We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“A great stay”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights in Searenity and that's really a short stay in such a wonderful retreat for urbanites like us. The cottage was immaculately prepared and facilities were very good. The owners, Herb and Jeanette, had really kept the place very well. The living room and guest rooms were generous in size and well furnished. A great place for family retreats. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HenryYeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
98
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had wanted to go to Kangaroo Island for many years. Finally, I got there. Searenity Holiday Accommodation made the experience even more perfect than I had ever anticipated. Aussie friends (who had never been to the island) and my husband and I (from the US) had the perfect vacation. Herb and Janette were wonderful and felt like dear friends when we had to say good-bye. I'd love to go back and spend WEEKS at their lovely, extremely comfortable home. They----and their holiday house---are what every vacationer could ever hope for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Kangaroo Island was the final stop on our visit to South Australia. After much research, we decided upon Searenity Holiday Accommodation at Emu Bay. We were not disappointed by our choice.

Searenity house is located at the end of Hawthorn Avenue in Emu Bay, which is in the north west part of Kangaroo Island. Whilst there are no shops or cafes at Emu Bay, it is only a short 20 minute drive away from Kingscote township travelling along fully sealed roads. The house overlooks the ocean and as you sit on the deck and enjoy the view you get a great sense of peace and tranquility. Upon entering you are in a lovely, large open plan lounge/dining/kitchen area. Down the hall is the bathroom and laundry and three spacious bedrooms. Two of the bedrooms have queen beds (with an ensuite in the main) and the third has four single beds. All Bedrooms have built in cupboards with lots of storage for luggage. There is also extra blankets and pillows if needed. The house is very well equipped, especially the kitchen where there is a full size fridge, dishwasher and a plentiful supply of plates, cups, cutlery, pots, pans etc. Other added bonuses are an undercover parking area, lots of power points, even some current magazines to read if you don’t want to watch TV. Wifi is also available, although we found it to be intermittent.

Herb and Janette are gracious and friendly hosts who welcomed us warmly and provided us with many helpful tips for places to visit and possible itineraries to maximise our 3 day stay. They have obviously given much though into the comfort of their guests as they planned this holiday home.

During our stay we managed to visit Flinder's Chase National Park, Admiral's Arch, Remarkable Rocks, Seal Bay and had lunch at a Marron Farm in Andermel, (although not cheap, was totally enjoyable). Though be aware when planning a visit to KI that many of the roads on the island are unsealed.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again and would definitely recommend Searenity Holiday Accommodation to anyone thinking of visiting Kangaroo Island.

Thanks Herb and Janette

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LHC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willerby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My fiance and I had visitors staying with us from the UK so thought this the perfect opportunity to book ourselves a holiday and check out KI. Our hosts Herb and Janette were very welcoming and so helpful working out the best routes for us to explore for our very short stay. Their local knowledge was invaluable and we managed to make the most of our time, with visits to Remarkable Rocks, Admirals Arch (to see the seals), Koala Walk and Stokes Bay. The accommodation was top notch with all needs catered for, probably the best equipped holiday home I've ever stayed in. I wish we could've stayed longer to make the most of the peaceful, tranquil setting, sitting out on the deck with a fabulous view of the sea and mainland, birds flying all around. We will definitely return if we get the chance. Thanks Herb and Janette :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Searenity has a lovely location on Emu bay looking out to sea. Herb and Janette were very helpful and even guided us to a koala they had seen that morning on a walk and recommended routes round Kangaroo Island to get the best from our trip. The house is very well equipped and even had electric blankets which I couldn't imagine needing. We ate our meals outside looking at the sea views and watching dolphins swimming past. After a short walk down to the lovely beach we saw pelicans in the day and heard penguins nesting under the boardwalk pier in the evening.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LuMM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I are active mid 70's. We live in NSW. In earlier years we owned our own nice ocean front holiday house.
Searenity feels like your own house. It contained everything that you might need, so clean and crisp.
Herb and Janette were very friendly and helpful as well as offering expert advice about the island.
We can recommend this accommodation without any reservation. We stayed 5 days but another couple of days would have been nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have travelled all over the world, but Searenity easily ranks among the best holiday accommodation we ever stayed at! This beautiful, very comfortable home (a "home" in the true sense of the word!) is located in a tranquil, serene spot with breathtaking views of the ocean, and Herb and Janette make sure they take care of your every need. Searenity is spotlessly clean, with a kitchen with every possible appliance, and with very comfortable beds.
Searenity is a perfect place to unwind, relax, and a perfect starting place to explore beautiful Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank marijkeg983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emu Bay
47.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
20.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
410 reviews
26.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
38.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
187 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Searenity Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searenity Holiday Accommodation

Property: Searenity Holiday Accommodation
Address: 1 Hawthorn Ave, Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Emu Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Emu Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Searenity Holiday Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searenity Accommodation is located at Emu Bay on the north coast of Kangaroo Island and only a short drive to Kingscote the Island’s main township. It provides accommodation for up to 10 people with modern decor, panoramic sea views and only a short walk to the beach. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay. Accommodation can be either self catering or breakfast provisions can be provided by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Searenity Holiday Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing