We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 years and going back every year!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCormick's Creek State Park
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have been going to McCormick's Creek State Park for 12 years now, with friends. We sometimes stay at the Lodge or the cabins. It is a fun, very peaceful time. It is located in Southern Indiana and the people are the great and very friendly. If you like hiking, camping or just hanging out in the Lodge playing cards or games. Great time with family and friends!

Room Tip: Stay for a least 2 to 3 days, enjoy the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaboy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had our family reunion this October and the park was beautiful! Trees had turned and the weather was perfect. This is a great place for family get togethers. They have great shelters to reserve for large parties and there is something to do for everyone. Nature trails are available in all levels of difficulty, and there are awesome natural features to explore. Horse back riding is also available. To get back to nature I highly recommend this park.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureLover1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in the primitive campgrounds towards the back of the park. No electricity, no showers, etc. We stayed at site 209. It was a good site. Very large and semi-private. And I just have to comment...the bathrooms at the primitive camping area were excellent! So clean, smelled good, no bugs, and had an automatic vent and light. The campground was sold out for the weekend but we still felt secluded in our area. We went hiking to the falls, cave, canyon, and sinkholes. The caves are closed due to white nosed bat syndrome but still neat to see. The falls are only a few feet tall but very pretty. The trails were never very crowded even with having a booked campground. There are tons to things to do at this state park. There was horseback riding, hayrides, fishing, swimming (seasonably), nature center, tennis courts, playgrounds, many shelters, and trails spread out all over the park. We went the second weekend in October and it is the perfect time to go if you are wanting to see the leaves in their fall colors! Make sure you book early during fall leaf time because many parks book up months in advance. Great weekend away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We will be going back next spring.

Room Tip: 209 was a good camp site. 216 looked good also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steph42086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed in the McCormick's Creek family cabins for two full weeks while visiting family in the area (but I didn't want to actually stay with family for 2 weeks). We were also in Cabin 13, like the other reviewer. The cabins are nicer than they look from the outside, full-size refrigerators, stoves, and surprisingly good showers for a state park. The wood floors have recently been redone and the furniture was all in good condition. We got lucky because it was very hot the first night, but comfortable the rest of our stay with just the ceiling fans. The park is well-located near Spencer, which has a grocery store, Walmart, and variety of restaurants for people who don't want to cook every night. We also used the pool and nature center at the park, as well as the hiking trails and picnic area.

Beds are bunk beds and a sleeper sofa. We slept on the sleeper sofa, which was what you'd expect from a sleeper sofa - an 8" mattress with a bar in the middle, but we loved the cabin so much and the quiet evenings in the woods that it didn't even matter.

My biggest complaint is that they don't provided linens or any kitchen supplies, so you need to bring sheets, towels, pillows, pots, pans, plates, cups, silverware, etc. I'd think they could at least provide kitchenware, and would prefer if they also provided linens. (The park also has a full service hotel, so I see no reason they couldn't provide linens.) Second complaint is that they don't have grills at the cabin.

Room Tip: All cabins similar, but some are closer to the dumpsters than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizonMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We just came back from a lovely, inexpensive, relaxing vacation in south central Indiana. We stayed in a "family cabin" at McCormick's Creek State Park near Spencer, Indiana, just northwest of Bloomington, IN. We've stayed in the Cayon Inn at McCormick's Creek a number of times, but this was our first time in the Family Cabins. It cost $50/night, with a week minimum in the summer months. Sleeps 6 people.

If you like the outdoors, these cabins are for you. We had our two kids with us, ages 13 and 4. We hiked, went to the zoo, and went fishing. And swam a lot because it was so hot. It was relaxing, and we all had a great time. We can't wait to go back. We were in Cabin 13, which was near the turnaround circle, the back of the cabin getting the sun from the west (which would have been nice if it wasn't 90 degrees!). However, the cabins are in a heavily forestest area, with lots of mature trees and shade. The cabin area is marked as private, and is very quiet.

The rustic, well-maintained cabins have: 2 sets of bunk beds in a separate bedroom, a couch that folds out into a queen bed, a full kitchen (small oven/stove; sink; full fridge; no microwave), a modern bathroom (shower no tub), two tables with two chairs each (can be pulled together to make a 4-person dining table, a rocking chair, faux-wood burning stove gas heater, ceiling fan, picnic table on the side deck, and a screened porch with two rocking chairs. The kitchen and bathroom are modern; the couch was in very good shape; the chairs are rustic and getting old, but add atmosphere!

Note that they do have one accessible cabin, #7, that does not have bunk beds. This cabin has a different heating system and is available all winter. The other cabins are seasonal.

Unfortunately, in the hot July weather (90 degrees plus), no AC. Bring fans if it's going to be hot! No TV. No phone. You have to bring your own linens and kitchen stuff. No open fires, but you can bring a grill.

On the property, there are hiking trails (two trailheads right at the cabins), an outdoor pool ($2pp, large pool, diving area, kiddie pool, concession stand, large sundeck), Canyon Inn (with restaurant, gift shop, game room, and activity room), good nature center with bird viewing area, recreation center (we never went in so I don't know what's there), tennis courts, multiple playgrounds, and picnic shelters with grills. Fishing and beaches at nearby state parks/state recreation areas; the excellent Indianpolis Zoo an hour away (worth the trip). Nearby grocery stores and Walmart (in Spencer) and movie theaters and restaurants (in Bloomington). Lots of space for riding bikes around the cabin area. Bait & Tackle shop across the road from the park entrace. Good Mexican restaurant on main road in Spencer. Saturday Farmer's Market in downtown Spencer with veggies, plants, tamales, and Phillipino eggrolls.

See http://www.mccormickscreekstatepark.com/cabins/index.htm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank clange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCormick's Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCormick's Creek State Park

Address: 250 McCormick Creek Park Rd, Spencer, IN 47460-5519
Location: United States > Indiana > Spencer
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Spencer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing