We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only place to stay on KI”
other travelers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lyndy J
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“The only place to stay on KI”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

So very glad we booked to stay here. This beautiful little cottage is so well set out and maintained. Away from everyone at the rear of the dunes at Emu Bay - you can stroll up to the top of the dunes and relax watching the waves on the gorgeous beach below. Its so quiet and relaxing here - no-one around for miles. The cottage has a wood fire heater which was great for us in the middle of winter. Warmed the whole house. Powered by solar and using tank water. There is tv and free wifi here. Bed was comfortable and bedding was lovely. There are approx 15 steps up the outside of the cottage to get up to the entry on the deck and you have great views all around you from the decks and windows. Will be recommending the cottage to our friends.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2018
Thank you kindly for taking the time in your busy life to write this review. I'm glad you made the comments about the warmth of the house, along with the double glazed windows we feel this is enough in an Australian climate and keeps in line with our eco-design.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patthwait...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private, peaceful, perfect!”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The only unhappy part of our stay was when it was time to leave! We stayed for five wonderful nights and loved it. Tucked in behind a dune and out of the wind, a stunning beach view was only a one minute walk away. Sitting on the peak of the dune, watching the sun setting while a pod of dolphins played in the bay below, was magical. Kangaroos peeking through the windows, wedge-tailed eagles and sea eagles cruising above - how marvellous! Modern, clean and comfortable with everything you need, Brian and Kris have worked hard to thoughtfully design and equip the house. They have been attentive to every detail. Brian checked in to see that all was well and urged us to call him if we needed anything. Great people to deal with and they clearly wanted us to enjoy our stay. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2018
Thank you - yes we always love guests to fully enjoy their stay - so glad it worked out as a relaxing holiday for you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John j
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful setting and top quality cottage ... outstanding inland and ocean scenery with abundant KI wildlife ... very peaceful and relaxing ... Excellent hosts

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thank you John - you were wonderful guests - we look forward to seeing you again - Cheers Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go704770
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent 2.5 weeks in Australia, stayed at 8 different locations. Kangaroo Island and especially Kris' and Brian's lovely home was our favorite. Should have spent a week. Too much to do and to see. Have been greeted by dolphins the first night, a paradise for animal lovers. We would go back in a heart beat, most likely will. The house is perfect, you could spend a week on the beach. Kris and Brian, thanks for sharing your home. We miss it already.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lbattye
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely private retreat”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed for six days for a quiet getaway and base to explore KI. This place was perfect- spotlessly clean, stylish,had everything we needed. lovely private setting, only Neighbours we saw were kangaroos and wallabies grazing in the paddock. Emu bay is a gorgeous beach with pods of dolphins swimming by, but the stairs down to the beach are not for the faint hearted - no handrails and unsuitable for young children and older people. We opted to stay in and enjoy the peace in the evenings and the kitchen was well equipped, plus nice BBQ on the terrace but no dishwasher or microwave. We loved our stay and the owners Brian and Kris were helpful and friendly. We'll be back.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britz
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Kangaroo Island accomodation”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This stunning beach house is located in an idyllic elevated spot beside the aquamarine waters of Emy Bay- tranquility and absolute privacy were our first impressions, which made us quickly appreciate the awesome beauty of this place. The spacious and stylish house interior opens onto wonderful wraparound decks that bring the beautiful KI landscape inside, and the well-planned outdoor areas complement this gorgeous natural setting. The house is fully equiped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday and provides a perfect base to explore Flinders Chase National Park, Seal Bay and the other must-see places and towns on KI. The dune seating overlooking the turquoise bay and private access to the pristine beach are special features that make A Dune Escape so unique.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmAdelai...
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in this very special 'escape'!”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed 3 nights at 'A Dune Escape' and loved every minute of it! The house is beautiful, gorgeously remote and literally a few steps from the Emu Bay beach. The owners are very nice and easy to contact, everything went smoothly. The pictures are accurate, the house is as beautiful as on the pictures, including the kangaroos who came to say 'Hello' in the morning.
We had three beautiful days there, the perfect place to enjoy Kangaroo Island close to nature and direct access to the ocean <3

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing