We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New renovation is stunning!”
Review of Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed in the Morris Inn on the campus of Notre Dame and we were absolutely blown away by the renovations. I caught my breath in delight when we walked into the main lobby. It is light and airy and tasteful and elegant with shades of blue and gold set off against floors and walls of ivory. Our room and bathroom were spacious and elegant with our own personal Ipad--a feature I've never encountered in any other hotel. However, the best part of the hotel (besides its location in the middle of Notre Dame's beautiful campus!) was the outdoor patio. We spent a lovely, perfect evening by the fire pit sitting on the comfortable, upholstered chairs and drinking wine with friends. When we checked in, the bell hop told us that the hotel had recently received a "Four Star Rating" and, although we're not sure which organization bestowed this honor, my husband and I both agreed that the hotel was worth every star and more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daesteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Daesteh! We are so happy that you found the new renovation stunning! We are all very excited about the changes here at the Morris Inn. The Fireside Terrace was dedicated last month as The Wind Family Fireside Terrace and will continue to be a favorite space here for years to come. We also received the Four Diamond award from AAA last month, which I believe is what you were referring to. Please return soon as i think you'll find that the Inn looks beautiful for the Christmas season as well! Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Morris inn for several days mid week in late September. It is freshly renovated. iPads in every room. Spacious bathrooms and comfy beds. The location made it so easy to walk around campus and visit with our two kids attending here. The restaurants were enjoyable and room service breakfast on time. We definitely plan a return visit

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 909LAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKurth, General Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Liz H.

Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Notre Dame. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in the new rooms and restaurants. We could not agree more on how wonderful it is to have the newly re-imagined Morris Inn located at the heart of campus and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Joe Kurth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you like dark dingy hotels with tiny bathrooms, you should definitely stay away from this place. It's warm, welcoming and beautifully appointed.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds, free wifi, and even Kuerig coffee makers! My room had a snack basket that made it hard to stay on my diet - particularly because the prices were all reasonable (e.g. $1 for a big bag of m&m's - my personal weakness). The bathrooms are spacious with large walk-in showers and nice bath amenities. I loved sitting in the lobby people watching. It was nice to see such a large cross-section of the University taking advantage of the place.
When I was there, they had the new football helmet on display in the lobby that I photographed and emailed to my son. They also great historic photographs in the guest rooms.
In the past I've stayed at other hotels in the area. They do not hold a candle to the new Morris Inn.
As my teenage son would say, "they crushed it"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKurth, General Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Mainematt:

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Notre Dame. We are very happy you enjoyed the comfortable new design and Notre Dame spirit in the hotel and that you were able to send a photo home to your son as well!

We look forward to seeing you again soon in South Bend -

Joe Kurth - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Well, I don't have any ax to grind, but I don't think you need to be grinding any axe to dislike the renovation of the Morris Inn. I had to agree with most of the negative review, unfortunately. (I had also scratched my head when I saw that little ND's are no longer in the pattern of the carpeting!) I really wanted to love the renovation. But it really isn't the Morris Inn anymore. Maybe I'll learn to love it for what it is -- a beautiful but totally different hotel. It would have been nicer if they could have spruced it up without changing it quite so much.

I don't see how anyone can call the elimination of a free breakfast a higher standard of hospitality. Forced valet parking isn't much of an upgrade, either. And walking from an adjacent lot would be a nightmare of circling and circling on a busy weekend. It's a long haul on a quiet weekend, too. Access to campus used to be truly seamless and wonderful when you could simply park your car at the Morris Inn (if you were a hotel guest) and stroll in.

One thing that a lot of people are going to like is the new convention space for events -- it's really luxurious and very convenient. And since it was all new, they didn't have to worry about keeping the spirit of a former space!

I said to one of the employees (who were all nice) that it was too bad they didn't have room for a gift shop, as I liked the little one they used to have. And do you know I had walked by the new gift shop at least a dozen times without knowing it was there. There are these glass display cases along the walkway of the elevator lobby, but I didn't realize they were for a gift shop, just general Notre Dame memorabilia. But the gift shop is behind those glass cases. They probably should have had the door facing outwards rather than into an area that looks like a private office. If there was a sign, I missed it.

Maybe the management will decide to make some changes -- and put back the old portraits in the lobby, add some oak bookshelves with books (I think they used to feature alumni authors, but might be wrong about that), and some other touches from the old lobby to make the legions of old-timers (like me) happy. The friendly lady at check-in told me that an alumni had commented to her that they should have kept one of the old rooms intact -- what a great idea that would have been. Probably there would always have been a long waiting list for that room.

Golden Domers love 'em some tradition.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britain1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKurth, General Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Britain1981:

Thank you for your visit, and for your comments. We will work very hard in the years ahead to ensure the associates of the Morris Inn continue to demonstrate our support for the mission of Notre Dame, and look forward to supporting the many traditions on campus over the generations with a new level of comfort for today's traveler.

We certainly never want you to feel forced to do anything - valet parking at the hotel or free parking close by are both great options. Parking is certainly an opportunity for most Universities - whether a downtown location or free-standing campus. We are very happy to have our hotel located at the heart of our campus, and will be ready to assist with a free parking option in a gated lot close-by to save you from having to circle to find a space, or a nominal price ($15 overnight) valet option at the front door so the first guest of the day, and the last guest of the night have the same great service without arriving to find the adjacent lot full as the day goes on. Both options are waiting for you when you return!

Thank you also for the great point on the gift shop signage - based on your feedback one is on the way to help guests find their way into this great store behind the front desk. It is an extension of the Hammes Book Store on campus - same great items, and if you see something you like and need a different size, we'll run to the main store to get it and have it delivered to your room or shipped home - just let us know how we can help.

Yours in Notre Dame:

Joe Kurth - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Way more than expected from a college conference hotel. Newly reopened hotel with every convenience you could possibly want. Very comfy Notre Dame robe in the closet. Also an umbrella very thoughtful.

A nice pub and an excellent restaurant and a nice gift shop. Only negative was no morning newspaper. Good valet parking. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKurth, General Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Traveler0204:

Thank you for visiting Notre Dame and staying at the Morris Inn for your recent trip into South Bend. I am very happy you enjoyed the ease of valet parking upon arrival, comfortable robes, friendly associates and our excellent restaurants while you were with us.

On your next visit, we will be happy to show you the in room ipad newspaper links to the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, New York Times local South Bend Tribune and more. As part of our effort to provide daily complimentary access to six separate newspapers while supporting the University's sustainability efforts, we have provided online access within the comfort of your own room. (for those preferring the feel of reading of the paper, copies are available in both our restaurant and gift shop)

We look forward to seeing you again on campus soon!

Joe Kurth - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This renovated facility is largely a failure because no attempt was made to retain the unique flavor, spirit, and tradition of the historic Morris Inn. They may as well change the name entirely. It would make a lovely Marriott. As an updated version of a beloved campus landmark, it deserves one star.

Their central error may have been in attempting to become something that no one who has loved the Morris Inn ever wanted it to be -- a luxury hotel. We can get luxury anywhere -- but there was only one Morris Inn. By chasing an extra diamond or two in their rating, they have thrown tradition out the window - while also raising the rates.

A luxury hotel must have valet parking, so this new Morris-iott must have valet parking -- despite the fact that they are thus robbing their guests of the convenience of coming and going easily (and inexpensively!). Being able to park at the Morris Inn was formerly one of the central benefits of staying there. This benefit is greatly reduced when one is forced to let someone else park one's car (which also means that you can't run out to get something from your trunk). They have downgraded the guest experience with mandated valet parking.

The lobby can now be described as modern "vanilla." The portrait of Mr. Morris no longer hangs over the fireplace -- which is just as well, since he would shudder to preside over this cold, bland, antiseptic environment (when compared to the former lobby). Gone are the library shelves loaded with books and the little writing desk and the wood paneling. The new chairs are too oversized for comfort and the massive trendy ottomans make it difficult to move about the space.

In the guest rooms, the charming dressing rooms (so convenient when one member of the group is a night owl - to say nothing of ladies enjoying the large makeup mirror with its small counter and stool) are a thing of the past. The white and black tile in the bathroom is gone. The bathrooms are large and modern, many of the rooms equipped with large shower stalls with glass doors -- making it impossible for one family member to come in to wash his hands when his sibling or parent is in the shower. (Additionally, our toiletries were not replaced by housekeeping when the room was cleaned - despite the fact that two people quickly deplete one of those little bottles of shampoo.) The addition of a mini bar of tempting goodies on the desk is not welcoming. I hid ours behind the curtain the week we were there. If you're going to put something to eat or drink in the room, include it in the nightly rate. Another sacrifice made on the altar of the diamond rating, no doubt.

Their slogan is now "a higher degree of hospitality" -- when ironically they have taken away one of the nicest aspects of their former hospitality, the complimentary breakfast at Sorin's. Charging for breakfast is definitely a lower degree of hospitality! And they've ruined Sorin's, too, with the wielder of vanilla paint who was permitted to run rampant through the property. They painted the wood paneling??? It's brighter, but it's a sad loss. And the seating outside on the terrace has spoiled the window tables inside -- you don't want to look out the window as there is a party seated right outside it! The terrace should have been built farther back with a buffer of tall landscaping between its tables and the window tables at Sorin's. Service on the Terrace was slow, but the food was good, and it's very nice that you can choose between the Sorin's menu and the more reasonable Rohr's menu.

A few things that did represent improvement -- an umbrella in the closet of the room to use while on campus, better tasting water, and quieter rooms. I would trade that in a minute to get the old Morris Inn back.

The ND trustees and other powerful people call the Morris Inn home. Hopefully they will dislike this pretentious new hotel and insist that the wood paneling, bookshelves, and the little herb garden out front all be brought back. It's the valet parking and the makeovers that should be thrown out the window.

And the new carpeting doesn't even have a monogram ND in the pattern, as it traditionally did. What were they thinking? As my ND students would say, "Epic fail."

Room Tip: You don't want a first floor room looking out onto the Terrace Restaurant! And ask for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DisneyWorlders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKurth, General Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear DisneyWorlders:

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Morris Inn, and for sharing your comments. From your Tripadvisor name choice with the Disney reference, it is apparent you recognize excellence in service delivery and experiential travel as Disney is certainly a world class leader! It is also our goal to deliver a hospitality experience at the center of Notre Dame's campus worthy of its world class reputation.

You are correct in noting we have added valet parking as a matter of convenience for arriving guests for those that prefer seamless access to the center of our pedestrian campus with their vehicle. The $15 ovenright valet parking rate is nominal in comparison to many locations where valet parking can be $30 - $60 or higher, and is an option for our visitors who prefer to use to covered canopy at our main entrance to allow them a 'weather-proof' arrival and departure. (We're happy to be the ones running out in the rain, or wiping the snow off in the winter months from your windshield for you!) And of course, complimentary self parking is available in a nearby University lot for those preferring to enjoy more of campus walking to and from their car.

We have also updated the hotel from rooms with twin beds and an average 240 square feet to rooms that now have plush king or double queen beds at an average 360 square feet. The bathrooms now have comfortable walk-in showers, and each room comes with its own ipad to allow you to map out your campus itinerary or visit your favorite website.

Notre Dame's blue and gold traditional colors await you throughout the design, and we welcome you to return for a tour of the unique artwork showcasing individual prints of the campus' beautiful settings located on each guest floor.

Most importantly, the tradition of the hotel is alive and well in the faces of the fifty returning associates of the former Morris Inn and nearly one hundred new associates now with jobs within our community due to this renovation and expansion - and we are so proud of the fact that not one associate was laid off during the construction period. As you know from your Disney reference, people are key to the core of service delivery for a hotel, and we look forward to working to change your mind and show you that the spirit of Notre Dame is alive and well within the new Morris Inn as we support the University's academic mission.

I look forward to the opportunity to discuss the specifics of your comments personally, and welcome a phone call on my direct line at 574-631-2103, or via my email address at jkurth@nd.edu to schedule a time for us to connect that would be convenient for you.

Joe Kurth - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed in the Morris for two nights the week after it opened after the 10 month renovation. If you've been there before it's not the same Morris Inn. They've completely redone the interior. A bit like a nursing home in the lobby but still very comfortable. The staff is AWESOME - very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are great. Comfortable beds, plenty of pillows, big flat screens and iPads in every room. Restaurants are still working out the kinks but the food was good in Sorins and Rohrs. Really can't go wrong here...if you can get in!

Room Tip: Walls are a little thin...you might hear the TV next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKurth, General Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Chris K.

Thank you for visiting the Morris Inn during our initial soft opening - we appreciate the five star rating and look forward to your return. Our staff have truly done an amazing job getting up to speed in all of the areas, and we'll have smiles, great food and great service waiting for your next visit.

Go Irish!

Joe Kurth - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
909 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
0.8 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#4 of 30 in South Bend
403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris Inn

Address: 130 Morris Inn, South Bend, IN 46556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Bend
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#1 Business Hotel in South Bend
#1 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $116 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morris Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morris Inn recently underwent a $30 million renovation and now has 150 rooms, 18 of which are suites. With spacious bathrooms and elegant amenities, each room also has a mini fridge, safe and Keurig coffee maker. Morris Inn is a AAA 4 Diamond property and has Sorin's, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner; Rohr's, a comfortable tavern and the Fireside Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morris Hotel South Bend
Morris Hotel Notre Dame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing