We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable/breakfast not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roseville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable/breakfast not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is very nice and the rooms are clean/comfortable. The breakfast has few choices compared to Holiday Inn Express and be sure not to arrive for breakfast in the last 30 minutes of service. The check in process was quick and we were recognized for our Hilton Honors membership. If given the same location again, I would chose Holiday Inn Express over Hampton. Their property is equal to or greater than Hampton's.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, and thank you for being Hilton Honors members. I'm glad to hear that our staff is making the point to recognize and thank you as well. I'm sorry you felt the breakfast choices were limited. If there is something you would like to see in our breakfast options, please let us know. We take our Guest comments very seriously. An item recently added was hard boiled eggs, this is great for our health concious Guests. Fresh cut fruit was another item added last fall in addition to our hot items, waffles, and traditional continental items. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to provide with an outstanding experience.

Best!
Becky T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    144
    55
    32
    19
See reviews for
232
58
30
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

A wedding brought us to South Bend and we had a chance to share a special day with them. We had a Mother's Day brunch with our daughter and her husband the next morning before we left. Easy to find and a great weekend overall!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Jane! Congratulations on your daughters wedding, I am thrilled we were able to enhance your weekend with a comfortbale and enjoyable experience at our hotel. Please come visit us again the next time you are in South Bend.

Warm Regards,
Becky T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Hampton in South Bend, Indiana. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was my first stay at an Hampton Inn and I think it wont be my last. I wish though that they had another option that the pork sausage for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Floyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Floyd, Thank your for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first Hampton experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. If you haven't already, please visit hilton.com and join the Hilton Honors loyalty program and begin earning free nights.

Looking forward to having you again.

Becky T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and very nice. I will stay again in future travels. The special service like breakfast bag and after hours spreads was a welcomed benefit. There are many near by Antique Shops and a short drive into Michigan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to having you back soon!

Warm regards,
Becky T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. I stay at Hampton Inns often, mostly for the comfy beds. This was no exception. The carpet is a bit worn, yes, but the hotel is clean, well kept, etc. The staff was wonderful, all going out of their way to greet you with a big smile. Even the guy doing the breakfast wore a tie and clearly cared about his job and his patrons. The cold lemonade and fresh baked cookies in the lobby after a long day was very inviting. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, nothing fancy, but close by. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanbosoxfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are thrilled you had a great experience at our hotel! Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best!
Becky T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our room was cold all weekend. We called for service and they attempted to fix the heater, but never did. Then they offered us $20 off our room. The heater did not work - the room should have been free!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand that you found had a disappointing experience regarding some maintenance issues in you room. I am so sorry that the heater in your room did not work properly. Your satisfaction is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention so that I may follow-up with our maintenance crew. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and will definitely keep your comments in mind.

Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you travels bring you back to our area. Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Over all stay was fine. The room with 2 queen beds was a little to crammed. I couldn't pull the chair out all the way to sit at the table and the Heat/AC Unit doesn't have a temperature censor so whatever setting it was on it stayed there and wouldn't turn off unless manually done so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank mrhinefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review of our hotel. I'm sorry that you experienced some discomfort during your stay. We are in the process of replacing all of our heating / air conditioning units in the hotel. These new units have a digital thermostat that is wall mounted that will allow our Guests to adjust the temperature to their desired comfort. We hope you will return again soon, be sure to ask for one of our Junior or Full Suites, these rooms are larger and may offer additional space and comfort. We appreciate your feedback and are greatful you took the time to post a review. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Rebecca T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Address: 52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637-3244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#5 Family Hotel in South Bend
#5 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Indiana hotel, where you'll find everything you need including complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet access and On The House breakfast. We are located only 1 mile north of the University of Notre Dame and St. Mary's College and 2 miles north of Downtown South Bend, Indiana. The perfect choice for getaways or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel South Bend
Hampton Inn And Suites South Bend
Hampton Inn South Bend
South Bend Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing