We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn South Bend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn South Bend”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a typical Hampton Inn, with the rooms, breakfast and other features very predictable... That is why I frequent them. The beds have clean covers, the rooms are clean and the staff has been friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Th0mas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good afternoon! Happy Spring! Thanks for taking time to write a review of our hotel. I wanted to share with you that our Lobby and Fitness Center Renovations are completed! We are very excited about the new look and feel of these areas. We look forward to having you back soon so that you can experience the new lobby for yourself.

Thank you again for posting a review.

Best!
Becky Turak
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    164
    65
    35
    23
See reviews for
267
67
33
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Never check in late at night or on the first floor of a hotel. Besides the security issues and prying eyes from the parking lot the carpets seem to have the most wear and tear. This stay was no different and actually worse.

Upon moving a small table from the corner to set my briefcase on I noticed what looked like chewed on carpet. It was clearly being hidden by the position of the table. Also....there were dirty track marks worn into the entrance of the room. You could easily see this in the day time and from an angle too

Room Tip: Call first and ask when the property was last updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that the appearance of some areas of the rooms were not satisfactory. I have asked our staff to look into the issue mentioned of the carpet being torn in the corner of the room so that we can make the necessary repairs. Our housekeeping staff works diligently in each and every room of the hotel to make sure they are 100% clean and fresh. Our carpet in many areas of the hotel is a bit tired. We steam clean regularly and do our best to keep up especially in those high traffic areas. Sharing good news, we are in line for a full renovation at the end of 2013 and early 2014. I hope that you will return to our property again soon. We will be ready to unveil our new Perfect MIx Lobby and Fitness Center in March of this year.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Kudos to the staff of this Hampton Inn. At no point did they treat us differently because we were with a group of young boys and hockey families as other hotels have done. They were wonderful. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. They had hot chocolate available which was great for the boys (and their sisters) after our games. Did have that little problem with the sheets popping off of the beds, but that is because they are so fluffy and comfortable.
Decent complimentary breakfast as well. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite that faced the main road. Roomy but noisier than I imagine one closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbill97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank You! Our staff truly appreciates your feedback and I will be certain to share your sentiment with them. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites, we look forward to having you back again. The next time you visit you'll be able to see our NEW Perfect Mix Lobby and Jump Start Fitness Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for a swim meet my daughter was participating in. The room was unbearably hot to sleep in-- this was also noted by some of the other parents staying there. Also, the sheets were not big enough to accommodate the extra-deep king sized mattress so they kept pulling off. my husband and I both awoke to sleeping on the bare hotel mattress. The horizontal surfaces (tv console, desk) were also very dusty. Kind of nit-picky, I know, but I stay in Hampton Inns all over the country for business. Next time I go to South Bend, I'm going to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn down the street

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise.

I want to thank you for bringing up to my attention that you’re A/C unit in your room was not working properly and that you and your family were uncomfortably hot during your stay. I can assure you that your comments are incredibly important to us and since your review; these issues have been corrected. Our guests satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences during your stay and hope that you consider staying with us again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the king bed one bedroom suite with kitchen. It was very nice. The kitchen is just a little bit outdated, but it worked for what we needed it for. It had a nice big peninsula table by the kitchen. We stayed for 2 nights, the weekend before Christmas with our 2-year-old son. There was always plenty of food out for breakfast and it changed everyday. The staff was always very friendly. When we checked in, it took about 2 minutes. The bedroom is very big with a huge closet. My favorite part of the room was probably the huge ceilings. They are so tall which I'm not used to having in a hotel. It's also a plus to be right next door to McDonald's. The pool was fun for our family. Overall, I definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor in the front right corner when facing the building and it was nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate the ime you took to compose a review of our hotel. Thank you so much. We hope you will be back to visit us again soon. Our lobby is currently undergoing a beautiful face lift and should be completed very soon, the fitness center will be renovated soon as well. Wishing a healthy and properous New Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed here three times to visit family in the area. All three times I have stayed have been around the holidays, so that does contribute to my experiences. The rooms are nice, clean, and very large. In fact we have joked each time that the rooms are big enough for four people plus another room of four people. The space isn't really maximized due to the angles of the couch placement, but it feels very roomy and not packed at all even with luggage out. The bathrooms are clean and very generous in space.

The only reason I cannot give this hotel a very good rating is that is is always soooo slow. Like I said this is around the holiday, but waiting for breakfast to be refilled, waiting for a seat to even sit at breakfast, and the front desk staff around the holidays always seems overwhelmed and really not like they are at the top of their game. I can sympathize that they are working over the holidays, but at least be friendly and put a smile on your face. While you are working on a holiday, we are traveling from afar and staying in a hotel (not the way most people want to spend the holidays either).

I would give the rooms 4 stars, the service and amenities 2 stars, so overall 3 stars (which is still average.)

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator/ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBrianandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We have addressed the issue with our staff to be conscious at all times of the food levels, so that items may be refilled prior to being completely out. The Holidays are special time for everyone, and while we are here, you are our Family, we strive for excellence in service and we are sorry you did not receive that on this stay. We'd like the opportunity to provide you with that level of excellence. Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamar, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had to say i must have cuaght the good natured staff when visiting this hotel, everyone was wonderful to work with, I even shared dinner with them! they even offered me some of their holiday dinner while i was there. Kyle and quenton(SP?) and the girls were awesome to talk to and whatever I needed was taken care of.

Thanks

Room Tip: my second floor room next to elevator was still quiet....it is only a short drive to the ND campus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss309556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Wow! Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We have shared this review with our entire staff and commended Kyle and Quinton on their customer service as well as the rest of the staff. This is what we strive for daily at our hotel. The Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend shares its 'Hamptonality' with each and every Guest and I am thrilled that you have shared your experience here. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to South Bend!

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Address: 52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637-3244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South Bend
#5 Business Hotel in South Bend
#5 Family Hotel in South Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Indiana hotel, where you'll find everything you need including complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet access and On The House breakfast. We are located only 1 mile north of the University of Notre Dame and St. Mary's College and 2 miles north of Downtown South Bend, Indiana. The perfect choice for getaways or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites South Bend
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel South Bend
Hampton Inn South Bend
South Bend Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing