We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two great Stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two great Stays”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn two different times over a span of a week. Both were great stays. The hotel is very clean and has a very good breakfast. However, on our second stay there was no hot water for the shower. We were told the water heater was broken and was being fixed. They offered us the night for free without us asking for a refund! We will be staying here again when we return to South Bend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our Hotel. I'm sorry you were without hot water, we did have a minor issue that was rectified shortly after the discovery, I'm glad to see that our Hamptonality was shining bright and the staff clearly exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    162
    64
    35
    23
See reviews for
265
65
33
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Do not waste your money on this property. Management was very nasty to me on the phone after an error on the part of their front desk staff. Instead of suggesting options what I was treated like trash. I own a timeshare with Hilton and now I regret buying with them just because of the way I was treated by Kelly and her staff. They are the kind of management that hide behind a big name because they think they are untouchable. Well Kelly you and your staff cannot longer hide behind the Hampton name. Last but not least, during our conversation on the phone she made a rude noise to get me off the phone when I was just trying to get my point across. It was so bad that I cancelled my reservation. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry that you feel you received a poor level of service. Unfortunately, we were at max capacity and could not accommodate your request of a party in our Courtyard. With Guest Rooms facing the Courtyard, it was imperative that we adhere to our Guest Comfort Policy. We feel it would not have been an enjoyable experience for you and your party. We happily cancelled your room reservation without penalty. Again, I apologize you were not pleased with the experience. Please contact me directly so we can discuss further. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Based on the negative reviews, I wasn't expecting much. I was very pleasantly surprised.
The hotel was easy to get to from the airport. And though it's not a big parking lot, I had no trouble finding parking.
There are a number of restaurants and stores in the area, within walking distance.
The front desk staff was excellent, very friendly. In fact, every member of the hotel staff that I encountered was friendly and made the effort to acknowledge me.
My first floor room was very clean when I arrived.
Beds (queen) were very comfortable, pillows as well.
Cable, internet, etc no problems.
Didn't use the pool or fitness center, but both looked clean and well maintained.
Good value, especially with AAA rate. I will definitely stay here again if I return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Greetings and Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive for excellence every day at the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with all of our Staff as reassurance that every encounter truly does make a difference!

We look forward to having you back on your next visit to the area.

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, IL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Hampton Inn. This is my 3rd stay there this year. This time I got a room on the 3rd floor in the far back of the hotel. I was very happy with the room.

I like the location of this hotel. It is easily accessible from the highway. The staff here is very friendly.

I took a brown bag breakfast one morning. It was very handly and contained good healthy treats.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from McDonalds drive thru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaSueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and value your business. I'm happy to hear your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Best!
Becky Turak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

room 331
• mattress near window, box spring 18" tear along seam
• sheets not totally filthy, but NOT newly cleaned/laundered on either of the beds
• tub would drain but very slowly, requiring showering in ankle deep water

On the plus side:
• breakfast good

Room Tip: In all fairness, we arrived exhausted and without prior reservations and did not discover the room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KenM299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notredamehampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your guest suite. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area

Kelly Tefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is an older hotel that has been updated. Front desk staff was very friendly. The room on the 3rd floor was fine and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast room was large enough for a youth group present for an event along with the rest of us. There was the usual variety of food plus fresh fruit. Windows open so that one does not have that sealed-in feeling in the room. The carpeting is a bit dated, and the one elevator for so many rooms is a bit inconvenient when a lot of folks are checking in around the same time. Steps from the 3rd floor take one out of the building instead of into the first floor lobby, but that, of course, is no big deal (unless, I guess, there's a blizzard or heavy rain). When one gets off the toll road, take a left and head north for a bit since the hotel is about a mile or so above the exit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayw739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Greetings! Thank you for posting a review of our property! Feedback from our Guests is greatly appreciated and we love hearing from you. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to South Bend. This winter we will undergo a lobby and fitness center renovation, would be great for you to see the new set up. The new fabrics, furniture and flooring look fantastic!

Wishing you well!
Becky Turak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandora, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our suite was perfect and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful as well! I would definitely stay here again and am confident in choosing Hampton Inn & Suites again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Wishing you well!
Becky Turak
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Address: 52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637-3244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South Bend
#5 Family Hotel in South Bend
#5 Business Hotel in South Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Indiana hotel, where you'll find everything you need including complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet access and On The House breakfast. We are located only 1 mile north of the University of Notre Dame and St. Mary's College and 2 miles north of Downtown South Bend, Indiana. The perfect choice for getaways or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel South Bend
Hampton Inn And Suites South Bend
Hampton Inn South Bend
South Bend Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing