We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a good spot to stay if your not going to be staying at the hotel for long times. Walking to my room I noticed the hallways seemed narrow with low ceilings. Once inside my room there was a very distinct odor of cigarette smoke; I'm guessing the person before me was a smoker. On the plus side the room is a decent size, the bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. Eventually the tobacco smell dissipated; had I been staying longer I would have asked to switch rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Adam, We appreciate your feedback and apologize that we did meet your expectations. Prior to July 1, 2012 we had a small number of designated smoking rooms in the hotel. Effective July 1, 2012, Indiana became Smoke-Free, we have been working very hard to rid those rooms of any lingering odor. Please know that we are making every attempt to rid those few rooms of the odor. I hope that based on the positive experiences outside of the odor, that you will give us an opportunity to serve you on future stays.

Warm regards,
Becky T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 579 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Narrow entry doors, housekeeping was poor for our room, only one elevator for each wing VERY far from room, inadequate handicapped parking available, hot breakfast items were very tasteless and NOT hot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip. Reading your comments, it appears that we fell short of your expectations and for that, we sincerely apologize. We are accustomed to receiving very positive feedback from our guests and are disheartened that you did not experience the level of excellence you deserve. Please be assured that your concerns will be shared with our management team so that corrective measures are taken where feasible.

We do hope that you can give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel if your travels bring you to our area again.

Sincerely,
Becky T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is very nice and the rooms are clean/comfortable. The breakfast has few choices compared to Holiday Inn Express and be sure not to arrive for breakfast in the last 30 minutes of service. The check in process was quick and we were recognized for our Hilton Honors membership. If given the same location again, I would chose Holiday Inn Express over Hampton. Their property is equal to or greater than Hampton's.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, and thank you for being Hilton Honors members. I'm glad to hear that our staff is making the point to recognize and thank you as well. I'm sorry you felt the breakfast choices were limited. If there is something you would like to see in our breakfast options, please let us know. We take our Guest comments very seriously. An item recently added was hard boiled eggs, this is great for our health concious Guests. Fresh cut fruit was another item added last fall in addition to our hot items, waffles, and traditional continental items. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to provide with an outstanding experience.

Best!
Becky T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A wedding brought us to South Bend and we had a chance to share a special day with them. We had a Mother's Day brunch with our daughter and her husband the next morning before we left. Easy to find and a great weekend overall!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Jane! Congratulations on your daughters wedding, I am thrilled we were able to enhance your weekend with a comfortbale and enjoyable experience at our hotel. Please come visit us again the next time you are in South Bend.

Warm Regards,
Becky T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Hampton in South Bend, Indiana. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was my first stay at an Hampton Inn and I think it wont be my last. I wish though that they had another option that the pork sausage for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Floyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Floyd, Thank your for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first Hampton experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. If you haven't already, please visit hilton.com and join the Hilton Honors loyalty program and begin earning free nights.

Looking forward to having you again.

Becky T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and very nice. I will stay again in future travels. The special service like breakfast bag and after hours spreads was a welcomed benefit. There are many near by Antique Shops and a short drive into Michigan.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jeffrey L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to having you back soon!

Warm regards,
Becky T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. I stay at Hampton Inns often, mostly for the comfy beds. This was no exception. The carpet is a bit worn, yes, but the hotel is clean, well kept, etc. The staff was wonderful, all going out of their way to greet you with a big smile. Even the guy doing the breakfast wore a tie and clearly cared about his job and his patrons. The cold lemonade and fresh baked cookies in the lobby after a long day was very inviting. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, nothing fancy, but close by. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanbosoxfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are thrilled you had a great experience at our hotel! Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best!
Becky T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
886 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Address: 52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637-3244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in South Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#5 Business Hotel in South Bend
#5 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $100 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Indiana hotel, where you'll find everything you need including complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet access and On The House breakfast. We are located only 1 mile north of the University of Notre Dame and St. Mary's College and 2 miles north of Downtown South Bend, Indiana. The perfect choice for getaways or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites South Bend
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel South Bend
Hampton Inn South Bend
South Bend Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing