes, refreshing salads, and delicious seafood.There are good waves for surfers and those still planning to learn. Chillandsurf's team offers surf lessons and surfboard rental at a reasonable price. And be sure to enjoy an afternoon on the beach playing frisbee or beach volleyball. If you are looking to slow down, shady, idyllic spots on the Finca grounds call for chilling, reading, or simply hanging out and letting the day pass by. Just lay back and relax between the palm trees, mango, orange, and lime groves on Finca Escondida and be lulled by the sounds of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Finca Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing