We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Every time I come to South Bend for business I always stay here as well as my other associates. This past stay will be our last. The customer service has gone from exceptionally great to just plain rude. It seems like every time I check in the Sales Manager hasn't communicated our rates with the front office; resulting in everyone getting charged a different rate. When I addressed this the other day with the front desk it was as there was no one there who knew how to fix this problem. The management seems very disconnected and ought to start paying attention. This never used to happen and I am sorry to say we are going to another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmith81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notredamehampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you for your comments. We have tried to find a past reservation for you but have no record. I would love to speak with you and resolve this issue personally. We do not take the fact that guests choose Hampton for a reason, service! THank you again for the feedback.
Kim Kudelka, GM
574-277-9373

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 585 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is an excellent hotel. But if you are a Hilton Honors member, it takes the same points (25000) to stay here as the Hilton Garden Inn (Excellent) and the Hampton Mishawaka (where the staff goes out of their way to help you.) The HGI doesn't have free breakfast - but as a Silver member you get that anyway. At the Hampton Mishawaka there is some need to update the carpets in the hallways, the tile in the bathrooms and a few maintenance issues. BUT the staff more than makes up for the needed updates. The staff at Hampton South Bend - not so much.
PS to Notre Dame fans - they did not have the non-home game on TV the first time I stayed there in September 2009. This happened on my very first visit to see my freshman son and I was extremely disappointed. All the staff could say was that it wasn't their fault - it was their cable carrier's fault and that I could go to a bar and watch the game.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notredamehampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

THank you for your comments. I am terribly sorry you did not have a good experience while staying with us. We pride ourselves on guest service so this is very concerning. I assure you the staff has just gone through a major turnover and this sort of thing will not be tolerated.
Have a great day! Kim Kudelka, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

clean, quiet, spacious accommodations, friendly staff, near UND

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonTravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Usually a church group have to pay thru the nose for the accomdations we received during our recent stay at Hampton Inn & Suites, but they really gave us a good deal in July.The rooms were clean, well furnished, and very comfortable. The staff was very accomadating to all of our needs. The breakfast was on target!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henderson5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at this Hampton Inn on the last night of a 2 week road trip. We really enjoyed our stay here from the moment we checked in until we checked out! The front desk staff is friendly and willing to help. There was a big bowl of Chex party mix (my favorite snack) in the lobby. There was hot water for tea in the evening. When my daughter noticed that there was no hot chocolate mix, Charlie at the front desk immediately went to get her a package. It's customer service like this that really makes a stay memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monsieur66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Hotel has a great front desk staff. Hotel room was very clean. No complaints. Be aware, your GPS may not easily pick up this address and it is better to call the hotel and ask for the street name.

Hotel was a great value

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jooksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I stay here for business at least once a month. There are several hotels in the area that I could stay at, I like this hotel because of the friendly staff, the layout and size of the rooms. Most recently they have up graded their tv's to 42" flat screen. Breakfast is always hot and fresh with many option. Several restaurants within 4 miles away to choose from, some fast food near by. I would recommed this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wa131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
904 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Address: 52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637-3244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#5 Family Hotel in South Bend
#5 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $99 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Indiana hotel, where you'll find everything you need including complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet access and On The House breakfast. We are located only 1 mile north of the University of Notre Dame and St. Mary's College and 2 miles north of Downtown South Bend, Indiana. The perfect choice for getaways or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites South Bend
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel South Bend
Hampton Inn South Bend
South Bend Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing