We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabins included a bat and a mouse!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCormick's Creek State Park
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cabins included a bat and a mouse!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We took 8 Cadette Girl Scouts for a fun few days of cabin camping. The cabins were nice and clean however we were thankful for the fans we took. Take at least 2 fans per cabin! If was hot!
Jake at the horse barn was great however when one adult could not climb onto a very tall horse (no stools were allowed as other camps have) he refused to give back the $17 the girls paid for with cookie money! Not professional!
The girls enjoyed cabin cooking, the waterfall and hiking the creek. The pool was also a plus on such a hot day!
One cabin had a bat flying in at night that we were able to shoo out! And we had a mouse running in the cabin....yuck!
The neighbors were to close and very loud and early people!
We enjoyed most of the experience however will look for a new place next year!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
250 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

It's not the kind of park that appeals to everyone, nor is the lodge a place for everyone. My wife loves to paint and I am a writer. To find a place we can relax and enjoy nature without being enveloped in a large crowd is hard to do in the spring, summer or fall. It seems the parks are overflowing more and more all the time. But, this one is a great place to relax, enjoy nature, walk the trails, and have your meals while watching out the squirrels and birds eating from feeders hanging down near the windows.

After spending some time on the trails and the lodge, we took the time to book one of the cabins for the following week. We went mid-week, after learning there was only one other cabin occupied at that same time. Again, we felt we had the entire park to ourselves. Quiet, clean, neat, and away from it all. What more can you want in a state park located less than two hours from Indianapolis.

Room Tip: Rooms are neat and clean, and so are the cabins, as far as we could tell. The lodge is not a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DSStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We visited in late August a few years ago, and, though the temperature drop going into the forest was refreshing, the falls and the area near downstream was a tiny waterfall and kids playing in stagnant water. Ugh.

This time we visited in early April and it was a much more beautiful experience. The waterfall is still tiny, actually, but the water is fresh and generally clean near the falls. The other thing we learned is to hike downstream. It sometimes involves walking on stones across the creek and stuff, but it's fun. And you're rewarded with pretty views and cool canyon walls.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haberstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I meet my parents here every year prior to Christmas for a couple nights. The hiking is excellent, the rooms at the Canyon Inn are comfortable, and sitting in front of the fireplace in a rocking chair is priceless. It is so nice sitting in the large lobby/game area enjoying the fire, playing games, and putting together puzzles. A wonderful way for families to bond. The food is also very good and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We go here every fall to visit family and hike in the woods. The Inn is in a state park. There are a lot of trails to hike, a beautiful waterfall, nature center and horseback riding. The park has activites like nature programs and hay rides. In the evening you can take a walk and see a million stars (because it's in a state park, no city lights!). The rooms are comfortable, but not fancy. The inn has a dining room with great buffets and a great room with a fireplace and lots of comfy places to sit. They also have tables for puzzles and board games (you'll find a good selection to play with). Great place for family reunions!

Room Tip: The suites have two queen beds and a pull out couch, so you can sleep 6 easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripowl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
204 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have been going to McCormick's Creek State Park for 12 years now, with friends. We sometimes stay at the Lodge or the cabins. It is a fun, very peaceful time. It is located in Southern Indiana and the people are the great and very friendly. If you like hiking, camping or just hanging out in the Lodge playing cards or games. Great time with family and friends!

Room Tip: Stay for a least 2 to 3 days, enjoy the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaboy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had our family reunion this October and the park was beautiful! Trees had turned and the weather was perfect. This is a great place for family get togethers. They have great shelters to reserve for large parties and there is something to do for everyone. Nature trails are available in all levels of difficulty, and there are awesome natural features to explore. Horse back riding is also available. To get back to nature I highly recommend this park.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLover1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
13.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville
12.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
#10 of 24 in Bloomington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCormick's Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCormick's Creek State Park

Property: McCormick's Creek State Park
Address: 250 McCormick Creek Park Rd, Spencer, IN 47460-5519
Location: United States > Indiana > Spencer
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Spencer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing