We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, friendly and convenient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, friendly and convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We have been traveling from Omaha to Long Island and are now on our way back. We have stayed in 3 hotels, this being our 4th and it was perfect for our needs. The staff at the front desk and the woman at breakfast this morning were super friendly. The room was clean and it was the first breakfast our 2 children would actually eat at a hotel.
Our beds were very comfortable, the only issue (if you could even call it an issue) was the shower head was acting weird, but my hubby fixed it when he showered and had no problem.
The front desk even gave our boys gummy bears last night when we checked in!
Thanks for a wondeful nights sleep and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorettaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, and we are so happy that your whole family enjoyed our hotel and our breakfast! We will be happy to have your family on your return trip to South Bend!


Sincerely,
Christy Heavilon
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    155
    60
    32
    20
See reviews for
248
60
31
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Short notice to secure a reservation but the Hampton Inn South Bend IN exceeded my expectations. Friendly and professional staff. Room and amenities what I have become accustomed to from Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate the great review, and we are happy you received wonderful treatment from our staff during your experience with us! Thanks again for being our guest!

Sincerely,
Christy Heavilon
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The front desk greeting from Courtney started the stay off on the wrong foot. She treated our youth baseball team like they were arriving at Juvenile Detention, not guests. They lied to whoever called on the phone about occupancy level right in front of us all. And strike 3 was doing everything except taking care of the guests. Overpriced and terrible hospitality. I suggest you stay somewhere they care about guests - definitely not here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I am deeply sorry that you had such a horrible experience with us. I also want to thank you for informing us of the situation. Rest assured that this issue will be addressed with our employees, and we will fix all that was wrong. We hope you will give us another chance to proove we can be a wonderful and relaxing hotel experience. Thank you again for being our guest!

Sincerely,
Christy Heavilon
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here 3 or 4 times on business in April and May 2014. Recently remodeled and very nice. The staff is very friendly and will have a nice conversation with you if not busy at the front desk. Housekeeping was also friendly and did a good job. This Hampton is easy to get to off the turnpike and has restaurants within walking distance. Plenty of parking even for large trailers and trucks. Breakfast was average and could possibly use a little more attention when busy. I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are always happy when our guests think our staff is great, because we think that as well! We will do our best to get the breakfast up to par for you and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Christy Heavilon
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Twp, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

My room was not ready at 5:30 in the afternoon. No call from the staff when it was ready. The worst complimentary breakfast I ever had. The food was of poor quality, and cold. The breakfast area was understaffed and lacking with something as simple as syrup. Housekeeping was slow and stingy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your experience with us, and hope that you will give our Hampton Inn and Suites another chance at making your next visit to South Bend far better! We have addressed the issues with our employees about the room and breakfast area. Thank you again for letting us know about those problems, and we will do better for you in the future.

Sincerely,
Christy Heavilon
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
290 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel has been remodeled and is quite nice. The beds are awesome and it was very clean. However, tv service is not tv service if it doesn't work during the entire stay. If it's too cloudy in South Bend for satellite tv, then you need to get another service. Something is definitely wrong. there is not much to do when traveling than watch tv at night.

Breakfast area has been remodeled and nice.

Housekeeping wise, I would expect my room to be made up by 4:30 pm. This did not happen. Nothing worse than coming back to a room you expect to have been tidied up.

I think this hotel has gone downhill over the past few years.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phxaz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. My apologies for the lack of TV service and tardiness of tending to your room. We do our very best to provide a great product and service and we fell short of both our expectation and yours. I will review the TV programming and work with housekeeping to ensure rooms are tended to in a timely manner.

Please feel free to contact me directly in the future should you require assistance.

We look forward to making things right for you during your next experience with us.

Best regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We've stayed here before for other family events and will be back. This is one of our go-to hotels in the area. Newer construction and well-maintained, it has everything we need for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are happy to see you are a repeat guest with us. Our ownership and management company provide the very best product and our team strives to maintain and provide the best service available as you have many other choices in our area.

We look forward to your next visit and review.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
1.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Address: 52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South Bend
#5 Family Hotel in South Bend
#5 Business Hotel in South Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Indiana hotel, where you'll find everything you need including complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet access and On The House breakfast. We are located only 1 mile north of the University of Notre Dame and St. Mary's College and 2 miles north of Downtown South Bend, Indiana. The perfect choice for getaways or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel South Bend
Hampton Inn And Suites South Bend
Hampton Inn South Bend
South Bend Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing