We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and friendly place to visit, highly recommended for family getaways.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCormick's Creek State Park
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My girlfriends and i all stayed on the first floor when we had our girls night a few weeks ago. Not only were the rooms more than exceptionally clean, but our housekeepers were very sweet and patient with our neediness. Sarah and Sonya were their names, you go girls! Keep up the good work! Overall, the canyon inn is the nicest and most accomodating place ive ever stayed in! Very pleased, i will be back very soon!

    • Value
Thank LittleMissSunshine67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for McCormick's Creek State Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

All of Indiana's state parks are truly "gems" for recreation and/or relaxation. McCormick's Creek is one of the best. The Inn is quaint. Even if you don't stay overnight be sure to stop in to take a look around and perhaps eat in the dining room. The food is nothing special (down home cookin') but there is plenty of it in a rustic atmosphere. Ask to be seated on the glassed in porch so you can watch the birds and squirrels while you enjoy your meal.
Grab a park map and decide which degree of difficulty you are looking for on your trail walk. You can't go wrong from an easy walk or a challenging climb into and out of the canyon. Read the descriptions to choose what you are in the mood for that day. My husband and I come often for the day, will eat lunch at the inn, then walk a trail. All aspects of the park are well maintained. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 54Nancy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to go for an overnight getaway. Randomly picked the Canyon Inn and were very happy with the choice. Took hikes on the moderate and rugged trails and enjoyed the well-maintained pool. Had a great meal at the restaurant and the room was small but nice, especially for the cost. Will return in the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a beautiful State Park this is!! It is a very shaded park with many hiking trails of various difficulty. The Canyon Inn is absolutely gorgeous with helpful staff. The "charm" of the inn is worth going and seeing. The inn also has a great restaurant that based on room occupancy, may or may not serve the buffet. We so enjoyed sitting in the side room and seeing the birds and the squirrels. The nature center is a must see!!! There is a beautiful trail that will take you to the water fall. Great place for family get togethers...or just a day for adventure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a really nice old hotel. It was our second coice, but it turned out to be great! Great, helpful staff, great food and old world charm with the architecture! The park is very nice as well. There is a pool outside with all sorts of tennis, basketball courts, etc, etc just next to the hotel. Here is my one complaint - I like a dark room when I sleep and it was pretty bright in the room between the streeet lights and light from the hallway. We wanted to stay at Turkey Run and this was 45 minutes out of the way, but it was really nice. We went to Turkey Run the next day and we knew that it was the right choice!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camper465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hiking with the kids even on the rugged trails was awesome! The Inn looked nice from what we saw having Sunday Breakfast there. The cabins were nice, bring a air mattress though since the pull out couch left much to be desired and a few fans. My only complaint was that they do not mow around the cabins anymore.
We did take a day and headed up to the Indianapolis Childrens Museum and out to dinner (just over an hour away). We also took another day and went to Leiber State Park (which was almost 45 minutes away) and enjoyed the Aquatic Center there.
Good location- close to town where there was a Walmart and nice Laundry Matt also there were many resturants in town.

Room Tip: Cabins in the loop I'd recommend for less traffic
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelerobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We took 8 Cadette Girl Scouts for a fun few days of cabin camping. The cabins were nice and clean however we were thankful for the fans we took. Take at least 2 fans per cabin! If was hot!
Jake at the horse barn was great however when one adult could not climb onto a very tall horse (no stools were allowed as other camps have) he refused to give back the $17 the girls paid for with cookie money! Not professional!
The girls enjoyed cabin cooking, the waterfall and hiking the creek. The pool was also a plus on such a hot day!
One cabin had a bat flying in at night that we were able to shoo out! And we had a mouse running in the cabin....yuck!
The neighbors were to close and very loud and early people!
We enjoyed most of the experience however will look for a new place next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndianaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
12.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
364 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
#10 of 24 in Bloomington
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
12.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
238 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCormick's Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCormick's Creek State Park

Address: 250 McCormick Creek Park Rd, Spencer, IN 47460-5519
Location: United States > Indiana > Spencer
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Spencer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing